We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Norfolk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel is well located for shops and transport. It is spotlessly clean and the staff are lovely. The rooms are unspectacular but very good for a 2 star hotel. Breakfast is good. As a vegetarian I do expect shoddy food when I am probably an afterthought but the omelet and quiche were both good. However on the three nights I had pasta (spaghetti / ragu, lasagne and cannelloni) it was horrendous. My Mother, who eats meat, was also disappointed with her meat, spuds and mass cooked veg. I would not recommend half board. The lobby is quite elegant and the swimming pool is a really unexpected bonus.

Room Tip: Would recommend the ground floor (not looking on to cafe/smokers area). We heard no noise from next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    144
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
63
242
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

The Norfolk Hotel is very well situated for the park and the town centre. There is a lovely pool area and coffee bar with 'al fresco' dining. The rooms are bright and spacious with loads of storage space and clean towels daily. There are tea and coffee making facilities which are also replenished daily. In the dining room the food is served to your table apart from fruit and cereals at breakfast and the delightful selection of desserts at dinner. Meals are plain fare but plentiful. Members of staff in all the areas of the hotel (i.e. reception, bar and dining room) are friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them and every request is met to make your stay an enjoyable one. Bar prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are said to be quieter. There is no traffic noise because of the situation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skara82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We arrived early at reception, but because of our early flight (arriving at 9.30) we were told our room would not be ready until 1.30. When we arrived at our room our cases were outside the door and the room was very clean, the shower was hot but awkward to operate as you had to stand in the bath and fiddle with the temperature, but most hotels are like that. The beds were very comfortable but because the room was above the kitchen we could hear glass bottles being thrown into the recycling bin until quite late. The hotel itself is in a very good location next to the park and a ten minute walk into town. The food was good but a little boring, catering mainly for British people.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lastCompositor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Very friendly & helpful from reception to restaurant staff - good service all the time. Bedrooms are bit dated but very clean. Single beds bit hard for my liking but plenty of pillows on the bed which is a big plus. Handy to shopping & lots of information available for sight seeing etc. plenty to eat for breakfast & early breakfast order not a problem - reception also offered to keep our luggage as we had late departure. Very enjoyable stay in Jersey - nice place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ycro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

24-31 Aug 2013

On arrival at the Norfolk Hotel we were asked to leave our bags in corridor and proceed to reception to book in. After this we took our bags (nobody saying we could not) to the room second floor. I do see the point of staff taking bags as the lift would be full all the time and yes you may have to wait for your bags but hey ho your are on holiday- enjoy.

The room was very clean and fresh and the bathroom also very clean and well appointed. The bedding was comfortable and there was plenty of storage space.

In the Restaurant we were asked to share a table. This was no problem to us and we had two delightful ladies sharing with us who were good company at mealtimes. We have been to 4 star hotels were we have had to wait up to 25 minutes for a two person table.

The meals were excellent. At breakfast there was a wide choice of cereals, fruit juices and prunes! This was followed by a full English Breakfast or you can choose which items you would like,there was no powdered eggs or cheap sausages when we were there, I had fresh fried eggs and boiled eggs.
. There is also unlimited toast ,butter, jams and pots of tea and coffee. We were on Half-Board and the three-course Evening meals were varied and plentiful. As I am a vegetarian I was pleased to see the week’s menu on view. My wife enjoyed the different meat and fish dishes on a menu that changes each day. Also on offer were omelets and a great variety of salad dishes as main courses. Puddings - again what a selection- too many to list and also great cheese board. Overall food was hot, fresh and well presented.

The bar is very comfortable and service there was also v good.

The Staff in Reception, Restaurant and Bar along with the Room cleaning ladies were all, without exception, great.

The hotel is situated in middle of St Helier so expect some noise. It is just right for shops, beach and buses. If you want a quiet hotel perhaps you should choose a country hotel

We were very happy to spend a week with mature sensible adults. We will certainly recommend The Norfolk to family and friends.

For those rude people that made reference to "cocoon" maybe they should have gone on a 18 -30 holiday we all have seen the television programs what goes on there!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john2England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We searched trip advisor for hotels in St Helier and selected the Norfolk as it seemed to offer a modern twist to your average budget hotel. The location is good, parking is helpful and the staff friendly and cheerful (a though perhaps need to be told not to noisily polish cutlery in the dining room whilst people are still eating breakfast!).
However the room was peach peach peach, if this is your thing then there are no complaints re the bed or the cleanliness, however we had booked in to the Norfolk to try (to no avail!) the pink table cloths, peach walls and chintzy decor. The room was quiet and reasonable size but the water pressure was decidedly lacking and was either freezing cold or scalding hot!
The breakfast was limited and whilst this was ok for a 2 day stay I wouldn't fancy the powdered eggs or cheap sausages for any longer than that.

We suspect that only a few of the rooms are decorated as the photos suggest so bear this in mind when booking, as a base for a short trip you could do a lot worse but I doubt very much that we would ever go back.

Room Tip: Top floor was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkhall, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We went to this Hotel through a packagefrom Glenton Travel and were wonderfully surprised.
This was our first visit to Jersey and we consider ourselves extremely fortunate to have selected the Notfolk.
There are numerous supposedly better hotels who should look at the Norfolk because their service,cleanliness,comfort and value was well above some 4 star locations.
The food and service in the restaurant was first class and all staff went out of their way to make you welcome and comfortable.
We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenmonarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Hotel

Property: The Norfolk Hotel
Address: 60-61 La Colomberie, St Helier JE2 4QA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Helier
#2 Family Hotel in St Helier
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Norfolk Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated minutes from the beautiful Howard Davis Park, the Norfolk Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore the island of Jersey. The hotel is located in the Island's capital St. Helier making it convenient for shopping yet is still only a few minutes walk from the sandy beach at Havre des Pas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Norfolk Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing