We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - needs some maintenance though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Club Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Let's start with the positives – this is a great hotel, fantastically located close to both the harbour and town centre and has parking* for those driving too.

The rooms are tidy, modern and clean and the spa facilities are an excellent addition. The staff too are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is good, although if you want hot food you have to pay extra (and at expensive restaurant prices too). The vast continental selection is perfectly adequate for the vast majority though.

However, considering the price of the rooms, there are a few points that could do with looking at. Unfortunately it seems the place is resting on its laurels a bit, and as another reviewer said, is falling into disrepair in paces.

Off the top of my head: Wi-Fi doesn't reach inside most rooms, and is patchy at best everywhere else; There seems to be a chronic shortage of towels for the outdoor swimming pool; Similarly, why are there only five sun beds for the whole hotel? Add to that broken umbrellas, tiles falling off the walls in the Spa, grime around the pools, broken switches in the rooms, a huge but completely confusing and badly-designed Hotel Information pack (we had no idea what was included for free in the Spa, how to connect to Wi-Fi and even struggled to find what time breakfast was), and many many other little things.

To be honest, Senior Management need to get a grip here and could do with asking somebody to stay a couple of nights in secret and make a long list of all the little things that need improving.

Don't get me wrong: the hotel is really great and is well worth using, but for the price you are paying everything should be perfect.


(*As other reviewers have said, if you have a wide car you will struggle to get into the car park, which is up a VERY narrow, steep slope.)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GetOffTheBandwagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel with two other couples ranging in age from 35-78 and we all loved it.
We walked to the hotel from Liberation Station which took just under 15 minutes gentle stroll. It's only a 5 minute walk from the town centre.

We arrived early in the morning but our room was ready. Whilst our bags were taken to the rooms, the receptionist gave us a tour of the hotel's breakfast room, restaurant, swimming pools (indoor and outdoor), honesty bar and spa.

We had a deluxe double room on the third floor and couldn't fault it. Complimentary bath robes and slippers were provided. Each evening a lady knocked on the door to offer a turn down service, leave bottles of water and a stick of shortbread each. The breakfast was continental and pretty basic but there was a menu with other hot breakfast dishes you could have at extra cost.

The hotel restaurant is really nice and offers snacks as well as fine dining, although it is a little on the pricey side. There's also a roof terrace if you want to take your drinks outside, although the view is mainly of the multi-storey car park opposite the hotel.

We were in Jersey to sightsee so didn't spend much time in the room but I wish we had, it was lovely.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back, away from the road, will probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank EveLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Did a 3 night package stay via BA which we found great value. Receptionist galloped down ramp to take control of our case upon arrival and took straight to room on third floor overlooking rear which was about the best view one could hope for and pretty quiet. Tour of hotel facilities was nice touch. Room itself was modern, clean and well presented. Turn down service with biscuits and water provided as well as usual tea making facilities. Never quite got the hang of the remote on the TV but that was probably me. Breakfast included on a continental basis which was more than adequate for us. Tried the Michelin star restaurant one night and was more than satisfied even though wait between courses was fairly long that wasn't a problem as we weren't going anywhere. One or two staff in the restaurant and bar area were a little on the unfriendly side but I think that was more due to their nationality trait rather than any intention. Would have liked to have tried the terrace bar but it was closed for a private function on the evening I intended but we did receive prior warning of this. A hired car came with the deal and if you are not quick enough to bag one of the 4 or 5 easily accessible spaces then you have to ascend a somewhat tricky ramp in order to find a spot - the ramp wall testifies to those who didn't quite judge it right!

Room Tip: A rear facing room seems the best bet to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruiseInvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We first stayed here around 5 years ago and at that time we had a great experience from the service of the staff through to the luxury bedding in the rooms. So when we decided to return to Jersey we didn't hesitate to book again. However, although not a poor experience we left feeling disappointed.

We had a master suite which was very spacious with 2 bathrooms and a separate bedroom and living area. The latter had a sofa bed which was made up for my daughter who enjoyed her "independence" with her own bathroom and tv. Her bathroom had a corner shower with a steam facility (not used by her). It also had the mini bar but she didn't use that either thankfully)! Our bathroom had a separate bath and shower. Elemis toiletries and lovely towels. Slippers and dressing gowns were also provided. We overlooked the outdoor pool which was pleasant. But on arrival, our windows had been left open and the smoke from smokers below had wafted up into the rooms. Both rooms had aircon but this was not working effectively and switched off during the night. As we were there during a very hot period (day temperatures at 29) this led to a very unpleasant first night for us. We asked reception to look into this and around 430 that day and engineer arrived who moved the sensors and remarked that the whole system needed replacing but the hotel wouldn't spend the money. Anyway this did the trick. Off we went to dinner about 6pm and when we returned the chambermaid had switched off the aircon!

The bedding was polyester/cotton and scratchy with no pillow protectors on...yuck. The luxury feather bed mattress toppers that we had loved so much on our 1st visit se bought one from their affiliates (Feelunique) was no more. The mattress was lumpy and hard.

The pool terrace had a few sunbeds which but no towels. The 2 parasols were severely broken. After watching the equivalent of a scene from a bad comedy show as my husband and 2 other guests attempted to put one up, defeat was finally admitted. The other was full ofholes. We were at the pool for nearly 2 hours. In that time, no one came to ask if we wanted a drink. Another guest ordered food via reception and the waiter brought this and I tried to get his attention to ask for a drink but couldnt. In the end I had to go into reception and order one. Not 5 star service or even 3 star.

Breakfast was included but only continental which was ok but I thought I'd treat myself on our last morning and have mushroom and scrambled egg brioche which cost £9.00. Over toasted brioche and very salty eggs made it inedible.

In a nutshell a very disappointing stay and not worth the £870 charge for 3 nights stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank HampshireCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Lovely hotel with very helpful staff. Rooms a good size although internet connection did not reach our room. Views of car park and public toilet not great but location handy for town an bus station. Spa not bad but no sauna. Breakfast nice enough. We didn't try the restaurant as it was just off the bar and had too many tables crammed in. Not the best for a Michelin experience. Honesty bar a good idea but we didn't get to use it as it was closed for Tom Jones as he was staying there. A bit unfair as we paid for the use of the hotel the same as him. Staff were embarrassed by this as well but unable to change it. Private party in main bar so limited choice left. Rooms were clean and handmade shortbread was delicious. All in all a good trip with some disappointments.

Room Tip: We were in room 216 at end of hotel and couldn't get connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in July and upon arrival were met by a friendly reception team. We were given a brief overview of the hotel.

The room was on the 1st floor at the end of the corridor so a quiet location. The room size was good, with all the usual elements. We liked that the fridge had room for your own products. The only gripe would be no iron in the room, however they brought one as soon as we requested it

Continental breakfast was included in the rate and whilst okay for a couple of stays I'd struggle with the variety if staying for longer. The options for cooked breakfasts were limited yo about 7 dishes and didn't seem to have options for something as simple as scrambled eggs etc.

We eat in the Bohemia restaurant on the Saturday night and chose the pescatarian tasting menu with wine which was superb

Overall good hotel, my only request would be to improve the breakfast selection

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wanula72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 night stay celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. Such a beautiful hotel not much to look at from the outside but lovely once inside . Our bags were taken straight to our room and we given a tour of the hotel which was nice. Our room was lovely all you could wish for. The view wasn't great but this didn't. Bother us.
The small pool area was very pretty and lovely to relax.
We had the taster menu on our anniversary which was the best meal ever the service and food was worth every penny.
We will definitely return if we visit jersey again

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.3 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 30 in St Helier
2,333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 30 in St Helier
1,760 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 30 in St Helier
2,094 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 30 in St Helier
816 reviews
4.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#10 of 16 in St Brelade
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club Hotel & Spa

Address: Green Street, St Helier JE2 4UH
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#6 Business Hotel in St Helier
#7 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £82 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Club Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Hotel & Spa, Jersey's newest and most exciting luxury boutique property. Since our opening in the summer of 2005 we are delighted to hold an "Inspectors Choice" award from the AA as a Red Star Property. Ideally located alongside our Michelin starred and 4 AA Rosette Bohemia Restaurant in the heart of St Helier and just a stone's throw from the island's breathtaking beaches, this sophisticated townhouse hotel will be the perfect destination whether on business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Club Hotel St. Helier
The Club Hotel And Spa
The Club Hotel & Spa Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing