We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break”
Review of Hampshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at The Hampshire in St Helier in June for 5 days and could not fault this hotel. Our experience from check in to check out was great. Our room was spotless and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Our friends are going this month and we're sure their experience will be just the same.

The restaurant food is very good so we ate there 3 out of the 5 nights we stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationsnun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very warm welcome made by very friendly staff.large and clean , bedroom .everything in excellent working order food 5 star with excellent service .lounge and bar area very pleasant. Will be returning in the near future and would gladly recommend to anyone for a enjoyable and relaxing holiday iin jersey

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed for a week and can thoroughly recommend this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was kept very clean and we had a lovely room with a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was good and although we only had bed and breakfast we ate in the the hotel for six out of our seven nights as the food was varied and well cooked. There were one or two issues with the food on two occasions but these were dealt with swiftly and positively by the staff and this was appreciated. Only a ten minute walk into St Helier and we found an alternative route via David Place and past the Millennium Gardens which are well worth a walk around. All in all a very good hotel and we would definitely consider returning in the future.

Room Tip: we had a premier room which was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Another trip to Jersey and we stayed at the Hampshire again. We stayed in room 12 which was ideal for what we wanted, nice and spacious and clean. All the staff as per our previous visit were friendly and efficient and made us both feel welcome. The hotel has an outdoor pool which on a nice day is lovely to sit around or cool off in (it didn't appear to be heated).

The hotel is about a ten minute walk from the main shopping area and restaurants and is generally quiet. Having said that, you don't need to go out to dine as the hotel menu changes daily and the food appears to be cooked to order, it is also excellent with very efficient service and reasonably priced.

For some guests the only real weakness (that is beyond the hotels control) is the delivery yard for the Co-op next door. Deliveries can start at 06.00 am, and you will hear them if, like me, you like all the windows open at night. Keep them shut and it's not an issue. Having said that we would certainly recommend it to friends and family and it is our intention to return again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The staff at the Hampshire were all extremely pleasant and helpful, making us feel very welcome indeed - a credit to the hotel. Service was excellent and the hotel was spotless. The room was quite small and it was a bit inconvenient to have the washbasin in the bedroom - the bathroom was too small for a washbasin. Perhaps in need of a little renovation. The beds were very comfortable though and we did sleep well.
The bar, pool and decking area were fabulous but slightly disappointed to return to hotel late one afternoon to find all tables and loungers were taken by non-resident guests attending a private party.
A straight forward walk into town which took about 10 minutes - some good charity shops on the way down if you feel like a browse and a handy, well-stocked store/post office almost right next to the hotel. If you have kids, there is a good playing area at the back of the hotel in the sports stadium area.
Would definitely stay at the Hampshire again, particularly for a short break.

Room Tip: Might be better paying extra for a premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Having arrived in Jersey with an hotel room. already booked in Grouville ( which was described as a room in a refurbished boutique hotel with views- which it certainly was not- so we cancelled), we were extremely fortunate to find availability at this excellent hotel at a better price Great staff, service, room and food gave us a very enjoyable stay on our short 4 day break on the island. Good central location albeit difficult to find on first arrival due St Helier road system/ bizarre ' no entry' signage.
Many thanks to Vicky for making us feel so welcome and Gomez for keeping our son entertained with his little tricks. We would happily return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 35 is a good size room if travelling as a family of 3/4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flatfish42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Having lived in Jersey all my life I honestly had no idea this nice little hotel existed. We just had a one night staycation in the Hampshire and the room was comfortable and clean, and the food excellent. Unfortunately it was a bit too cold for the swimming pool, but the staff were all friendly, and with hotel only 5 minutes form the heart of St Helier would be an excellent base for visitors to the island to enjoy the numerous bars and restaurants the capital has to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerseyWilco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
798 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St Helier
1,267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 31 in St Helier
2,074 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St Helier
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel

Address: 53 Val Plaisant, St Helier JE2 4TB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St Helier
#15 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £66 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the the newly refurbished Hampshire Hotel. Warm soothing tones, natural woods and tiled floors have transformed the hotel into a colonial style oasis in the heart of St Helier. Each of the 42 bedrooms extends the promise of comfort and rest. Plus, families can benefit from interconnecting suites. Upgraded with flat screen TVs and free WI-FI Internet access, it’s an ideal base for the business traveller too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Hampshire St Helier
Hotel Legacy Hampshire
Hampshire Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing