We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly? Helpful? Oh yes!”
Review of Hampshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I travel to Jersey to work twice a year, and have up to now stayed in the same hotels. This time I was forced to choose an alternative, as my previous choices were fully booked. I was glad I did!.
I stayed in the basic accomodation but it was more than adequate, there are better rooms which I will try next time!
The staff, and owner very friendly, creating a welcoming atmosphere, making you feel at home!
The pool area is clean and tidy and there is a patio area next to the pool.
The hotel is nicely situated just outside the hustle and bustle of St Helier, but only a 10 minute walk into the town centre.
The second time I stayed was a rushed visit to Jersey, and by 6.30 in the evening I had not booked a room (IN JULY!!!!!). Having only stayed at the Hampshire a few weeks previously I gave them a call, and I was offered a room - excelent, when the locals I was working with said I would be very lucky to get somewhere in July at that short notice! Not only that I got a better rate than when I had booked with Booking.com - lesson learned!
So I would recommend the Hampshire for families, couples and business.
One thing to look out for, if parking at the hotel do not make the mistake I did and drive down the narrow driveway with the blue railngs, it is VERY narrow and does not belong to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mongaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Highly recommend this hotel.
Staff very professional and friendly, food superb, rooms exceptionally clean.
Only a 10 minute walk from Liberation Square and has its own car park and outdoor pool.
Would recommend as is superior to a usual hotel of this rating and offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIMPLYSHAUNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week - the entrance, bar area and restaurant are very well designed and chic - the bedrooms are quite basic and a bit of a shock compared to the downstairs but overall a nice place to stay, the beds are really comfy and the room was very clean, the staff helpful and friendly and there is a good swimming pool area. I am sure once the bedrooms have been fully modernised this hotel will definitely earn an extra star rating. The food was fantastic, served beautifully and of very good quality and so weighing everything up would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gardening10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a great little hotel, the staff are very helpful and friendly, the rooms very clean and well appointed (If a little warm). The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk from the centre of town but very easy to get to. I would recommend this hotel and when I return to Jersey will certainly be staying here again.

Room Tip: The room was very hot, I let reception know and was given a fan for the room which helped.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jrwstokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

With hind sight I chose the wrong hotel, the hotel itself was ok, the public rooms very fresh and modern looking, but behind the scenes needs some attention, carpets shabby and worn, stains on chair upholstery in the bedroom even though our room had supposedly had a "makeover" by this I think they meant it had been painted and had new bed linen and possibly curtains. Having said that , the bed was comfortable and the room was clean, apart from the carpet and chairs.I had upgraded to a superior room which was worth doing for the extra space, there was a double bed and 2 singles in our room, 1 single being in a little annexe off the main bedroom(I assume it was a family room) most of the staff were very friendly, helpful and professional especially the waiters and waitresses at breakfast. Whatever you asked for was provided immediately with a smile.
Sorry I can't say the same for reception staff except for the "more mature" lady who was always very friendly and ready to chat whenever we passed through reception
The 2 younger female receptionists were very professional but lacked personality, reluctant to engage in conversation and, at worst gave me the impression I was a nuisance when I asked for a new kettle(ours was badly discoloured)
The 10 min stroll from the hotel to the town and seafront which other people have described is more like a 15/20 min hike at top speed, which we had to do several times to dodge the rain.
On a positive note, it was very quiet at night which meant we had good sleeping conditions.
Not very good (especially for people who have mobility problems) is the fact that you have to carry your cases down a flight of stairs before you can use the lift, then when you get out at your floor you have a few more steps to climb to get into the corridor your room is on

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor on the side away from the road which I had read in previous reviews t...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisR23, Owner at Hampshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Chris D

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, unfortunately it is difficult for me to fully respond as I am struggling to find your reservation as you have not said when you stayed or who you are.

I will attempt to comment where I can. You are correct in saying that one of our stair carpets is slightly worn it is due for replacement this winter, we are a very popular Hotel and have been very busy since early March and we will suffer from some ware and tear however I apologise if this in any way spoilt your stay.

We are constantly improving the Hotel but have never said we have had a recent makeover so I am not sure where this information has come from.

I am extremely sorry that you felt two of my reception staff were unfriendly I have now investigated this and both were not aware of being unfriendly but are very sorry if they gave that impression. I am very proud of my staff, I believe they are excellent and very happy working within a pleasant and friendly Hotel

Finally we are the first to admit that we are not wheelchair friendly purely due to the design of the Hotel we do not advertise this so I am unsure why you have made this comment.

It is a shame you did not approach me as I would have been more then pleased to help you we are sorry you felt that you were the wrong Hotel



Chris Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

For a one week stay in September I chose the Hampshire from Trip Advisor and it delivered everything required. It has parking and in Jersey thats a big plus,it is a 10 min walk into town,the room was large and airy,everything was spotlessly clean and the staff were helpful.But now for the clincher;
a big comfortable bar ajoins a restaurant that serves a three course dinner plus coffee and a home made chocolate for less money than you would pay in many pubs, cooked to a standard of quality and presentation that ought to see it in the good food guide.
I have some minor issues with maintenance,a cracked handbasin and a bathroom door that didn't shut,
but for comfort, convenience and great food its a winner

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

As usual checked Trip Advisor before booking and reviews pretty well spot on. Warm welcome and no fuss booking in. Room was spacious and very clean. Decor throughout the hotel was excellent and well maintained. Lovely little secluded pool area which was a real sun trap. (when it did shine). Food was also top class, good varied buffet breakfast, quality meals during the day although didn`t try the a la carte but never heard one complaint from the other residents. Staff all very hard working, nothing too much trouble them. Only down side was the lack of a view, we overlooked a supermarket car park, that said it isn`t a bad location, only a 10 minute stroll into the town centre. Another plus was the free wi-fi. A very pleasant stay and would recommend the Hampshire to anyone.

Room Tip: Probably a room overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St Helier
760 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#10 of 32 in St Helier
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,690 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel

Address: 53 Val Plaisant, St Helier JE2 4TB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St Helier
#15 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#16 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £65 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the the newly refurbished Hampshire Hotel. Warm soothing tones, natural woods and tiled floors have transformed the hotel into a colonial style oasis in the heart of St Helier. Each of the 42 bedrooms extends the promise of comfort and rest. Plus, families can benefit from interconnecting suites. Upgraded with flat screen TVs and free WI-FI Internet access, it’s an ideal base for the business traveller too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Hampshire St Helier
Hotel Legacy Hampshire
Hampshire Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing