We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort d'Auvergne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Really great staff, very helpful and friendly, much more so than in most hotels - and the more impressive considering at least some are seasonal workers only.
Room practical and comfrtable rather than luxurious, but plenty adequeate as a base for exploring Jersey; everything worked; shower small but functional. Sensible English breakfasts; dinner not hugely imaginative but competent and enjoyable.
Limitations: wifi only in downstairs lounge area (but it works and is free); no car park. If you use the bus, the stop is right outside the front door. Public car park is free from 17:00 to 08:00 and is about 300m walk, no great inconvenience.
Pleasant and surprisingly quiet location on the sea front at Havre des Pas; some "corner shops" and restaurants within a very short walk; can easily walk into St Helier.
Great efforts made to offer window seats at breakfast, with tables being cleared very rapidly to look after the next batch of guests. Because there is so much sea view, the looming bulk of the power station to the west really doesn't detract significantly.
While we were there, after the end of the main holiday season, the clientele was mainly middle-aged or older couples: result a very quiet stay.

Room Tip: Sea view would be good! At the time we were there, having a room facing the street would not have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    173
    61
    25
    10
See reviews for
102
321
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

where do I start what a fantastic holiday firstly the staff were fantastic so friendly and helpful they just could not do enough for you we have never been treated so good the rooms were very adequate for our needs and spotlessly clean the pool was clean and lovely swim the location of the hotel was superb on the beach front the food was top class well presented very tasty and what a choice superb again the waiters were polite well dressed well mannered and catered for your every need Diana on reception will hold a place in our hearts forever so professional whilst very friendly and helpful all the managers were fantastic bart reception phillip manager tony reception waiter kip barman George waiter mihon restaurant supervisor well everyone of the staff at the hotel is what made our holiday we will definatly go back again to the same hotel thank you to all of you for the superb standard of hospitality we received

Room Tip: we just wish we had of upgraded to the beach view but all the rooms were fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mandy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Having returned from a six night stay i can confirm the hotel deserves to be rated so highly. The location was ideal and the hotel very clean and comfortable. Our bedroom was large and looked directly over the beach. The service and food at both breakfast and dinner was top quality. Staff were always smiling and were very helpful, diana and Mr Heron were very helpful and knowledgeable. A very nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woodsmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Returned home last week from a 5 night stay at this hotel. The hotel had everything that we wanted and was very friendly. The food and service was very good. The indoor pool was warm and clean. We enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boothsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Arrived at the hotel to be told their was a fault with the shower in our room and they would know in 20 minutes if it could be fixed. I must say at this point that the reception we got was the most pleasant and helpful I have ever come across in many years of holidays. After having a coffee in the bar we were told the shower could not be fixed and were offered a room in another hotel which was a higher grade so ended up having a great holiday . So can not tell you about this hotel but the man on reception was very good

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank william23950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Over my four night stay in late September 2013, staff were hugely pleasant and helpful from reception to bar and restaurant.
My pretty spacious ground floor room was impeccably clean and had a lovely big water- facing shared patio. That was all for a single traveller when often solos get the 'rough end' of things.

Breakfast was a feast and the varied evening meals people seemed to much enjoy. A light one course night dish was specially done for me without any problem.

The hotel has a near Trip Adviser top rating and richly deserves it. For such quality the price is very good.

Every place has its almost professional complainers. However, the hotel rightly gets praise and I thank everyone for one of my best hotel stays in very many years.

Room Tip: One with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PatBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed here last week with my wife and had a wonderful holiday. Staff were very polite and helpful and the food was divine. We choose the hotel based on its seafront location. Great bus service right outside and only took us around 15 minutes to walk to the city centre. We will return again in the future. Very comfy bed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davyreviews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort d'Auvergne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort d'Auvergne Hotel

Property: Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Address: Havre des Pas, St Helier JE2 4UQ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#9 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort d'Auvergne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort d'Auvergne Hotel is bordered by the sea and sandy beach on two sides and occupies what is one of the best maritime positions in Jersey's capital, St Helier.The hotel itself is traditional in style with modern amenities including its air conditioned seafront table d'hote restaurant and an outstanding luxury indoor pool complex with unrivalled views over the bay. There is only a pedestrian promenade separating the hotel and the sea shore.A public bus stop is directly outside the hotel. Whilst the Fort d'Auvergne Hotel has no on-site car park due to its unique maritime site, public car parks are available within a five minute walk of the hotel. Car hire is available from Sovereign Car Hire, across the road from the hotel - overnight parking for Sovereign hire cars may be available by separate arrangement with this operator directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Fort d'Auvergne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort D'Auvergne Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Hotel Fort d Auvergne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing