We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, friendly staff, good food.”
Review of Marina Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marina Metro Hotel
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice location, friendly staff, good food.”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had a lovely time in this hotel from September 11th-16th. The hotel is in a great location right by the sea, with nice views from sea view or side sea view rooms and the hotel restaurant. The room we were given was lovely but it stayed very warm even when it was cold outside and we found it hard to sleep. The hotel was very busy as the air show was on (this was excellent by the way) so they were not sure we could be moved. We were not rude but said there was no way we could stay in the room even with the fan they provided. A solution was found which meant we moved to a room for 2 nights then a different room for the remaining 2 nights, This was fine for us and the other rooms were both nice and clean & tidy. The room on the 4th floor has been updated more recently so this one was our favourite! The reception team were always polite and helpful.

We ate in the restaurant twice in the evening as well as every morning for breakfast. The breakfasts were nice, and offered a good choice from cereal to full English to Haddock and poached eggs. The evening meals were both very nice, especially the lamb dish we had - we passed on complements to the chef. Also, the waiting staff were always cheerful, friendly and helpful.

I would stay here again, we used a Groupon deal this time so it was excellent value for money. The location is excellent, the Havre de Pas swimming pool is a few minutes walk away and I would recommend a dip here! I swim before breakfast then a stroll back to the Marina Metro was a great start to the day. St Helier centre is only a ten minute walk away.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 16, very hot in there as above kitchen and also noisy next to the function room. If you k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff M, Owner at Marina Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thanks for your review, pleased you enjoyed your stay even though we had to move you about. Air show is our busiest week of the year and as a late booker you ended up in one of the last rooms available for your length of stay. Room can be warm which suits some even in the summer, but most guest admittedly prefer using it in the autumn/winter/spring. Please come again and book early!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    81
    24
    13
    9
See reviews for
25
100
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had never been to Jersey, having read the reviews for the Marina Metro we booked for 6 nights, sea view with breakfast. Flew at 10 am with Blue Islands airlines, No 15 bus to St Helier bus station and no 1 bus to the Hotel. Arrived at the Hotel at 1;00pm an hour before the 2:00pm official check-in time, "not a problem sir". We were escorted to our room.... not just left to find our own way! The room, 4th floor - east side, had a 'side sea view', very clean shower room / wash basin + toilet (small but adequate), room had plenty of drawer and wardrobe space. Breakfast was served overlooking the sea in the ground floor 'Dockland' restaurant each morning. The breakfast was always plentiful, a varied choice of items was available including a full English (and plenty of it). Staff were very friendly, room was clean & comfortable, a bar for that drink after a day or evening out. Wifi available throughout the hotel and a PC in the reception foyer that allowed access at all times. Yes there was a wait for breakfast 1 morning but then every person seemed to turn up at the same time that morning, what do people expect !! Hotel was convenient for buses, we did not need a car. On our return we caught 2 buses to the airport, very easy and at £1.20 and £1.70 (less than £3 each in total) it was so easy, cheap and relatively quick, we left the hotel at midday and were at the airport just after 1:00pm. We travelled to most points on the Island, always by bus and either walked 10 -15 minutes to the bus station or caught a bus 2 minutes from the hotel. Overall... (remember this is not a five star hotel but then neither is the price!) having stayed in many hotels (home & overseas) both on business & pleasure I would suggest you will enjoy a very clean, comfortable, friendly, convenient and pleasant stay at this Hotel ! (P.S. we r both in our 60's). Our thanks to all the staff !

Room Tip: If I had a choice it would be a Full Sea view (South Side), the bar across the road on the street le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Not12complain_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff M, Owner at Marina Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thanks for taking the trouble to write this review, I have noted that it is only your second so i assume you do not normally bother, or perhaps have difficulty using the computer. I do apologise for the slow breakfast service one day, was due to a combination of a late staff arrival and many guests coming in for breakfast at the same time. As you say overall i believe we offer a great product, set in a fabulous location, and at a fair price, what more can a person ask for .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel is a great place to relax for a few days, we were made to feel very welcome, the reception staff were so helpful as were all the staff in the restaurant, the food was excellent and always served with a smile. Our room was very comfortable, always clean and tidy, we overlooked the sea which was very relaxing. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to relax and take in the beautiful island of Jersey, there is so much to see and do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea with a king sized bed - great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finncharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff M, Owner at Marina Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Yesssssss, really great feeling when we get everything right and guests like yourself appreciate what we do and have a wonderful stay. Congratulations to all the staff and please keep it up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Your hotel clean friendly staff good food the rooms are better than 5 star bahia pribcipe. Modern close to town but far away enough to be quiet.
Close to bus stop and other restaurants there seems to be little else to say ther than thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KopyKats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff M, Owner at Marina Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Paul, You love us, we all love you, what more to say!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aintree, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The Marina is a medium sized friendly establishment run very much hands on by Geoff & his wife.The rooms are spotlessly clean and the bathroom we had was supplied with an endless stream of hot water (which didn't change temperature halfway through a shower). The bed was very comfortable & the towels nice & fluffy. Soap & shampoo a nice touch. Breakfast was very flexible, both in terms of choice & timings & the dining room had a lovely view onto the bay. They even had a vegetarian option. Would recommend to anyone.We had a 3rd floor side sea view, nice & quiet at night but I would pay extra for a sea view next time if available. I would imagine it could be quite noisy in the rooms overlooking the road. Our friend could not be accommodated on site so stayed in a guest house opposite also run by Geoff but came over for a drink and breakfast. Reception arranged a coach tour for us and also transfers from the airport (great advantage as you would need to get two buses costing £1.70 each sector per person as their is no direct route from the airport). Tea & coffee facilities in room & Geoff even went over to our friend in the guest house at 11.30PM with milk when he ran out!!! That's service for you. Will definitely be back in the future.

Terry & Marg Reynolds

Room Tip: I would go for a sea view (higher Room) views lovely & stairs no problem as lift very reliable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff M, Owner at Marina Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thanks Terry and Marg for your kind review. Pleased to learn that you really enjoyed your stay and are happy to recommend us to one and all. As a small privately run hotel my staff and I do strive to give a more special and personal level of service than found in bigger or chain hotels, and nothing is too much trouble, not even tea at midnight!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Had a fabulous birthday party. Good value for money. Great choice of music, something for everyone. Will definitely go back there. Good location with sea views and outside seating.
Staff very helpful and friendly. All our friends enjoyed it too as it was so relaxed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoniqueRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff M, Owner at Marina Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Hello Monique, Pleased you and your friends all enjoyed the food and music and had a great time on your birthday. As you found out my staff and I also like to party and that's what helped to make for such a great atmosphere. See you soon and don't forget we have music and dancing on Fridays and Saturdays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southend
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We arrived to be greeted by a lovely young gentleman who was very warm and welcoming and went out of his way to help us. The room 29 had a side view over a rooftop of the sea, it was quiet and spotlessly clean, and of a good size and ample storage space.
The bathroom was of good size and a new suite, there was no hand rail and the bath was slippy, so needed to hold onto the basin for safety. soaps provided but take your conditioner.
Ample tea/coffee/chocolate. and good lighting, I agree with a previous comments re mirrors but was not an issue.
The lift appeared new and efficient and the dining areas were again spotless. I would recommend this hotel to all.
Breakfasts were fresh and on the whole good, with good choice.
We ate here and enjoyed the food. Thai,muscles and chips, and beef bougingononon were all good hot and tasty.
The beach pool is a must, we left it until our last day and wished we hadn't it was lovely, after cooling the blood, a hot soup was in order!
The down side for us were the lack of parking, generally on the Island and for this hotel in particular as if you tried to park after 5 you were lucky to get a space in walking distant and had to pay from 8am each morning so had to plan in advance what time you would leave and leave pay cards.If hiring a car factor this into your budget, up to £10 a day in St Hellier and less in other places £3 a day.
The 1st floor lounge could be utilised better and made to feel more welcoming and the foyer was very cluttered- but it looks like the refurbishment will get here soon.
ALL IN ALL A LOVELY STAY

Room Tip: If you want a sea view, pay for it the side view room we had was a let down,but had we been higher t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meyouyoume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff M, Owner at Marina Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thanks for posting such a positive review, parking can be a bit of an issue but do remember we are pretty close to the town centre so this is to be expected. The Lido is very convenient to the hotel and nice for a swim if you can brave the cold water!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.1 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#19 of 32 in St Helier
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#3 of 5 in StSaviour
682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 32 in St Helier
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Stafford Hotel
Stafford Hotel
#21 of 32 in St Helier
288 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sarum Hotel
Sarum Hotel
#28 of 32 in St Helier
75 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Metro Hotel

Property: Marina Metro Hotel
Address: Le Havre des Pas, The Promenade, St Helier JE2 4UL
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#18 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Metro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the seafront overlooking the bay at Havre des Pas, one of St Helier's lovely beach areas with safe bathing from the beach or in the open air bathing pool. The Marina Metro has a variety of rooms to offer - single, twin, double and also large rooms suitable for families or groups of friends. We are the ideal choice for business travellers who need to be near to town but want to retreat to our wonderful sea views and hosptiality; for the solo traveller who may just want to chill and watch the world go by; for friends and couples and of course to families with children who just want to build sandcastles on the beach, we have something for everyone. Just a few minutes walking distance from the town shopping centre and on a direct bus route, a warm welcome awaits you when you arrive at reception, staff are friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Car hire, Island tours, day trips to the other Channel Islands and France can be arranged.The Marina Metro has a comfortable, spacious well stocked Lounge Bar with Verandah on the first floor, the perfect place to sit and relax with wonderful views out to sea, whilst on the ground floor delicious food is served in our Dockyard Restaurant where you can dine on our alfresco deck or enjoy a drink and watch the sun go down. Music and dancing will be a regular feature during the summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel St Helier
Marina Metro Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing