We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return was wothwhile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just back from glorious week of weather in Jersey and had full benefit of having sea view room. Used both indoor pool and the public one a short walk from the hotel. Food was as good as last year but did have a problem this time as my wife is now diabetic, as a result she could not eat any of the desserts and despite asking was told that there was no provision for diabetics.
Staff were as helpful as ever but did find that one of the lady waitresses could have done with a pep talk as she was extremely slow - one night had to wait 20 minutes for her to bring my dessert.
We intend to return as cannot find any fault with the hotel.

Room Tip: worth paying more for sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StewartFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

In an ideal location with stunning sea views. 15 minute walk into the centre of St. Helier. 2 direct routes easy to use. It is very clean and comfortable, evening entertainment includes a brilliant magician. By far the best bit of the hotel is the food. 5* definitely. Every evening 3 courses with 4 choices including coffee. The menu never repeated itself. Portion size just right. I could carry on about the evening dinner - excellent quality, brilliant choices, amazing combinations...etc. etc. Breakfasts had plenty of food on offer - no chance of going hungry. All the staff were helpful and pleasant and accommodating. The only negative point is that our hotel room's decor was dated, still very clean and comfortable though. The whole hotel lacked any link to Jersey and we pointed this out on the questionnaire - no photos of Jersey anywhere in the hotel or the bedrooms.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a sea view on the first and second floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank telephonesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

me and the wife stayed at this hotel for a week greeted by manager Philip heron ( more later )who helped us with heavy luggage no parking but no problem as lots of public carparks around décor clean and regal room clean and tidy lack of cupboard space shower brilliant no messing about like some nice sea view creaky floorbords food nice staff pleasant and very helpful reception helpful to arrange trips advice etc more about Philip so pleasant cheerful lovely man have sent personal letter to mr morvan director saying he is the jewel in the crown will certainly come again

Room Tip: get room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ivor t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised staying at this hotel. Excellent food, great view, nice room. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, very friendly & helpful. Great location on sea front & not far from the town. Nice pool, had it all to our selves too! Really impressed with the place & the people, would come again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 10193LindaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Half term break with a 5 year old. Good base from which to explore the island with bus stop outside or a quick taxi ride into St Hellier. Lovely indoor pool and very high quality food. Picnic lunches were handy to have and good value. Just a shame dinner doesn't start until 6.30 as pushing the bedtime limits for young children. Would also be aware of the lack of black out curtains if you're a light sleeper and due to the age of the hotel the bedroom walls are thin. Hotel clientele were retirees so the evening entertainment reflects their genre. Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank NEB1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

After reading the great reviews I was looking forward to staying here, clearly I'm missing the something!

The positives - great location, pay extra for the sea view it's worth it, the room was clean, the staff were friendly and if you can get a deal on half board for a reduced rate - take it!

The food was average, breakfast is buffet and was acceptable. Dinner was 3 courses and was worth the discounted rate we paid for it but not the full rate if you booked it on the night. You have to book your reservation each night at reception, in spite of being told that the time I requested was full on 2 of the nights, - non hotel residents were allowed to book in so that doesn't seem very fair. Some of the waiters were great, others (generally the females) were very dis-organised and slow at clearing etc. The bar was welcoming but the quality of drinks were awful. As I've said the room was clean but the decor is quite dated, the shower pressure was very low. The swimming pool was fine but that changing facilities were too small given the size of the hotel (just one shower in the gents changing area). Wifi was available in the reception area but in this age it should be available everywhere.

I don't think I would stay here again, the location is great but there is so much that needs improving.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robbolapool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Owner at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your review and for posting specific images of the hotel.

We are indeed a traditional hotel in a wonderful marine location and we are clear about this on our responses on this site.

We are pleased that you found the bar welcoming. The drinks served are mostly main brand and our wines are selected by one of the island’s leading wine merchants – with a full selection of quality wines. We are sorry that you felt otherwise.

Our indoor pool is one of the best located on the Island, right on the waterfront with full marine views. There are two showers in the complex – one is poolside.

Finally, we are pleased that you found the hotel to be clean. This comment is appreciated by our team. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We flew to Jersey via the Just Go Company and stayed 6 nights at this hotel. They seem to have got everything right. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient and could not do enough for you. The food was of an excellent standard and overall it was great value for money. Although not a modern hotel the rooms were good, clean and had everything you needed.

Room Tip: Only one small lift, which was generally adequate but if you have trouble with stairs might be best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#8 of 31 in St Helier
857 reviews
1.2 mi away
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
#14 of 31 in St Helier
554 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 31 in St Helier
782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,253 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort d'Auvergne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort d'Auvergne Hotel

Address: Havre des Pas, St Helier JE2 4UQ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#9 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £92 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort d'Auvergne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort d'Auvergne Hotel is bordered by the sea and sandy beach on two sides and occupies what is one of the best maritime positions in Jersey's capital, St Helier.The hotel itself is traditional in style with modern amenities including its air conditioned seafront table d'hote restaurant and an outstanding luxury indoor pool complex with unrivalled views over the bay. There is only a pedestrian promenade separating the hotel and the sea shore.A public bus stop is directly outside the hotel. Whilst the Fort d'Auvergne Hotel has no on-site car park due to its unique maritime site, public car parks are available within a five minute walk of the hotel. Car hire is available from Sovereign Car Hire, across the road from the hotel - overnight parking for Sovereign hire cars may be available by separate arrangement with this operator directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fort d'Auvergne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort D'Auvergne Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Hotel Fort d Auvergne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing