We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first trip to Jersey and the second for my parents (25 years ago)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our first trip to Jersey and the second for my parents (25 years ago)”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Throughout the stay we received outstanding service from all the staff in this hotel. They were friendly, helpful and polite.
The breakfast was first class with a variety of fruit, cereals, croissant and toast with jams etc. The hot buffet was frequently replenished with freshly cooked food. The evening meal was of a good standard although there are several great restaurants close by which we would recommend.
The location was great, right on the seafront with not too much passing traffic to the rear of the hotel. It is a short walk into St Helier via several routes: through the industrial area to the harbour or via the road and through a car park, a slightly longer route continuing by road or via the under pass ( the shortest but it may cut down your life expectancy due to the traffic fumes!)
On route to and from the town you can pass through a pleasant square with a few bars where we sat an enjoyed a beer in the afternoon sun.
There is a frequent, reliable bus service into St Helier with a stop right outside the hotel.
The swimming pool in the hotel was clean, towels and chairs/loungers are provided, the only downside was the shower in the female change was difficult to turn on and off.
There was no road between us and the beach just the prom. Our room was clean and a good size with a beautiful view over the bay, although there is a power station and waste disposal site which blights the landscape. Had we known this before we booked we may not have booked this hotel BUT I am glad we didn't , I just sat the other way around on the balcony!. The bed was comfortable and roomy (2 singles pushed together), clean towels were provided daily and tea and coffee replenished and plenty of storage space. The downside for us was the shower in morning fluctuated between hot and cold. My parents in the room next door had no problem with theirs.
The lift was a little temperamental, again this only appeared to happen in the mornings.
Wi fi was available in the communal areas, and complimentary coffee provided in the mornings. We only spent an hour in the bar one evening, the singer was good. There was entertainment most evenings if that's what you want (not for the young!)
This hotel was ideal for us, it provided a quieter location for my parents and for us a base with easy access to the more vibrant St Helier centre.
We had a great holiday (I had reservations about going) and would recommend this hotel and Jersey...everyone was friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Book a sea view with balcony...worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kazzie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    178
    67
    25
    12
See reviews for
107
333
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stopped here last month, the hotel is just outside the centre but within walking distance. Yes the rooms are dated but clean and what you would expect for the price, swimming pool was lovely too. Staff friendly and breakfast good. All round a lovely little hotel and would stop here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lozeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We booked this hotel for a weekend stay for my daughter's 16th birthday as we were going to big gig in the park. The hotel fitted all our needs next to the beach not far from the town centre. The reception area was ok and my daughter liked the free WiFi. The restaurant was very nice over looking the beach. The rooms very big but just a bit basic same with the bathroom. We would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnham on crouch
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

we stayed here for our 40th Anniversary break choosing this hotel due to its great location overlooking the seafront After arriving on a very hot day it was lovely to have a swim in the hotel pool to cool down.That evening the staff presented us with a bottle of champagne at dinner which was a really nice gesture. the food was good and plentiful with a at least four choices of each starters ,mains and desserts. the waiter named Lucien was always smiling and made conversation every day and welcomed us to our seats. The barman named Kip was also lovely willing to serve you and make you laugh and also very respectful. Thank you so much for making our stay so happy

Room Tip: ground floor looking out at the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnhelenburnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

An outstanding holiday in a fabulous holiday hotel. we stayed here for one week as the hotel was recommended by our friends, the hotel was clean, friendly and in a nice location. The management and staff were well presented and very professional. Staff always made the effort the speak to us and were very courteous.The swimming pool was clean and often quiet.
The hotel entertainment on monday night was excellent. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danielsreviews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We picked this hotel because we wanted a short 4 night break seafront location and preferably a seaview and balcony. Having booked it we saw a very negative review by someone on here compalning about the rooms, the poor sea view and every possible minute issue imaginable! So we contacted the hotel group bookings and expressed our concern. The responce was immediate and brilliant.....they hadnt seen the review but gave me the names of the manager the general manager with the promise that if there was the slightest problem with the room they would react immediately. We had already paid upfront so we had to rely on their word!

My wife and I have stayed at 100s ofr hotels around the world both on business and please and Fort D'auvergen ranks as one of nicest we have stayed at. I can honestly say I cant find a thing wrong with this hotel......The room we stayed in was spacious, clean with a seaview to die for. Ok theres a power station to the right that isnt pretty but its not in the filed of vision and does not detract from the fantastic view of the sea a few yards from the hotel. I cannot speak highly enough about the staff who were marvellous.....from the reception staff to the General Manager to the wonderfully entertaining Barman who cames from Kenya and is working while he studies for a degree back home they are fantastic. Nothing too much trouble and everything with a smile.

The hotel is older but large and full of character and quite frankly I prefer that to faceless chain hotels. The breakfast was great the location fantastic with a bus stop outside for the 5 minute journey in to St Helier. Theres a small lift to all floors and live entertainment on several evenings. IT has a great indoor pool and 50 yards away is a great free public sea pool so we alternated between the two.

This was one of the nicest hotels I have eve stayed at and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. My advice would be treat yourself to the seaview and balcony as its sunny all day if you want to chill out and get a tan. I am not slow to complain if things are not right when Im staying anywhere BUT THIS WAS SIMPLY A GREAT HOTEL, GREAT STAFF, GREAT LOCATION AND VALUE FOR MONEY!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go for the balcony sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Clive P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We booked this hotel based on its seafront location. The hotel was right on the beach, we made good use of the beach as the weather was hot and sunny. The hotel was very clean and staff helpful. Our room looked over the beach area and was of a very good size, bed was comfortable and the linen crisp and very soft. The breakfast was a large buffet which consisted of hot and cold products, the breakfast was very good however the evening meal was very bland, tasteless and the portion was very small, the soup was tasteless and had no seasoning. However we found some good quality local restaurants, Roseville bistro was excellent. The staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this hotel and will return next year, a new chef would help raise the standards. Only book BB.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Websreviews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.1 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 32 in St Helier
379 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 32 in St Helier
715 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,878 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort d'Auvergne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort d'Auvergne Hotel

Property: Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Address: Havre des Pas, St Helier JE2 4UQ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#9 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort d'Auvergne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort d'Auvergne Hotel is bordered by the sea and sandy beach on two sides and occupies what is one of the best maritime positions in Jersey's capital, St Helier.The hotel itself is traditional in style with modern amenities including its air conditioned seafront table d'hote restaurant and an outstanding luxury indoor pool complex with unrivalled views over the bay. There is only a pedestrian promenade separating the hotel and the sea shore.A public bus stop is directly outside the hotel. Whilst the Fort d'Auvergne Hotel has no on-site car park due to its unique maritime site, public car parks are available within a five minute walk of the hotel. Car hire is available from Sovereign Car Hire, across the road from the hotel - overnight parking for Sovereign hire cars may be available by separate arrangement with this operator directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fort d'Auvergne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort D'Auvergne Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Hotel Fort d Auvergne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing