We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly Gem”
Review of Hampshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Pulborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A friendly Gem”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hampshire Hotel for ten nights in a premier room, we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would readily book again on our return to Jersey.
Our room was large comfortable and clean, with everything we needed, we intended to eat out most of the time, but found the restaurant so good and reasonably priced that we had nearly all our meals in the hotel, the reception staff were friendly and always acknowledged us on our return and would be happy to help in any way, the cleaners would also have a smile and a cheery hello every morning, but the people I would have to praise the most are the restaurant staff, so efficient and friendly, we got to know them well over our stay, the lovely Magdalena always smiling with a good sense of humour and working at a great speed, I only had to twitch an eyebrow and she would be there with coffee, also her husband Mathew, they made a great team and also not forgetting Gomez the restaurant manager and Peter in the bar, they all made us feel special and as if we were friends.
On our last day as we said our goodbye's all the restaurant staff hugged us and wished us well, I cannot praise the staff enough, we also met the owner, who shook our hands and asked us if we were having a good time, whatever he is doing to keep staff moral so high, it's working and he needs to keep hold of Magda, Mathew and Gomez at all costs, I would readily employ them tomorrow.

To sum up, a great Hotel, fantastic staff, and a must if you visit Jersey.

Room Tip: choose a premier room, large comfortable, room to spread out and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    168
    38
    11
    9
See reviews for
97
247
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Just got back from the Hampshire hotel and its the best hotel i have been in Jersey so far.in a nutshell this hotel is annoying me because many parts of this hotel are genuine 4 star but parts of it are certainly still 2 star.

Reception and guest areas are sublime, well decorated, well furnished and the staff were superb, perticular the polish/italian bar man and the small dinky breakfast waiter girl who always had a smile on her face and worked like a trooper.

Breakfast was absolutely superb, its a buffet service with a good variety and the bacon was great, the eggs were perfectly cooked, the bangers were still poor but most hotels are the same.

free Wireless access was available throughtout the hotel and was a decent speed, hotel parking is ample, and the swimming pool was great th outside showers and towers available.

The annoying thing about this hotel was the rooms, we had room 39 to start with and it looked tired, it did not have a bath and when i walked into the shower cublical the fixed shower unit banged straight into my head. the rest of the room was just tired yet the room sizes were excellent and windows were great too, the bathroom just needs re-tiling and brought upto date and perhaps some bigger widescreen teles would be nice too. Eventually i requested another room with a bath room and we got it and was slightly better than 39 but the pressure in the shower ( was the type of shower that runs directly from the taps) was not good enough and simply poured out of the shower head rather than spray. again the shower was installed without thinking about the hieght of the guests, i am 5ft 10" and i would have had to hold it up myself if it had been any good. Also water was not always very warm. As my wife put it a bit teppid? :) On the plus side the rooms were very quiet and always had a great nights sleep and you cant argue about that.

So all in all, its a loverly hotel in which is has everything to become a 4star hotel but the rooms slightly let it down, this hotel is for any age group, and is located just close enough to walk into town. and after a night out and meal out you work it off walking back! :)

Staff were all excellent and the bar had fosters on which was a good pint!

Room Tip: Ask if your room has a bathroom or not! dont be afraid to complain they sorted us out! Also wireless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maverick1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisR23, Owner at Hampshire Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for your review relating to your stay at the hotel and I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay in Jersey. In addition, I thank you for the kind comments concerning the restaurant, bar and the room in general.

Whilst we will always try to keep the rooms up to an acceptable standard with regard to decorating etc, we sometime have limited options to do so in the main season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, Channel Islands UK
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Sometimes, I think think luck plays a big part in the hotel you end up staying in. This was the case this time !
My partner and I were asked to crew on a small yacht for a race between Guernsey & Jersey, this was a very last minute request as the skipper had been let down by others. As we were asked late on a Friday evening and were due to leave Guernsey early on Saturday morning I had to frantically find a hotel for the night.
Having put a very brief search with an online booking app, the first hotel on the list was The Hampshire.
Right in the middle of St Helier and only a short 10 minute walk from the marina, this hotel was in an ideal location for us. It was described as a 3 *** hotel in the write up.
I can honestly say that I have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels that do not have such light, airy, comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms.
The staff were very friendly and very helpful.
We are looking to come shopping in Jersey in the next few weeks, I will certainly be hoping that there will be a room available here !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stupot1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh on Sea
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Our flight back to the UK was cancelled (due to fog) so our airline made a booking for us at the Hampshire Hotel - we were feeling exhausted and slightly frustrated when we arrived but the manager was extremely accommodating and made us feel totally relaxed on our arrival. We were shown to our family room which was spacious, clean and modern with tea/coffee facilities, tv and hairdryer. It had two bathrooms which again were very clean and up to date. The floorboards above our room did make a noise and Monday was rubbish collection day but really nothing to complain about. The staff at breakfast were just great and the bar and pool area also looked welcoming. Thanks to all the staff who made us feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SleepEatHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Everything you need for a stay in Jersey. A great hotel to use as a base. Staff very helpful. Food excellent. Restaurant and lounge area clean and inviting. Rooms clean with good facilities. Pool area very good. Car parking. Walking distance to the centre of St Helier.Great value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 20Bill20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The hotel was very well presented, rooms were comfortable and clean. The food was excellent and very varied. All the staff were friendly and very efficient and could not be faulted, nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend this hotel for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london. England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, the room was excellent, All the staff were friendly and very helpful, The restaurant was quality ! every meal was exceptional, waiting staff were very attentive, 'Gomez' was a star !
We travelled with a group , and reception staff went 'above and beyond ' to make everything go smoothly for us.
good location, only 5 - 10 minutes stroll to centre of town.
would definitely recommend staying here ,,,

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonesey232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,907 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#8 of 32 in St Helier
818 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel

Property: Hampshire Hotel
Address: 53 Val Plaisant, St Helier JE2 4TB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St Helier
#15 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#16 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the the newly refurbished Hampshire Hotel. Warm soothing tones, natural woods and tiled floors have transformed the hotel into a colonial style oasis in the heart of St Helier. Each of the 42 bedrooms extends the promise of comfort and rest. Plus, families can benefit from interconnecting suites. Upgraded with flat screen TVs and free WI-FI Internet access, it’s an ideal base for the business traveller too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Hampshire St Helier
Hotel Legacy Hampshire
Hampshire Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing