We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel to stay.”
Review of Marina Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marina Metro Hotel
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel to stay.”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I stayed at the Marina Metro hotel with my wife for 7 nights (2 April-9 April 2013). When we arrived we were warmly welcomed at reception and provided with details of the hotel facilities. Our room was warm, with tea/coffee/chocolate making facilities and was serviced every morning and was kept spotlessly clean. The hotel staff were very friendly and efficient. The waitress at breakfast time (she was from Madeira) was a lovely lady who always had a little time for a chat. We could not fault the hotel or staff at this hotel. We arrived as guests and at the end of our stay left as friends. We will look foreward to staying at this hotel again at a future visit to Jersey.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank espanolrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff M, Owner at Marina Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write this review. We are a privately run hotel with a small team of enthusiastic management and staff who all make that extra effort to make our guests welcome and comfortable. We are all encouraged when our efforts are recognised. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    80
    23
    13
    9
See reviews for
25
98
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taunton , Somerset
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed with my wife here whilst visiting friends in Jersey. On the whole it was fine but not somewhere I would want to come back to. Bedroom was clean and quiet although the Bathroom was chilly with no heating . The view was ok but not really the right side of St Helier for the best vista. Breakfast was again ok but for the cost I might have expected more choice particularly in respect to the cereals and juice. The staff were all fine and friendly but you did not get the impression that they were proactive in advising visitors about places to visit

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff M, Owner at Marina Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
I am disappointed to learn that although your stay with us was generally fine, you would not choose us for a future visit. Our staff and I make every effort to ensure our guests are made very welcome and given every assistance to enjoy their stay with us and their holiday on the Island. We provide 4 choices of cereals and 5 choices of juice, in addition to our comprehensive choice of hot food, preserved fruits and yoghurts, so am a little surprised that you felt our breakfast offering was only OK. Few 3 star hotels offer smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, or smoked haddock as options without supplement in their breakfast menu.
With regard to vista, we believe our hotel is the closest you can get to being by the sea in Jersey, as we sit on the promenade at Havre Des Pas, and when the tide is up you literally feel like you can step outside and put your feet into the water. The views of St Clements Bay are stunning and because it is a rocky bay, the landscape in front of you changes constantly as the tide rolls in and out. Being on the south side of St Helier we also have the sun all day, as it sweeps across the Bay from East to West, shimmering off the sea and rocks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Channel Islands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed at the Metro Marina on Valentines Night and found it excellent value for money.
The food was very good and so was the breakfast.
Rooms are spotless , bar area very good, some live music a good place to stay
Went back for mothers day with the whole family and had a really good meal plenty of choice and if anything better than the first time.Again good value. The Chef is very accomodating.as are the rest of the staff.
It is a small hotel getting a big reputation locally We now go frequently and recommend it very highly.
Unfortunately no parking but a Holiday maker is right on a beach and can walk into the main part of town in five minutes.lThe price is right for value.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview room views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iand651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Stayed there for one night. Internet very fast both in and out. Room was small but perfectly clean and functional. Breakfast was not so good and pretty limited. My room was not facing the sea but on the side. Still got excellent views :) Room was small, but the again I only have paid about 45 GBP. Staff professional and helpful. Location felt safe any time of the day. If you like sea view, get yourself a room facing sea. Views are gorgeous.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreakWentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Being pragmatic locals, my wife and I opted for an overnight hotel stay for a Valentine's treat, rather than pay hiked-up prices for flowers and chocolates. The Marina Metro represented the best value around, and we were not disappointed with the quality of our accommodation, food and service. All that and sunshine, too - many thanks to all concerned for a very enjoyable short stay.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms worth the additional fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jnjm2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Living in Jersey and having never heard of this hotel, it appeared on a local special offer website. I promptly booked it for myself and my fiancée to "try it out".
Well we were surprised, the hotel has recently undergone a refurbishment and the restaurant and dining area was well presented and even though our meal was already paid for, I browsed through the menu and found the prices to be very reasonable. The meal arrived both myself and my partner thoroughly enjoyed our meals in particular the Thai green curry moules and the steak, superb quality reasonable portions and excellent price.
The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were well presented although the bathrooms could be updated a little.
The staff were extremely helpful and a credit to the hotel.
Would definitely stay again and I think we will be regulars to the Dockyard restaurant in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gazza1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We had a brief overnight "Stay-cation" at the Marina Metro. We found it to be first class and excellent value. Evening meal was excellent, good selection of courses, very pleasing to the eye and filling. Bedroom was also very good, comfortable with adequate storage and tea / coffee facilities.Breakfast was also spot on, with waiter service. All staff in hotel were very professional, polite and very efficient. We will return

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgreg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.1 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 32 in St Helier
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 32 in St Helier
570 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stafford Hotel
Stafford Hotel
#23 of 32 in St Helier
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#3 of 5 in StSaviour
664 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mountview
Mountview
#22 of 32 in St Helier
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mornington Hotel
Mornington Hotel
#19 of 32 in St Helier
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Metro Hotel

Property: Marina Metro Hotel
Address: Le Havre des Pas, The Promenade, St Helier JE2 4UL
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#18 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Metro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the seafront overlooking the bay at Havre des Pas, one of St Helier's lovely beach areas with safe bathing from the beach or in the open air bathing pool. The Marina Metro has a variety of rooms to offer - single, twin, double and also large rooms suitable for families or groups of friends. We are the ideal choice for business travellers who need to be near to town but want to retreat to our wonderful sea views and hosptiality; for the solo traveller who may just want to chill and watch the world go by; for friends and couples and of course to families with children who just want to build sandcastles on the beach, we have something for everyone. Just a few minutes walking distance from the town shopping centre and on a direct bus route, a warm welcome awaits you when you arrive at reception, staff are friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Car hire, Island tours, day trips to the other Channel Islands and France can be arranged.The Marina Metro has a comfortable, spacious well stocked Lounge Bar with Verandah on the first floor, the perfect place to sit and relax with wonderful views out to sea, whilst on the ground floor delicious food is served in our Dockyard Restaurant where you can dine on our alfresco deck or enjoy a drink and watch the sun go down. Music and dancing will be a regular feature during the summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel St Helier
Marina Metro Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing