We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have just returned from a 2-week stay at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel. We cannot rate this hotel highly enough! Three of us (2 adults and 1 child) stayed in a family room with a sea view. The room was very comfortable and cleaned every day. Breakfast was fabulous! We thoroughly enjoyed the entertainment nights too. Great location. Right on the beach with amazing rock pools. Bus stop right outside. 10 minute walk into town. The staff were wonderful and always helpful. We often had the indoor swimming pool to ourselves. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel so we cannot comment on this but we only heard good comments about the food. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again. Thank you for a wonderful stay at your lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    174
    62
    25
    10
See reviews for
103
324
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our first visit to both Jersey and Fort d'Auvergne and we had a lovely time despite the limitations of a not particularly pretty part of St Helier. The rear sea facing side of the hotel and the sea walkway look out onto the power station and an incinerator chimney. We booked a sea view as advised by previous tripadvisor reviewers and got a very pleasant room on the side of the building with a view of the sea when the tide came in. The room was well maintained and spotless with a really big bathrooom with bath and shower. As mentioned by previous reviewers there was a lot of traffic noise, particularly on the Saturday night and we were regularly woken in the early hours by shouting and singing from the public walkway that goes around the side of the hotel. Other guests told us that rooms on the back of the hotel with a full sea view were much better although some had small bathrooms. Despite this the hotel was really friendly and efficient and the staff were fantastic. The lounge and bar were very comfy allthough there was a shortage of chairs for the entertainment evenings. We made friends with people who come back here time and time again. The food was really good and everything was really well cooked. The entertainment on 4 evenings was family friendly and very good. It finished by 10pm so there was no noise from within the hotel. We would probably stay here again if we return to Jersey.

Room Tip: Our first floor room, no 38 was large and very pleasant but suffered from a lot of traffic noise. Ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roy_jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had 4 super nights here,ideal position for exploring ,bus service very good, breakfast excellent ,room clean but basic,all we wanted as don't spend our day in room, clean an friendly good breakfast what more can one want!

Room Tip: We had a side sea view number 1 double bed ,bus 15 from airport to st helier then 1 to hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jillhking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our second visit to Jersey, but first at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel.
Excellent situation, right on beach, a ten minute walk into town (also right on bus route), room was neat and tidy and well presented with balcony and sea view. Staff were friendly and helpful. Swimming pool (for when weather not good for sea) was small but perfectly adequate and had outside views as well. Breakfast was self-service but with plenty of alternatives and dinner in the evening was good, although limited selection each night.
We will most certainly book this again as it meets all our needs and at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Sea view with a balcony recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GSteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Had a lovely 7 night stay in this hotel in July. Staff could not of been more polite or helpful. The hotel location was excellent with wonderful views. Our bedroom view was not the best but it was peaceful and the room had everything we needed... tea making facilities, hairdryer, shampoo and shower gel, good tv etc. We had a lovely breakfast in the restaurant with an all you can eat buffet, good selection of fresh fruit and yogurts were also available. We ate dinner once in the hotel which was also very good and a reasonable choice of 4 starters, 4 mains and 4 desserts. The service in all areas was exceptional as was the cleanliness of the hotel. The only negatives were the 10am check out time and the bedrooms been dated with old type carpets and pictures. However these negatives did not effect our stay and would book again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had a 5 night break here last month and we weren't disappointed very clean, comfortable and excellent food. The hotel had Stunning views of the sea and the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. As other reviews have commented the bedroom was basic but clean. My boyfriend and I used the hotel swimming pool on most evenings which was modern with superb views of the sea. The only negative was that the hotel had very limited WIFI and we would of liked to have used the WIFI in our bedroom. The hotel also has good restaurants close by in particular Roseville bistro. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessrev11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Fort d auvrgne hotel with my husband. The hotel had a very average looking frontage but was well positioned and had good sea views. Hotel porter most helpful with our bags. The check in was very swift but gave us all the required details. The hotel bedroom was very basic but clean and fresh, the bed was of a good quality and so was the linen. Food of an excellent standard and quality, given what we paid we did not expect such a supreme breakfast. The hotel would certainly benefit from some modernizing. We genuinely felt valued as clients and nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff. A very delightful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Creview11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 32 in St Helier
367 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.3 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St Helier
696 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort d'Auvergne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort d'Auvergne Hotel

Property: Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Address: Havre des Pas, St Helier JE2 4UQ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#9 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort d'Auvergne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort d'Auvergne Hotel is bordered by the sea and sandy beach on two sides and occupies what is one of the best maritime positions in Jersey's capital, St Helier.The hotel itself is traditional in style with modern amenities including its air conditioned seafront table d'hote restaurant and an outstanding luxury indoor pool complex with unrivalled views over the bay. There is only a pedestrian promenade separating the hotel and the sea shore.A public bus stop is directly outside the hotel. Whilst the Fort d'Auvergne Hotel has no on-site car park due to its unique maritime site, public car parks are available within a five minute walk of the hotel. Car hire is available from Sovereign Car Hire, across the road from the hotel - overnight parking for Sovereign hire cars may be available by separate arrangement with this operator directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort d'Auvergne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort D'Auvergne Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Hotel Fort d Auvergne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing