We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - would recommend ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

On arriving outside the hotel we were slightly sceptical about what to expect as the hotel is very close
To the road. Once we checked into the hotel we were advised that we had been upgraded to a seaview bedroom, we were delighted with our room which had wonderful views of the sea and rocky beach. The room was a little small but met our needs. The hotel did look tired in areas and needs some kind of redecorating. However it was spotlessly clean in all areas and very comfortable. Our bed gave for a good night sleep however would prefer a duvet rather than the old fashion blanket! Food - at breakfast - we had a wide choice of hot an cold food to choose from which was very well
Presented and of a good quality. We ate dinner in the hotel twice and on both occasions it was very good and a reasonable choice available. Service in the restaurant and bar was superb and very efficient and friendly. For us the location was ideal, directly on the seafront and only a short walk to the city centre, bus service was excellent and ran every 20 minutes to the city. We highly recommend this hotel, friendly, family feel and professionally run.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Mrreview7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I was last in Jersey in 1972 and I doubt this hotel has changed at all in the interim. If you want 1970s decor, no frills, no air conditioning, no wifi, hardly any electrical sockets, a bathroom the size of a shower, indifferent service and a tasteless breakfast, then this is the place for you. Personally I forfeited my prepaid fee and went somewhere nice

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trainman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We note that you are a more local reviewer and regret that you found our hotel different to your expectation. We make it clear that we are a more traditional hotel which seeks to provide great value. There are many reviews which will attest to this.

The Fort d’Auvergne has seen a full refurbishment and enlargement in recent decades as well as the construction of an indoor swimming pool complex. It is well maintained and in our opinion and experience meets its market well.

We have an air conditioned restaurant and free WiFi in our public areas.

Our bathrooms differ in size and if this is a concern then larger bathrooms may be requested.

We hold a Silver Investors in People Award for good personnel practice and we are proud of our team at the hotel. We are sorry that you felt otherwise.

We do not believe that your review is a fair critique of our hotel but value your opinion and are pleased that you feel we provide average value for a hotel stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the Fort d'Auvergne Hotel for a week in July on a bed and breakfast basis. We found our room to be comfortable, clean and well maintained. Facilities in the room were fairly basic but included hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The TV, though small, was good enough. The only issue we had with the room was that it was on the side of the hotel and looked out over the beach which could be noisy at night due to the number of youngsters that gathered in the 2 public shelters attached to the building.

The public areas (bar and lounge) were very pleasant and a nice place to sit and relax with a drink after a busy day sight-seeing.

There was a reasonable choice of hot and cold options at the breakfast buffet. The quality was good though the coffee, which came out of an insulated jug dispensed by the waiter tended to be just warm and not very fresh.

The staff, on the whole, were friendly and attentive though the breakfast staff could have tried harder to smile and be more welcoming.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel; it is in an excellent location, just 15 minutes walk from the centre of town with a handy bus stop right outside. It provides good value accommodation and has all the facilities we needed for our stay in Jersey.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the hotel facing the beach/promenade can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichRoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff on the whole to be friendly and attentive.

Your opinions are constructive and valuable to us at the hotel. We do value your feedback which helps us to improve our service for the benefit of future guests..

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have to say having read other reviews I am not sure I even stayed in the same hotel...
The location is second to none and we had a room with a balcony and gorgeous view out to sea which was lovely, I would agree with other reviewers in that the hotel is very dated but nonetheless clean and tidy, breakfast is plentiful and of good quality BUT I have no idea where all these helpful polite staff where hiding whilst I was there !!?? With the exception of a lovely lady on reception we found the remaining staff generally unhelpful and miserable, I probably don't have enough space to tell you about our breakfast experience, lets just say its a good job we have a sense humour and could just laugh about the awful customer service we received, it's such a shame as with the right staff this could be a fantastic little hotel....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Linz39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights with a group of friends, we all found the hotel very friendly and all staff helpful. Most staff were foreign but were still ok. The views from the hotel were superb and totally unspoilt. We were only on bed and breakfast but the food was excellent, well cooked and presented. The hotel was dated but was very clean and friendly. Thank you.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Brookner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stopped here for 5nights with my partner, the service in all departments was brilliant and attentive. The bedroom was a little dated and the shower rather old but was very clean and presented well. Location could not of been better, excellent bus service right outside the hotel. Excellent indoor swimming pool beach right outside. Will stop here again if in jersey.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benj56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hotel was in an ideal position for walking into St Helier and had wounderful views looking over the beach. Hotel clean throughout and our room was well furnished. All staff seemed friendly and very helpful. Our bed was of a great quality and gave for a good nights sleep, only minor issue was the curtains let quite a bit of light into the room. Overall great value, excellent location and very clean walm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank any w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.1 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#19 of 32 in St Helier
416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 32 in St Helier
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,710 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 32 in St Helier
848 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort d'Auvergne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort d'Auvergne Hotel

Address: Havre des Pas, St Helier JE2 4UQ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#9 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £79 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort d'Auvergne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort d'Auvergne Hotel is bordered by the sea and sandy beach on two sides and occupies what is one of the best maritime positions in Jersey's capital, St Helier.The hotel itself is traditional in style with modern amenities including its air conditioned seafront table d'hote restaurant and an outstanding luxury indoor pool complex with unrivalled views over the bay. There is only a pedestrian promenade separating the hotel and the sea shore.A public bus stop is directly outside the hotel. Whilst the Fort d'Auvergne Hotel has no on-site car park due to its unique maritime site, public car parks are available within a five minute walk of the hotel. Car hire is available from Sovereign Car Hire, across the road from the hotel - overnight parking for Sovereign hire cars may be available by separate arrangement with this operator directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fort d'Auvergne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort D'Auvergne Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Hotel Fort d Auvergne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing