We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific value hotel”
Review of Marina Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marina Metro Hotel
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
charente
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Terrific value hotel”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The last reviewer must be mistaken. This is a really excellent hotel. Everything is new or refurbished, and there is a lovely smell of new carpets everywhere instead of the usual musty smell that is often found in hotels. The staff could not have been more helpful, the breakfast was a real old fashioned english hotel breakfast, choice of full fried, kippers, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon etc., and the dining room overlooks the sea. We didn't eat there in the evening, but judging by the remarks of other guests we should have done so.... Just one tiny black mark, I had a single room with a "side sea view" which cost extra, well you could see the sea if you put your head out of the window I suppose!This was the 2nd floor, but the same room higher up was fine.Another point the bed linen was very high quality and all fully matching.
Do not hesitate, this is a brilliant hotel that is very good value.

Room Tip: Single rooms higher than the second floor have a better sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    80
    23
    13
    9
See reviews for
25
98
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Under NO circumstances, stay at this hotel.

I booked this , and unrelated to me, a plane broke down in jersey airport, meaning the airport was closed all day. And my flight was cancelled. I contacted marina metro, but they were less than helpful. Basically there attitude was tough, we're still charging for the room. Even though it was outwith my control that i could not keep the booking. £53 is a lot of money to lose, when you are not able to make it, through no fault of your own.

I imagine other passengers were stranded in jersey, and would be willing to bet they resold the room. I emailed them asking for a refund, but was rejected out of hand.

I was also advised that they were not supposed to charge the full room price at the time of booking, which they did. I have travelled the world and used booking.com/tripadvisor and many other websites and have NEVER vefore been charged the full room price at the time of booking before.

Clearly this hotel is mean minded, and no sense of customer service, or understanding. It would put me off another trip to jersey, unfortunately. I would very much advise against staying with these people, and if i had the time, i would sue them

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Owner at Marina Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
We are always happy to try and accommodate guests if we can and were quite happy to carry forward the booking in these circumstances to the next day or visit provided we had the availability. In this case the prospective guest was not proposing to come to the Island in the foreseeable future and expected a full refund. We advised the person concerned that he should claim on his travel insurance as we had sold the room in good faith, and the risk and responsibility was his, not the hotel's. Clearly there was no insurance cover in place so the prospective guest threatened to file a derisory report unless we compensated him for his foolish omission. When we quite rightly refused he carried out his threat, which quite frankly is very childish behaviour. Stamp stamp, spit dummy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Having just returned from a family break for my dad's 70th, all of us were pleasantly surprised.
The hotel is situated a 10 to 15 minute walk into St Helier along the prom or via Green road. Great sea views are to be had with its situation on the sea front in the Havre De Pas area of town. The rooms are ok, clean comfortable beds, flat screen tv's with tea & coffee making facilities and a very nice full english every morning.
Staff on the whole were very good apart from one young girl who doesn't seem to have a clue what is going on, it was chaos in breakfast this morning, but only this morning.
Suggestion to the management, turn the upstairs bar into the dining room and change the dining room downstairs into the bar.
I would have no hesitation in staying here again and I will be back to the beautiful island of Jersey.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pololo1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This is a small hotel, recently refurbished, in a very convenient position situated next to the sea and within walking distance of the town. The room was quite big, clean and overlooked the promenade. The bed was very comfortable with lovely bed linen and the room had tea making facilities and a flat screen television. The food was well cooked and plentiful with a lovely evening menu. The staff were very welcoming and the service excellent. There was a separate bar but it was not very peaceful as the pool table was situated here. It was a lovely relaxing stay and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My wife and I stayed for 7 nights on holiday. Clean and pleasant room with excellent en-suite and efficient daily room service. Have panoramic view of sea from the restaurant which serves excellent food from a wide menu. All staff are genuinely helpful and friendly. Had a very relaxed time and would book again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I booked a troupe of exuberant rugby players in here, using the principle that if you provide a decent hotel they will behave decently.
Theory proved to work in practice. The lads restricted their exuberance to off premises antics and the hotel was a little haven of peace.
The staff were extremely helpful, booking transport and organising us generally.
Nice sea views, good and central, very reasonably priced - would very happily use again

Room Tip: Always try to book a room away from the lift/stairs (applies in every hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

i would like to say a big thank you to you all at the Marina Hotel, we had a lovely time, and really enjoyed ourselves, you have all done a lovely job and was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandySomersetUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.1 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 32 in St Helier
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 32 in St Helier
570 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stafford Hotel
Stafford Hotel
#23 of 32 in St Helier
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#3 of 5 in StSaviour
664 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mountview
Mountview
#22 of 32 in St Helier
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mornington Hotel
Mornington Hotel
#19 of 32 in St Helier
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Metro Hotel

Property: Marina Metro Hotel
Address: Le Havre des Pas, The Promenade, St Helier JE2 4UL
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#18 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Metro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the seafront overlooking the bay at Havre des Pas, one of St Helier's lovely beach areas with safe bathing from the beach or in the open air bathing pool. The Marina Metro has a variety of rooms to offer - single, twin, double and also large rooms suitable for families or groups of friends. We are the ideal choice for business travellers who need to be near to town but want to retreat to our wonderful sea views and hosptiality; for the solo traveller who may just want to chill and watch the world go by; for friends and couples and of course to families with children who just want to build sandcastles on the beach, we have something for everyone. Just a few minutes walking distance from the town shopping centre and on a direct bus route, a warm welcome awaits you when you arrive at reception, staff are friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Car hire, Island tours, day trips to the other Channel Islands and France can be arranged.The Marina Metro has a comfortable, spacious well stocked Lounge Bar with Verandah on the first floor, the perfect place to sit and relax with wonderful views out to sea, whilst on the ground floor delicious food is served in our Dockyard Restaurant where you can dine on our alfresco deck or enjoy a drink and watch the sun go down. Music and dancing will be a regular feature during the summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel St Helier
Marina Metro Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing