We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant and comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hampshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A pleasant and comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here in early July for a long weekend. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel food was excellent with a good bar and pool area. With its own car park and just a short walk (10 mins) from St Helier, we would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    164
    33
    10
    9
See reviews for
89
237
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. Having read previous reviews we contacted the hotel and requested a quiet room. They replied almost immediately to say we could. When we booked in we were allotted a room at the back on the top floor. As we were fortunate to enjoy some hot weather we found the room to be stifling hot. The maid was very obliging and changed the thick duvet for a sheet and a thin blanket and the next day even procured an electric fan this was a god send. The room was clean and tidy and the staff tried hard to please. The other point about our room was although the people next door were not at all noisy, we could hear almost every word. So be aware! This could have been because it think the floor we were on was added later as an extension and the soundproofing was not good. Rooms on lower floors may not have this problem.

The hotel is well located and is an easy 10 to 15mins walk into St Hellier. The hotel has its own car park with around 20 spaces. We did not have any trouble parking although when we there the hotel was nowhere near full. So at peak times this may be a problem.

The breakfast was very good. You could choose what you wanted. Cereals, cold meat and cheese, full English, fruit juices, yogurt, toast etc.

The pool area was very nice but the pool temperature was not as hot as it should have been.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good sound proofing and does not suffer with heat in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuneaton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at The Hampshire in St Helier in June for 5 days and could not fault this hotel. Our experience from check in to check out was great. Our room was spotless and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Our friends are going this month and we're sure their experience will be just the same.

The restaurant food is very good so we ate there 3 out of the 5 nights we stayed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationsNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Very warm welcome made by very friendly staff.large and clean , bedroom .everything in excellent working order food 5 star with excellent service .lounge and bar area very pleasant. Will be returning in the near future and would gladly recommend to anyone for a enjoyable and relaxing holiday iin jersey

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed for a week and can thoroughly recommend this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was kept very clean and we had a lovely room with a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was good and although we only had bed and breakfast we ate in the the hotel for six out of our seven nights as the food was varied and well cooked. There were one or two issues with the food on two occasions but these were dealt with swiftly and positively by the staff and this was appreciated. Only a ten minute walk into St Helier and we found an alternative route via David Place and past the Millennium Gardens which are well worth a walk around. All in all a very good hotel and we would definitely consider returning in the future.

Room Tip: we had a premier room which was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Another trip to Jersey and we stayed at the Hampshire again. We stayed in room 12 which was ideal for what we wanted, nice and spacious and clean. All the staff as per our previous visit were friendly and efficient and made us both feel welcome. The hotel has an outdoor pool which on a nice day is lovely to sit around or cool off in (it didn't appear to be heated).

The hotel is about a ten minute walk from the main shopping area and restaurants and is generally quiet. Having said that, you don't need to go out to dine as the hotel menu changes daily and the food appears to be cooked to order, it is also excellent with very efficient service and reasonably priced.

For some guests the only real weakness (that is beyond the hotels control) is the delivery yard for the Co-op next door. Deliveries can start at 06.00 am, and you will hear them if, like me, you like all the windows open at night. Keep them shut and it's not an issue. Having said that we would certainly recommend it to friends and family and it is our intention to return again next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The staff at the Hampshire were all extremely pleasant and helpful, making us feel very welcome indeed - a credit to the hotel. Service was excellent and the hotel was spotless. The room was quite small and it was a bit inconvenient to have the washbasin in the bedroom - the bathroom was too small for a washbasin. Perhaps in need of a little renovation. The beds were very comfortable though and we did sleep well.
The bar, pool and decking area were fabulous but slightly disappointed to return to hotel late one afternoon to find all tables and loungers were taken by non-resident guests attending a private party.
A straight forward walk into town which took about 10 minutes - some good charity shops on the way down if you feel like a browse and a handy, well-stocked store/post office almost right next to the hotel. If you have kids, there is a good playing area at the back of the hotel in the sports stadium area.
Would definitely stay at the Hampshire again, particularly for a short break.

Room Tip: Might be better paying extra for a premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.3 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#8 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#10 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel

Property: Hampshire Hotel
Address: 53 Val Plaisant, St Helier JE2 4TB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St Helier
#15 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#16 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the the newly refurbished Hampshire Hotel. Warm soothing tones, natural woods and tiled floors have transformed the hotel into a colonial style oasis in the heart of St Helier. Each of the 42 bedrooms extends the promise of comfort and rest. Plus, families can benefit from interconnecting suites. Upgraded with flat screen TVs and free WI-FI Internet access, it’s an ideal base for the business traveller too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Hampshire St Helier
Hotel Legacy Hampshire
Hampshire Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing