We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. The best I score.”
Review of Hampshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2009

This hotel has just been refurbished. We stayed for 3 nights with friends, we both had premier rooms which are very clean, fresh and modern. The staff are very attentive, knowledgeable, friendly and efficient. Probably credit to the Manager, who we found to be a very pleasant person to talk to.
The breakfast included either Continental, or full English Breakfast, which one cannot fault. A good display of food was available, plus the toast prepared for you and served at your table, not having to use one of those self service toasting machines, made a welcome change. A good selection on the evening meal menu, was resonably priced. The quality and quantity was excellent.
Overall I give this Hotel 5 stars !!!! We will defiently be coming back again.
Probably one problem could be the car park during the busy season, if everybody brought a car with them could be problems parking. But who cares enjoy your holiday.!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2008

We booked a standard room - wish we had upgraded, the furniture was shabby and the room very small.

We didn't upgrade because we had read that the premier rooms still had very thin walls and thought we would be wasting our money.

The walls adjoining the next room to us (28) and the bathroom of No 27 were almost transparent and I was very familier with next doors toilet arrangements during the night.

Breakfast was very good and in fact exceptionally good. Would have liked a menu to see what was actually available. The waitress just said "full english", when in fact we could have had other permitations. It was well cooked and hot though.

The evening meal was awkward really, the chef had had an accident and they closed the restaurant for our first two nights and as it was the Jersey "Tennerfest" we strugged to get into decent restaurants. Our tip is if you want to visit a particular restaurant in St Helier book it before you get to the Island. When we eventually got to eat in the hotel restaurant the food was very good.

The hotel was exceptionally clean and the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Hampshire and couldnt fault the hotel overall. The room we stayed in (no 46) was at the top of the building, 3 floors to be exact, and away from the workings of the lift. So it was one of the better places to be at the hotel.
The only downside is the thickness of the walls, and the fact that this rooms headboard was alongside the headboard of no 45. This in itself isnt a problem, but if your neighbour has a snoring problem, you know about it!
The room, staff and overall feel of the hotel was brilliant. Nothing was ever too much trouble.
The breakfast was lovely, and the resturant staff were very helpful in every way. We didnt eat in the evening, as the choice of food was very limited to my palate, thats not to say that the resturant was ever empty, quite the opposite. We had a lovely time, and would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Have recently spent a few days in the Hampshire in one of their Premier Plus rooms and found the hotel well furnished with a modern look, very clean and exceptionally comfortable.
Food at breakfast was plentiful with a good choice and served efficiently by the attentive and polite staff. Evening menu was a little restricted but adequate and the presentation and quality of the food was above average. Drinks in the lounge were reasonably priced as was the wine list. There is a very relaxing patio and reasonable pool area adjacent to the lounge for those who like the outdoors.
But......the hotel has a few problems which would deter me from returning.
Whilst the decor is modern the building is old and suffers from some of the noisiest floor boards I have ever experienced. There was constant creeking and banging from the two floors above the Premier plus floor caused by other guests and the over enthusiastic maids who whilst very effecient did not appreciate the noise they made from about 0630hrs each day.
The view from our room was dismall, overlooking some very tired outbuildings which housed the staff and the laundry room. The whole area was so different from the rest of the hotel and is desparately in need of some refurbishment.
On one night the hotel hosted a reception in the only lounge and the noise this caused in the restaraunt detracted from the ambience and spoilt the dining experience on the night.
Without the above adverse experiences our stay would have been rated as excellent.
We had asked for quite rooms but did not get them and to some extent were probably given the noisiest rooms in the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

just returned from a fantastic stay at the hampshire.supherb clean and large room,supherb food, and lovely staff.will definately return and would strongly reccomend the Hampshire.


mick kendall
spalding
lincs

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnshireWaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Just stayed at this hotel for a few days and it was really good. Service was excellent, lovely bar area with a pool deck. Food was good, especially the breakfasts. Thought it was a real find.
Well worth it!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dlinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

A great hotel, decorated tastefully and to a high standard. We had a superior room. Again, decorated to a high standard with TV + DVD player. Really comfortable bed with duvet. Bathroom was modern and clean but very small.

Breakfast was excellent. Wide continental style choice + delicious cooked breakfast which was very filling. Dinning room staff were very polite and efficient. Evening restaurant was superb. Food was delicious and competively priced for St Helier.

Bar/lounge area - again beautifully decorated. Bar service - very good.

Outdoor area with tables and chairs, sun loungers and small pool.

Overall - a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Alou78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
806 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St Helier
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 31 in St Helier
862 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 31 in St Helier
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel

Address: 53 Val Plaisant, St Helier JE2 4TB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in St Helier
#4 Business Hotel in St Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St Helier
#15 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £60 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the the newly refurbished Hampshire Hotel. Warm soothing tones, natural woods and tiled floors have transformed the hotel into a colonial style oasis in the heart of St Helier. Each of the 42 bedrooms extends the promise of comfort and rest. Plus, families can benefit from interconnecting suites. Upgraded with flat screen TVs and free WI-FI Internet access, it’s an ideal base for the business traveller too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Hampshire St Helier
Hotel Legacy Hampshire
Hampshire Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing