We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jersey Long Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 513 helpful votes
“Jersey Long Weekend”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a long weekend break in Jersey with British Airways.There was a choice of 3 hotels and we chose the wrong one. The photos of the outside of the hotel located on the beach looked good. We booked a deluxe double with a sea view. We were given a bunk bed room in the attic on a "get what you are given basis" The food and staff in the restaurant were good,but the rooms were very poor and dated.Parking for our hire car was a 15 minute walk to the multi-story. Jersey is a great place to visit,the small towns,empty beaches,Underground Hospital and with friendly people. Just stay in a better hotel, we will next time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    182
    68
    25
    12
See reviews for
108
341
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

If you have or intend to book this hotel you will not be disappointed. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. It is in a good location right on the seafront and the dining room looks out across the bay. The hotel and decor was a little dated but clean, tidy and well kept. As we had a hire car the biggest drawback for us was the hotel did not have a car park and the road outside was narrow with a yellow line which meant you should not park. Although we did not park outside it seems it is done for a few minutes when you first arrive or depart to allow you to load and unload. The two nearest car parks are about a 5mins walk away and are charged between 8.00 and 17.00. After that they are free but be aware the next morning if you park overnight.

The breakfast was very good and you could eat as much or as little as you wanted. Cereal, fruit, yogurt, toast, fruit juices and a good full English breakfast as well. We only stayed two nights and had a dinner from the set menu. This was good food at a reasonable price. There was even a little entertainment on the second night we were there. Plus there was an indoor pool although we did not use it. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

After reading most reviews i am at a loss to determine if there are two Fort D'auvergnes in Jersey.
Whilst the hotel is generally nice it is rather tired and could do with some freshening up. The food is very good as most have said however i feel the restaurant staff were very helpful but somewhat unorganised far too many times the tables were not ready and we had to wait in the bar whilst they got round to making them up, breakfast was often a drawn out affair whilst we waited for the various trays of each item to be replenished. This could be easily avoided if they had someone whose job was to run the restaurant instead of doubling up the staffs duties and running them ragged whilst not paying any attention to the finer points. The bar and entertainment was very poor with the bar often left empty whilst the staff were otherwise engaged in the restaurant, whilst one particular barman was so unprofessional and obnoxious i had to complain which didn't really fix anything but a nice little bar across the road solved that issue. We have used the hotel in the past when it was indeed a great place, would we use it again..... no i'm sorry to say. It's borderline but it could be so much better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

An old fashioned but well-run hotel on the front. Be sure to book a room with a sea view, as it especially good, given Jersey's big tidal fluctuations. It's like having two different sea views to look at depending on whether the tide is in or out!
Sites like this often make too much of the negative, and the two small problems we had during our stay were dealt with promptly and efficiently, and that's all you really need to know.
The majority of the visitors during our stay were elderly and the nightly entertainment is as you would expect for that crowd, but if you are young in body or spirit, you should be out enjoying the island anyway! Hotels for us are just a base from which to explore, and this one more than served its purpose.
Very little noise at night meant a good night's sleep. The breakfast is a choice of full English served buffet style or the usual cereals/fruit juice/toast, or the lot if you're feeling peckish. We stayed half-board, and we only had the evening meal on the night we arrived. That was my only minor gripe; the menu was somewhat limited, and for what it was (carvery plus a few menu choices), a tad overpriced.
The staff, from front of house, and throughout were all friendly and helpful. So, overall, it's a hotel, and it does what it says on the tin!
Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for what we view as a fair appraisal of our traditional Fort d’Auvergne Hotel. We are delighted that you feel that ‘it does what it says on the tin’ – we do try to offer good value accommodation in a premium seafront location.

We are pleased that you found the hotel to be well-run and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would return.

We hope to welcome you back at some future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just back from glorious week of weather in Jersey and had full benefit of having sea view room. Used both indoor pool and the public one a short walk from the hotel. Food was as good as last year but did have a problem this time as my wife is now diabetic, as a result she could not eat any of the desserts and despite asking was told that there was no provision for diabetics.
Staff were as helpful as ever but did find that one of the lady waitresses could have done with a pep talk as she was extremely slow - one night had to wait 20 minutes for her to bring my dessert.
We intend to return as cannot find any fault with the hotel.

Room Tip: worth paying more for sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StewartFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

In an ideal location with stunning sea views. 15 minute walk into the centre of St. Helier. 2 direct routes easy to use. It is very clean and comfortable, evening entertainment includes a brilliant magician. By far the best bit of the hotel is the food. 5* definitely. Every evening 3 courses with 4 choices including coffee. The menu never repeated itself. Portion size just right. I could carry on about the evening dinner - excellent quality, brilliant choices, amazing combinations...etc. etc. Breakfasts had plenty of food on offer - no chance of going hungry. All the staff were helpful and pleasant and accommodating. The only negative point is that our hotel room's decor was dated, still very clean and comfortable though. The whole hotel lacked any link to Jersey and we pointed this out on the questionnaire - no photos of Jersey anywhere in the hotel or the bedrooms.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a sea view on the first and second floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank telephonesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high wycombe
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

me and the wife stayed at this hotel for a week greeted by manager Philip heron ( more later )who helped us with heavy luggage no parking but no problem as lots of public carparks around décor clean and regal room clean and tidy lack of cupboard space shower brilliant no messing about like some nice sea view creaky floorbords food nice staff pleasant and very helpful reception helpful to arrange trips advice etc more about Philip so pleasant cheerful lovely man have sent personal letter to mr morvan director saying he is the jewel in the crown will certainly come again

Room Tip: get room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivor t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.1 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#19 of 32 in St Helier
388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.9 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,907 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,501 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort d'Auvergne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort d'Auvergne Hotel

Property: Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Address: Havre des Pas, St Helier JE2 4UQ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#9 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort d'Auvergne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort d'Auvergne Hotel is bordered by the sea and sandy beach on two sides and occupies what is one of the best maritime positions in Jersey's capital, St Helier.The hotel itself is traditional in style with modern amenities including its air conditioned seafront table d'hote restaurant and an outstanding luxury indoor pool complex with unrivalled views over the bay. There is only a pedestrian promenade separating the hotel and the sea shore.A public bus stop is directly outside the hotel. Whilst the Fort d'Auvergne Hotel has no on-site car park due to its unique maritime site, public car parks are available within a five minute walk of the hotel. Car hire is available from Sovereign Car Hire, across the road from the hotel - overnight parking for Sovereign hire cars may be available by separate arrangement with this operator directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fort d'Auvergne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort D'Auvergne Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Hotel Fort d Auvergne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing