We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return to Forte d Auvergne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in St Helier
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and room service very good. Within walking distance to st helier shops, restaraunts and bars, also bust stops outside hotel.
For solo standard room a little small but clean with coffee, tea in room.
Wold definately return to hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j124jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have just returned for the 3rd time to this hotel and as usual the staff are all friendly and go the extra mile for the holiday maker.
With great sea views and a brilliant breakfast its location is perfect for discovering the island I wouldn't want to change anything in the hotel.
Keith Hunt MBE

Room Tip: The rooms with the balcony and sun chairs are great but if they have gone then room 18 is great with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 865Keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Very nice hotel, right on the seafront with lovely views. the staff were all fantastic, very friendly and could not do enough to help. Rooms are spotless and cleaned every day to a good standard. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was lovely, breakfasts are great. Will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view as this gets you on the back of the hotel away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steve1662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for our wedding anniversary and loved it. Would have been a five star review if the lift hadn't kept breaking down and the toilet in our room had flushed properly (we had to keep removing the lid from the cistern and pushing the ballcock down). Room 32.

I would recommend booking a seaview or balcony room, it's definitely worth paying the extra.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay as lovely as possible. The breakfast was great with a lovely selection to suit all tastes. We had one meal at the hotel which was nice but there are a great selection of restaurants nearby. The 15% discount they give you off one meal is a nice touch too.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a balcony room or a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elephantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

What a lovely hotel! The room we had was a little dated but spotlessly clean. As our room was at the front of the hotel, on the main road, it was noisy with early morning traffic. As it was so hot we needed the windows open which made this all the worse.Should we stay again we would book a rear facing room with beautiful views of the sea and overlooking beautiful patio gardens within the hotel. Having said this, the location of the hotel is perfect - a 10 to 15 min walk to St. Helier and a bus stop immediately outside the hotel door. By the way, Jersey offers an excellent bus service all around the island with frequent, on time buses! We bought a family 3 day bus pass which was excellent value for money. We had thought about hiring a car but parking is an issue in Jersey and the bus service really does it's job! Taxi service from airport to hotel about £15. There are small local shops nearby.
All staff at the Fort D'auvergne were wonderful providing excellent and efficient service. The reception staff are always willing to help and the restaurant and bar staff were very polite, especially Lucian in the restaurant. A genuinely happy guy - "Have a beautiful day!". The food in the restaurant was of good quality with plenty of choice - the menus are repeated weekly so maybe a little monotonous if staying for 2 weeks. The buffet breakfast is very nice and plentiful.
We used the swimming pool in the hotel a few times, it was spotless and very relaxing.Also, room service is offered everyday to a good standard.
We would recommend the beautiful island of Jersey for a holiday and would definitely recommend staying at the Fort D'auvergne hotel. Thank you to everyone.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilsonFamilyBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Very good hotel with excellant location for the beach, the staff are all very helpful and
courteous. The interior of the rooms and corridors are in need of some decoration. We will return as we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view and balcony, pay for it when making your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kengrob40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My partner and i stayed here for a long weekend. We loved staying here and found the hotel to be very clean and friendly. The food was very good and the choice available at breakfast was excellent.The location was ideal as was the weather. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank boothsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

We are delighted that you loved our hotel. Thank you for your comments.

We are a traditional hotel with much character on the St. Helier waterfront. We are pleased that you felt that the hotel was clean and friendly - this is important to us.

Your comments are a great encouragement for our team at the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 30 in St Helier
816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 30 in St Helier
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#9 of 30 in St Helier
1,286 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 30 in St Helier
789 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#20 of 30 in St Helier
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort d'Auvergne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort d'Auvergne Hotel

Address: Havre des Pas, St Helier JE2 4UQ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#5 Family Hotel in St Helier
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £92 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort d'Auvergne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort d'Auvergne Hotel is bordered by the sea and sandy beach on two sides and occupies what is one of the best maritime positions in Jersey's capital, St Helier.The hotel itself is traditional in style with modern amenities including its air conditioned seafront table d'hote restaurant and an outstanding luxury indoor pool complex with unrivalled views over the bay. There is only a pedestrian promenade separating the hotel and the sea shore.A public bus stop is directly outside the hotel. Whilst the Fort d'Auvergne Hotel has no on-site car park due to its unique maritime site, public car parks are available within a five minute walk of the hotel. Car hire is available from Sovereign Car Hire, across the road from the hotel - overnight parking for Sovereign hire cars may be available by separate arrangement with this operator directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fort d'Auvergne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort D'Auvergne Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Hotel Fort d Auvergne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing