We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in St Helier
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Stayed at the Fort Dauvergne for 2 nights on our first trip to Jersey. The hotel is in a very good location, overlooking the beach. We had room 64 which overlooked the garden. The room was comfortable and of a good size, but very dated! All furnishings heavily patterned, swirly carpets,- you get the picture. Also the tv was the smallest I've ever seen except for in a caravan. A mini-fridge and a hairdrier would have been nice too. However, the hotel itself was warm, welcoming and the staff all seemed lovely. There is a modern, warm swimming pool which we used on both mornings before breakfast. The breakfast itself was buffet style and very good. The service in the breakfast room was excellent and the sea view exceptional. There was entertainment on both nights we were there which the hotel's (mostly elderly) residents seemed to be enjoying. All in all, a pleasant stay on a beautiful little island.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mandy9Chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2011

What a fantastic hotel. From the Manager (Phillip Heron) down , everyone working there were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were clean, and cleaned everyday. Food, well, no-one could say they were hungry or didn't like the food, there was something for every taste and plenty of it! Information on sights to see and things to do was enthusiastically given, and plenty of literature handed out. I spent 6 days at this hotel, and found nothing to complain about, and believe me I did try to find something, as I'm not easily pleased. Except when Mr Heron was off duty, (and a Mr [--] I think that's the right spelling from another hotel stood in for Mr Heron, I found him abrupt, rude and not happy to give out information,his manner was interrogatory and accusatory, as if you had no right to ask him any questions, other guests said the same thing he needs to improve his people skills I'm sorry to say). However, that was a minor irritation as he was only there one morning thank goodness!. All in all, A Great Place to be and lovely people to help you have a great holiday. So many things to do and see, watch out, I'm coming back! I travelled from High Wycombe Geraldine - October 2011

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are the best, ground floor if you have a problem walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank geraldinevaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Our stay at the Fort D'Auvergne was great and we all had a very good holiday 12 - 17 Oct. My husband and I are about to retire, and we took along my parents aged 88 and 84 respectively. My parents both walk with sticks so were given a lovely comfortable room (52) on the ground floor, my husband and I had an upgrade room on 1st floor (17) with sea view and there is a lift. Both rooms were spotlessly clean, with ensuite (fresh towels daily) AND the beds were made daily - we have stayed in some hotels where this only happens on alternate days! Staff were so helpful and friendly, and the food was excellent. At each help yourself breakfast we had cereal, fruit, yoghourt, toast and full English, plenty of choice on tea, coffee and fruit juices. Evening meal (book table after breakfast for that evening) was always with a starter (3 choices), main course (2 hot choices or 3 different salads) and dessert (3 sweet or cheese & biscuits) with waiter/waitress service, plus a wine waiter. We had tea and coffee making facilities in room, again not always provided on a lot of package holidays. We spent 5 nights at this hotel and had good live entertainment on 3, yes 3 nights. Good value or what? The hotel also has a swimming pool which we didn't have time to try on our short break but it looks lovely (hotel provide towels). General Manager Philip is great - lovely sense of humour, has a lovely wife and 10 month old daughter, but at the same time is very professional. We would go back independently but NOT as part of a package deal. Shirley & Richard - Peterborough

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view or a balcony - we had a sea view and it was lovely to watch the changing tides an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Short31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed here for the weekend and felt like we were on a Saga holiday. Staff very friendly and helpful but hotel very tired and dated. Room was basic but clean. The shower was very old fashioned with a hot and cold tap just like those on the sink and the shower curtain wrapped itself around your legs when washing as shower very small, also no shower gel/shampoo provided just two small soaps. Although the weather was beautiful during the day the room was cold at night as we were unable to get the radiator working even though the rest of the hotel was warm, this was not helped by the blanket on the bed, a cosy duvet would have been nicer in this day and age. The location and view is stunning with a view of the pretty coloured lights along the prom at night but the lack of any car parking is a big minus point as it is a good 15mins walk to town. Buffet breakfast was ok but greasy and not very hot, with a long queue at the toaster! At £69 per standard room per night B&B, you get what you pay. Would we stay again? Not sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room or pay extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guerndonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Stayed here for 5days and could find no faults. The hotel was very clean and staff made us feel very welcome. The hotel is only a short walk to the city centre and has restaurants near by. The hotel is located right on the sea front with delightful views out to sea. The food was good value and tasted fantastic. We will recommend this hotel to friends and family and look forward to returning next year. Thanks for a great holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jwreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I have been pleasantly suprised with my first visit to the Fort d'Auvergne, considering there is no Star rating given, the hotel has everything you would come to expect from a 3 star,
Nothing is too much trouble, all the staff are very accommodating, Rooms clean ,well maintained and comfortable, and a excellant choice of Menu.
The Hotel Manager has to be mentioned for excellant service, but this does not discredit any other staff who are always helpfull.
Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Pay the hotel rather than a tour operator for sea view rooms, you get a better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ALSgpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Older style but very comfortable with very friendly staff, from management through to house-keeping. We chose this hotel from reading previous reviews, some good some not so good, but as we prefer to make our own mind up we decided to book. We felt that most of the negative comments were trivial and unfounded, some people can never be satisfied. Our experience was most favourable and we will be returning again and highly recommend this hotel. We made much use of the indoor pool, though an additional shower unit in each changing room would be of benefit. We had fantastic views from the dining room and enjoyed watching the sea come and go everyday of our stay.

Room Tip: We had room number 48 so no view, if that is a criteria for you, for us it wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 30 in St Helier
816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 30 in St Helier
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 30 in St Helier
1,286 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 30 in St Helier
789 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#20 of 30 in St Helier
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort d'Auvergne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort d'Auvergne Hotel

Address: Havre des Pas, St Helier JE2 4UQ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#5 Family Hotel in St Helier
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £91 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort d'Auvergne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort d'Auvergne Hotel is bordered by the sea and sandy beach on two sides and occupies what is one of the best maritime positions in Jersey's capital, St Helier.The hotel itself is traditional in style with modern amenities including its air conditioned seafront table d'hote restaurant and an outstanding luxury indoor pool complex with unrivalled views over the bay. There is only a pedestrian promenade separating the hotel and the sea shore.A public bus stop is directly outside the hotel. Whilst the Fort d'Auvergne Hotel has no on-site car park due to its unique maritime site, public car parks are available within a five minute walk of the hotel. Car hire is available from Sovereign Car Hire, across the road from the hotel - overnight parking for Sovereign hire cars may be available by separate arrangement with this operator directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fort d'Auvergne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort D'Auvergne Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Hotel Fort d Auvergne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing