We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (962)
Filter reviews
962 results
Traveller rating
540
256
112
30
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
540
256
112
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bohemia restaurant honesty bar continental breakfast experience shower homemade shortbread michelin star restaurant elemis toiletries turn down service well stocked mini bar outdoor pool on arrival car park deluxe room lovely hotel steam room bar food little touches
Filter
Updating list...
434 - 439 of 962 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel with two other couples ranging in age from 35-78 and we all loved it.
We walked to the hotel from Liberation Station which took just under 15 minutes gentle stroll. It's only a 5 minute walk from the town centre.

We arrived early in the morning but our room was ready. Whilst our bags were taken to the rooms, the receptionist gave us a tour of the hotel's breakfast room, restaurant, swimming pools (indoor and outdoor), honesty bar and spa.

We had a deluxe double room on the third floor and couldn't fault it. Complimentary bath robes and slippers were provided. Each evening a lady knocked on the door to offer a turn down service, leave bottles of water and a stick of shortbread each. The breakfast was continental and pretty basic but there was a menu with other hot breakfast dishes you could have at extra cost.

The hotel restaurant is really nice and offers snacks as well as fine dining, although it is a little on the pricey side. There's also a roof terrace if you want to take your drinks outside, although the view is mainly of the multi-storey car park opposite the hotel.

We were in Jersey to sightsee so didn't spend much time in the room but I wish we had, it was lovely.

Room tip: Rooms at the back, away from the road, will probably be quieter.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank EveLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Did a 3 night package stay via BA which we found great value. Receptionist galloped down ramp to take control of our case upon arrival and took straight to room on third floor overlooking rear which was about the best view one could hope for and pretty quiet. Tour of hotel facilities was nice touch. Room itself was modern, clean and well presented. Turn down service with biscuits and water provided as well as usual tea making facilities. Never quite got the hang of the remote on the TV but that was probably me. Breakfast included on a continental basis which was more than adequate for us. Tried the Michelin star restaurant one night and was more than satisfied even though wait between courses was fairly long that wasn't a problem as we weren't going anywhere. One or two staff in the restaurant and bar area were a little on the unfriendly side but I think that was more due to their nationality trait rather than any intention. Would have liked to have tried the terrace bar but it was closed for a private function on the evening I intended but we did receive prior warning of this. A hired car came with the deal and if you are not quick enough to bag one of the 4 or 5 easily accessible spaces then you have to ascend a somewhat tricky ramp in order to find a spot - the ramp wall testifies to those who didn't quite judge it right!

Room tip: A rear facing room seems the best bet to me.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruiseInvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We first stayed here around 5 years ago and at that time we had a great experience from the service of the staff through to the luxury bedding in the rooms. So when we decided to return to Jersey we didn't hesitate to book again. However, although not a poor experience we left feeling disappointed.

We had a master suite which was very spacious with 2 bathrooms and a separate bedroom and living area. The latter had a sofa bed which was made up for my daughter who enjoyed her "independence" with her own bathroom and tv. Her bathroom had a corner shower with a steam facility (not used by her). It also had the mini bar but she didn't use that either thankfully)! Our bathroom had a separate bath and shower. Elemis toiletries and lovely towels. Slippers and dressing gowns were also provided. We overlooked the outdoor pool which was pleasant. But on arrival, our windows had been left open and the smoke from smokers below had wafted up into the rooms. Both rooms had aircon but this was not working effectively and switched off during the night. As we were there during a very hot period (day temperatures at 29) this led to a very unpleasant first night for us. We asked reception to look into this and around 430 that day and engineer arrived who moved the sensors and remarked that the whole system needed replacing but the hotel wouldn't spend the money. Anyway this did the trick. Off we went to dinner about 6pm and when we returned the chambermaid had switched off the aircon!

The bedding was polyester/cotton and scratchy with no pillow protectors on...yuck. The luxury feather bed mattress toppers that we had loved so much on our 1st visit se bought one from their affiliates (Feelunique) was no more. The mattress was lumpy and hard.

The pool terrace had a few sunbeds which but no towels. The 2 parasols were severely broken. After watching the equivalent of a scene from a bad comedy show as my husband and 2 other guests attempted to put one up, defeat was finally admitted. The other was full ofholes. We were at the pool for nearly 2 hours. In that time, no one came to ask if we wanted a drink. Another guest ordered food via reception and the waiter brought this and I tried to get his attention to ask for a drink but couldnt. In the end I had to go into reception and order one. Not 5 star service or even 3 star.

Breakfast was included but only continental which was ok but I thought I'd treat myself on our last morning and have mushroom and scrambled egg brioche which cost £9.00. Over toasted brioche and very salty eggs made it inedible.

In a nutshell a very disappointing stay and not worth the £870 charge for 3 nights stay.

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank HampshireCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Lovely hotel with very helpful staff. Rooms a good size although internet connection did not reach our room. Views of car park and public toilet not great but location handy for town an bus station. Spa not bad but no sauna. Breakfast nice enough. We didn't try the restaurant as it was just off the bar and had too many tables crammed in. Not the best for a Michelin experience. Honesty bar a good idea but we didn't get to use it as it was closed for Tom Jones as he was staying there. A bit unfair as we paid for the use of the hotel the same as him. Staff were embarrassed by this as well but unable to change it. Private party in main bar so limited choice left. Rooms were clean and handmade shortbread was delicious. All in all a good trip with some disappointments.

Room tip: We were in room 216 at end of hotel and couldn't get connection.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in July and upon arrival were met by a friendly reception team. We were given a brief overview of the hotel.

The room was on the 1st floor at the end of the corridor so a quiet location. The room size was good, with all the usual elements. We liked that the fridge had room for your own products. The only gripe would be no iron in the room, however they brought one as soon as we requested it

Continental breakfast was included in the rate and whilst okay for a couple of stays I'd struggle with the variety if staying for longer. The options for cooked breakfasts were limited yo about 7 dishes and didn't seem to have options for something as simple as scrambled eggs etc.

We eat in the Bohemia restaurant on the Saturday night and chose the pescatarian tasting menu with wine which was superb

Overall good hotel, my only request would be to improve the breakfast selection

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wanula72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews