We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit dissapointed - expected more because of previous reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay View Guest House
Ranked #5 of 21 St Helier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2011

It took us while to find somewhere to stay in Jersey - found all accomodation quite expensive - however this B&B had good reviews and seemed ok for the price.

I agree that this was a good location -nice being away from it all - about a 20 minute walk I would say to liberation square - so not on the doorstep (a bit of a way to walk with heavy bags- and taxi's are way to expensive in Jersey!) but not to far.

I think the outside appearance of the B&B could do with a re-paint and clean as it doesn't look that appealing when you first show up. Also apon entering the guest house I think there is a bit of a musty smell - not particulry nice (nothing a couple of glade plug ins wouldn't sort) - it may be just me - but it immediately put me off.

The bedroom was ok - a little dated - the bathroom was tiny - almost like an ensuite was a after thought - would have been better to not bother!

The guest house has a home from home feel - with plenty of DVD's and magazines to borrow and entertain yourself with.

The breakfast was nice - but thought the ingredients were not of good quality and therefore lacked flavour - although on a plus Geoff would do whatever variety of breakfast you could think of and would go out his way on that front.

The owners were helpful with bus services and advice etc - cannot fault that - made to feel welcome.

All in all I think if this guest house charge £45-£50 night it would be a good guest house - however for the price (comparing to other cheaper guest houses I have stayed in) - I was disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helencorkill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2011

We are extremely surprised that you were disappointed with our breakfast as we believe that it is one of the most comprehensive available in any guesthouse. We use free range eggs, an expensive cumberland sausage, and Heinz baked beans amongst the other ingredients. We also provide genuine Jersey yoghurts which are extremely rich and yummy, and cost 3 times more than the standard supermarket variety.
We are aware that some of our en-suites are small and this is as you have summised because they were added as the tourism regulations changed in responce to guests expectations for private facilities. However rooms sizes are regulated under the Tourism Law and meet the current requirements.
We do not understand why you encountered a musty smell in reception because we have a commercial air freshener that releases a scented spray every few minutes and which is serviced under a monthly contract.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Bay View Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

the hotel is poorly maintained. The owners were friendly but the rooms looked old. Photos of the hotel were not reality. Reading the comments, the owner must never go in the rooms of the hotel otherwise he would see in what state they are. la douche fonctionnait mal, la moquette sentait la poussière. It is far too expensive for the low quality given. it is a scandal

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pegasung p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2011

We believe this review to be false and malicious because it is so far removed from from the general responce we recieve from our guests, and will be reporting it to Trip Advisor for investigation.

Review ratings on sectors such as location, cleanliness and sleep quality do not vary much from guest to guest because they are either fixed or carried out daily by our longstanding and conscientious staff. As an owner I greatly value my customers and pride myself on going that extra mile to meet my guest's expectations, and this is clearly remarked upon on virtually all of our reviews. To allocate such poor marks in these sectors convinces me that this review is malicious.


and service is an area which I undertake personally i pride myself in providing repeated daily by our staff and the beds are being used constantly during our main season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Great B&B in St. Helier, Jersey. My single room (with ensuite) was very comfortable, clean, affordable and the choice of breakfast was very good. Coffee was excellent! The hosts, Geoff & Carolyn were very gracious, and helpful in suggesting places to eat and see in Jersey.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loretta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Geoff & Carolyn are very welcoming and friendly hosts. Their Guest House is a lovely place to stay with lots of little extras that add to the comforts. We only stayed a few days but the information, advice and service we saw were excelldent. Breakfasts are delicious, the room was bright and clean, the TV/ DVD player, the microwave and tea/coffee facilities very convenient. We were 20 yards from a bus stop, very close to the outdoor pool and sea, and the local restaurants recommended were absolutely great. We certainly enjoyed ourselves and would recommend Bay View to anyone.

Room Tip: UIse a bus pass for 1, 3 or 5 days as they are good value.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barlow3142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Geoff and Carolyn were very welcoming. The breakfasts were very tasty and there was a variety on offer. The guesthouse is ideally placed to explore St Helier and is a short walk from the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Hotel in great location, situated on one of the key routes through Jersey, which is convenient although we experienced some noise at night in our particular room, we feel this does not detract us from staying at the hotel again. All in all very comfortable, clean and excellent value. Geoff and Carolyn are great hosts and very helpful.

We would highly recommend Jersey and contra to belief the island is not as expensive as expected.

We look forward to staying at Bay view again in the future.

Room Tip: Our room situated on the second floor in the front of the hotel was subject to some noise from the r...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Geoff & Caroline have spent a lot of time and effort to build up a very welcoming guest house, They have thought of everything to make sure your stay is happy. Not interfering but quietly providing visit info and all the little things that you did not know you needed. We will be back.

Room Tip: Our room 12 was excellent though the shower room would benefit from a little more space
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St Helier
760 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.9 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 32 in St Helier
411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
2,093 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stafford Hotel
Stafford Hotel
#23 of 32 in St Helier
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Guest House

Address: 12 Havre des Pas, St Helier, JERSEY, St Helier JE2 4UQ
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in St Helier
Price Range: £68 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geoff and Carolyn Mayger have been in the hospitality industry for many years and are pleased to welcome you to the relaxed and homely atmosphere they have created at the Bay View. They pride themselves in providing guests with all the modern conveniences and comforts of a four star Guest House. Bay View is situated across the road from the beach at Havre des Pas with its Lido & beach café, and still only a ten minute walk into St Helier, the main business and commercial centre of Jersey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bay View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View Guest House Hotel St. Helier
Bay View Guest House Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing