We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”
Review of The Norfolk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I stayed here for 3 days with a friend of mine. I think we were both quite happily surprised as we chose this hotel purely due to the fact it was the cheapest we could find.

Our room was ok sized, had a little tv, hairdryer, coffee and tea etc. The bathroom was clean and looked fairly newly decorated. The bed was very comfortable, and the sheets were amazingly soft without being visibly worn.

Breakfast was included in the dirt cheap price. It was ok, not much to choose from if you don't like your cooked english (which was nice), but there was some cerreal and fruits. The staff in the dining room were definitely the highlight of our stay, so polite and very friendly.

The reception staff were a little less nice, but not rude in any way.

I wouldn't say it was a luxury hotel but overall we were more than happy with everything! and again, extra credits to the staff in the restaurant!!!

Room Tip: We had a room towards the carpark and even though there was quite a few buses going in and out we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussieSussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    156
    36
    7
    4
See reviews for
66
263
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We spent 4 nights at this hotel and as others have said it is quite old fashioned and in need of some TLC.
The staff were helpful and service at breakfast time was quite good, I think this was due to the fact the all the cooked food was pre-cooked and was served from hotplates in the kitchen. What made us smile was the loudspeaker announcements during breakfast for the coach trips for the day, reminded us of the old TV programme 'Hi-de-Hi'.
We were on a B&B basis so did not have evening meal, it looked to be a very limited menu, selection from three starters, four main courses one of which was a vegetarian option another was a salad, the latter two appeared every night and three sweets. I noticed that orders for the evening meal were taken at breakfast time so the kitchen new exactly what was required.
Other people have mentioned the noisy floorboards and thin walls, we were forwarned and asked for a room on the third floor, even so our floorboards creaked when we walked across the room.
The hotel is well situated and is only a short walk from a number of eating places and of course does have the advantage of a small car park and a small swimming pool.
All in all you get what you pay for, a 2 Star Hotel.
..

Room Tip: Top floor if possible, room numbers 300 +
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rogangbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Just back from a 2 night stay in the hotel. We found the staff to be very helpful & friendly. The breakfast was a lot better than I expected for a 2 star hotel & they allowed us have early breakfast on the morning of departure which was handy.
We were in Jersey for a wedding so we didnt spend a huge amount of time in the hotel itself. As someone else commented the entertainment in the hotel was geared to an older audience but that didnt bother us as we werent staying in the hotel for its entertainment. Its fair to say the hotel is quite old & could do with being re decorated but for what we paid & the service there Id happily stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2011

we have jest spent a week at the hotel, its a lovely hotel, the staff was realy good , the food was lovely,, always hot and never having to wait,we was happy with all the trips that we was able to book in the hotel,we had good company with other guests, every body was happy with the hotel,, we will be going back for sure,,all the best for all the staff,, from angela and beryl, x

Room Tip: rooms on top floor is good for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We have just returned from a week at this hotel, and were very disappointed. The food was bland, the vegetables soggy and overcooked, the salads an uninspiring alternative. Meal times were not a relaxed event, as we felt there were not enough waiting staff, and they were always very rushed. The entertainment was geared to the older customer, with songs and music from the 50s & 60s.
The bedroom and bathroom are both very basic and dated, no toiletries are provided. The corridor to our room smelt musty, the room also initially smelt strange,( a smell we couldn't identify), not a fresh smell, even though the rooms were well cleaned daily, but worst of all was the noise and lack of soundproofing. The week was ruined by disturbed sleep, caused by noise transmitted through the walls and ceiling. Every footstep from above creaked and groaned through the ceiling, every cupboard or drawer opened and closed in adjoining rooms thudded through the walls. I dont expect to be woken twice a night by people going to the bathroom in the rooms above me. Our floorboards also creaked everytime we walked on them, even the bed creaked loudly every time you turned over.
Television noise blared out from nearby rooms, often drowning out my television.
The hotel was primarily full of the elderly, and appears geared towards this age group, and If I was a hard of hearing pensioner, I would probably find this hotel paradise....unfortunately we are only in our early 50s, youthful, with good hearing and our own teeth and fully functioning taste buds.
This is one hotel we would not return to.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beverly j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Hotel is a bit old fashioned, but everything is in good order and working. Room and bathroom were quite spacious, beds were ok, lots of storage. Breakfast: choice of cereals and juices and some fruit. English breakfast bit boring. Service was excellent, very friendly staff and manager. Overall a good place to stay for 2* and one week.

Room Tip: Rooms to front are facing south. There is a busy one-lane road. Rooms to the back are facing north a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton-on-Sea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

hotel very good for a two star food four star with very fast waiter service
rooms very clean and the decor good but the view from the room was a white
brick wall we did not spend a lot of time in the room so it did not matter
all the staff were great bar prices were ok due to three coach holidays staying
at the hotel some were sitting in the bar at night and not buying drinks and taking
up the seats this hotel was agood two star and well worth staying at

Room Tip: 1 st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,855 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
727 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,880 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 32 in St Helier
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Hotel

Property: The Norfolk Hotel
Address: 60-61 La Colomberie, St Helier JE2 4QA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St Helier
#2 Best Value Hotel in St Helier
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Norfolk Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated minutes from the beautiful Howard Davis Park, the Norfolk Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore the island of Jersey. The hotel is located in the Island's capital St. Helier making it convenient for shopping yet is still only a few minutes walk from the sandy beach at Havre des Pas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Norfolk Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing