We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big chain hotels could learn a lot from Marina Metro Hotel!”
Review of Marina Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marina Metro Hotel
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Melrose, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big chain hotels could learn a lot from Marina Metro Hotel!”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The only hotel on the island prepared to accommodate 4 single beds in one room to make it the best girly holiday ever. Also great to have the personal touch of the Manager himself taking time to chat and check that everyone was happy with their stay. Beautiful view as we enjoyed a perfectly cooked breakfast too = holiday heaven :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff M, Owner at Marina Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Hi Girls

Glad to hear you all enjoyed your stay, and had a great few days in Jersey despite suffering from some "bicycle bum" from your first days cycling. Look forward to seeing you all again when you have new things to tell each other and shopping tips to exchange!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    80
    23
    13
    9
See reviews for
25
98
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and were immediately impressed by the welcome we received from Rogerio, one of the owners. The friendliness and helpfulness of the owners and the staff continued throughout our stay and a special mention must go to the restaurant staff who were just outstanding. The restaurant is another fantastic feature of this hotel. After eating there on our first night and then looking around less-than-picturesque St Helier we found nothing that offered better value, and to top off the great food you get the added bonus of a great view across the bay. As mentioned by other reviewers, the beds are superbly comfortable, the rooms efficiently cleaned and there is great wifi. I think the reason people get a bit miffed, as we did, is that the website is a little misleading and in a couple of aspects it is incorrect. Just after check in I went down to reception with their website open on our iPad and asked if we had been given the correct room. We had booked a 'king size double with a sea view' and while we certainly had the sea view the bed we had was queen sized (or that is certainly what we would call it in Australia). However, we had also opted to pay the extra for this room type because its description stated it had a safe and a fridge. Our room had neither of these and when I asked Rogerio about it he said that no room in the hotel had these facilities, he apologised and said he would have the website corrected. This was actually fine with me - mistakes get made and overlooked - but over a week after our conversation this is still uncorrected. The other thing that leads this very good hotel open to criticism is the statement on the website that it has been 'extensively refurbished', as this means different things to different people. The public areas of the hotel have clearly gone through this process, the rooms not so much. I fully agree with another review that criticised the quality of the shower. There was nothing wrong with the water supply to the bathroom but employ the mixer for the shower and the water pressure dropped to the point where the supply was really poor. Websites are certainly the ways in which hotels advertise what they have to offer but in the case of this very good hotel it creates expectations that are not always fulfilled, this leads to criticism that it may not have otherwise received and I think that's a shame given its many positives.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini_d51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff M, Owner at Marina Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thanks for your review and pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our great little hotel. Website updated, too many jobs, too few hours!! Rooms do not need safe's because have a state of the art electronic door system only found in 5 star hotels because it costs a fortune to purchase and install, but we bought it! Almost impossible to copy the key, which is reprogrammed for each new guest, and computer tells us who has had access to the room so we know who goes in and out and when. Sorry about the water pressure, old building with small pipes so have to rely on a gravity fed system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Have just spent a wonderful weekend at the marina metro. Overall the hotel is lovely the staff are amazingly friendly and welcoming. The maid service very thorough and efficient and the the view from a room absolutely breathtaking. The only gripes I have are the bathroom is very cramped it was difficult reaching the sink due to the towel and radiator being in front of it and it doesn't have a proper shower but a mixer over the bath, surprising considering its recent refurbishment. Having booked a superking room we in fact received a double overall not really a problem but having no fridge was a disappointment especially it states the rooms have one.
Finally and this purely a
matter of personal preference but my partner thought the full English was a little on the small side. I however had the fish dishes each morning all of which were of amazing quality to rival any top restaurant, all so beautifully fresh and well cooked. Overall a good experience that wouldn't stop me returning to the marina in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachieroo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff M, Owner at Marina Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thanks for taking the trouble to write a review, and your comments have been noted. We believe you are mistaken over only having a double bed (4'6") as all our beds in the hotel for 2 persons are either King (5') or Superking (6'), and even our single beds are oversize at 3' against the standard 2'6".
With regard to breakfast we do try to cater for the requirements of the average appetite, and make a presumption that other items are to be consumed in addition to the usual cooked breakfast. However we are most willing to tailor breakfast to a guests reasonable requirements on request, and for example one strapping young rugby player recently enjoyed 3 cooked breakfasts to help him recover from the liquid excesses of the previous evening. However when bravado took over and he requested a fourth we politely told him it would be £9-50, at which point he decided he had had enough!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W YORKS
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We arrived to find that one of our rooms was wrongly allocated - a double instead of a twin - and the single room was the smallest I've ever seen with a terrible view. Both rooms were changed though so they were trying to please. The hotel is described as recently renovated. It isn't, but has just had a lick of paint. It is definitely tired and a bit shabby. Nice sea views though, the staff were very good and friendly. and very good food in the restaurant. No parking at the hotel, the nearest about 10 mins walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suseWYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff M, Owner at Marina Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
I am more than a little suspicious about this review as the hotel has only been operating for one season after undergoing a major refurbishment as evidenced by the works which can be viewed on our facebook pages via the link from our website, and the photos of the finished product which are on the website itself. How anyone can describe our hotel as shabby and dismiss the works undertaken as a lick of paint is quite beyond me, and the other 99.99% of our guests. What more need I say!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I stayed at the Marina Metro hotel with my wife for 7 nights (2 April-9 April 2013). When we arrived we were warmly welcomed at reception and provided with details of the hotel facilities. Our room was warm, with tea/coffee/chocolate making facilities and was serviced every morning and was kept spotlessly clean. The hotel staff were very friendly and efficient. The waitress at breakfast time (she was from Madeira) was a lovely lady who always had a little time for a chat. We could not fault the hotel or staff at this hotel. We arrived as guests and at the end of our stay left as friends. We will look foreward to staying at this hotel again at a future visit to Jersey.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank espanolrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff M, Owner at Marina Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write this review. We are a privately run hotel with a small team of enthusiastic management and staff who all make that extra effort to make our guests welcome and comfortable. We are all encouraged when our efforts are recognised. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton , Somerset
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed with my wife here whilst visiting friends in Jersey. On the whole it was fine but not somewhere I would want to come back to. Bedroom was clean and quiet although the Bathroom was chilly with no heating . The view was ok but not really the right side of St Helier for the best vista. Breakfast was again ok but for the cost I might have expected more choice particularly in respect to the cereals and juice. The staff were all fine and friendly but you did not get the impression that they were proactive in advising visitors about places to visit

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff M, Owner at Marina Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
I am disappointed to learn that although your stay with us was generally fine, you would not choose us for a future visit. Our staff and I make every effort to ensure our guests are made very welcome and given every assistance to enjoy their stay with us and their holiday on the Island. We provide 4 choices of cereals and 5 choices of juice, in addition to our comprehensive choice of hot food, preserved fruits and yoghurts, so am a little surprised that you felt our breakfast offering was only OK. Few 3 star hotels offer smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, or smoked haddock as options without supplement in their breakfast menu.
With regard to vista, we believe our hotel is the closest you can get to being by the sea in Jersey, as we sit on the promenade at Havre Des Pas, and when the tide is up you literally feel like you can step outside and put your feet into the water. The views of St Clements Bay are stunning and because it is a rocky bay, the landscape in front of you changes constantly as the tide rolls in and out. Being on the south side of St Helier we also have the sun all day, as it sweeps across the Bay from East to West, shimmering off the sea and rocks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Channel Islands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed at the Metro Marina on Valentines Night and found it excellent value for money.
The food was very good and so was the breakfast.
Rooms are spotless , bar area very good, some live music a good place to stay
Went back for mothers day with the whole family and had a really good meal plenty of choice and if anything better than the first time.Again good value. The Chef is very accomodating.as are the rest of the staff.
It is a small hotel getting a big reputation locally We now go frequently and recommend it very highly.
Unfortunately no parking but a Holiday maker is right on a beach and can walk into the main part of town in five minutes.lThe price is right for value.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview room views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iand651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.1 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 32 in St Helier
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 32 in St Helier
572 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stafford Hotel
Stafford Hotel
#23 of 32 in St Helier
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#3 of 5 in StSaviour
665 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mountview
Mountview
#22 of 32 in St Helier
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mornington Hotel
Mornington Hotel
#19 of 32 in St Helier
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Metro Hotel

Property: Marina Metro Hotel
Address: Le Havre des Pas, The Promenade, St Helier JE2 4UL
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#18 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Metro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the seafront overlooking the bay at Havre des Pas, one of St Helier's lovely beach areas with safe bathing from the beach or in the open air bathing pool. The Marina Metro has a variety of rooms to offer - single, twin, double and also large rooms suitable for families or groups of friends. We are the ideal choice for business travellers who need to be near to town but want to retreat to our wonderful sea views and hosptiality; for the solo traveller who may just want to chill and watch the world go by; for friends and couples and of course to families with children who just want to build sandcastles on the beach, we have something for everyone. Just a few minutes walking distance from the town shopping centre and on a direct bus route, a warm welcome awaits you when you arrive at reception, staff are friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Car hire, Island tours, day trips to the other Channel Islands and France can be arranged.The Marina Metro has a comfortable, spacious well stocked Lounge Bar with Verandah on the first floor, the perfect place to sit and relax with wonderful views out to sea, whilst on the ground floor delicious food is served in our Dockyard Restaurant where you can dine on our alfresco deck or enjoy a drink and watch the sun go down. Music and dancing will be a regular feature during the summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel St Helier
Marina Metro Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing