We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trekker 66”
Review of The Norfolk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

all staff in all areas very helpful warm & friendly could not do enough to be helpful anything we reqiured /needed all we had to do was ask & it was there . Location excellent very central for everything, We stayed half board can't fault food at all . Evening entertainment is good we enjoyed it . Nice atmosphere throughout hotel .
We are taking back some lovely memories & look forward to going back to this welcoming hotel and all the wonderful staff .

Room Tip: ground rooms are available which is not advertised in brochures
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trekker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Excellent value hotel well located in St Helier with all attractions within easy reach. Near Howard Davis Park which has evening entertainment for the peak season: we saw two band concents. Nice atmosphere in the bar and reception area with none of the sterility that seems to go with 4 and 5 star hotels. Staff very friendly. We are an older couple and agree not a particularly good place for people with children although there were several families at the hotel when we stayed. Breakfast and evening meal were what I would describe as traditional British cuisine but all you could want with a good choice. I would particularly praise the reception and dispatch arrangements when arriving and leaving by coach : very unusual in our experience when we are usually just been dumped outside hotels on other package holiday we have been on. The outdoor swimming pool was a pleasant place to sit on a sunny day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anakberhala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed in this hotel with a group of friends for a short break.
Yes, there are plenty of elderly guests, but many of these guests have been going to the hotel for many years, no better recommendation than that.
Hotel has most things required, but its main asset is its staff. Everyone I met was professional, courteous & very friendly. The star of the show though is the head waiter Joseph. This gentleman is the hotels biggest asset.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tesh1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The hotel was very clean and tidy,the staff were helpful and pleasant ,however,the hotel was very basic and seemed not to quite have enough income to finish its upgrades. Breakfast was almost presented in a school refectory manner,thrown on the plate , and being told told sit at a table that is still not cleared from the previous sitting was not ideal. The average age of the clients was probably about 70 years old which is fine ,but perhaps potential clients should be made aware of that when reading about it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is 2 star hotel not the poshest place I have stayed but the staff are excellent. The reception people where a delight and the head waiter Joseph should be cloned so that all hotels can have a great people person in their dinning room. Hotel was clean bedding was good and breakfast was good with plenty of hot drinks and toast. Its also in a good place for each bay of St Helier and close to pubs and restaurants

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank columbiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

i stayed at this hotel in 2011 and i have never been to a hotel like it before. the staff were extremely friendly and were always there too help, the pool was amazing and open quite late, i didnt experience the entertainment but from my room it sounded rather good!! the food was great, always plenty if we wanted more and the waiters and waitresses were fantastic! i loved this hotel and i've always wanted to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Basic hotel, clean and friendly but dated with creaky floors. The entertainers had to try very hard to get any response out of the audience, we felt sorry for them! Dinner was between 6:30 and 7:30 and everyone queued up outside the door at 6:25. Needless to say with great restaurants in St Helier we didn't eat in. Not for you if you are young at heart, geared to over 70's.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GailJB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 32 in St Helier
2,153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St Helier
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St Helier
1,568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
#14 of 32 in St Helier
551 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Hotel

Address: 60-61 La Colomberie, St Helier JE2 4QA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St Helier
#3 Best Value Hotel in St Helier
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £61 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Norfolk Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated minutes from the beautiful Howard Davis Park, the Norfolk Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore the island of Jersey. The hotel is located in the Island's capital St. Helier making it convenient for shopping yet is still only a few minutes walk from the sandy beach at Havre des Pas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Norfolk Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing