We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful two star hotel”
Review of The Norfolk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful two star hotel”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I have just returned from a five day break with my friend at the Norfolk Hotel in St Helier. I have stayed in 4* hotels that do not match the standards and service of this establishment. We had a really good time. The staff are very friendly,nothing is too much trouble for them. Comments I had read on Tripadvisor about rushed breakfasts and slow service and people queuing to go into the dining room didn't happen while we were there. We were not asked to share a table and noticed there were lots of tables for two.
I'm sure when finances allow the bedrooms will be updated but the important things - spotless linens, clean towels each day if needed, tea and coffee making facilities - are there. I was also surprised to find a laptop with free internet access in the hotel foyer, very convenient for those who do not carry ipads around with them!
The location of the Norfolk Hotel is excellent too, being only a few minutes walk from Howard Davis Park and not much longer than that into the shopping area.
All in all this is a budget hotel that really deserves another star but the real stars at the Norfolk are the fabulous staff!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor. The lifts were very efficient and we didn't have to wait long fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EmmaDen135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    156
    36
    7
    4
See reviews for
66
263
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was our second stay at The Norfolk and the standard of service and friendly, helpful staff remains the same. This hotel is good value for money, but again I would say that the evening meal, although different every night, may seem to lack imagination. So if varied and interesting meals are an important part of your holiday, I would advise the b and b option. Having said that, if I return to Jersey, I would stay at The Norfolk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramblingwhiterose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here in June 2013 for 2 nights on business. All the staff were friendly, especially those serving beakfast, who were very efficient. During my stay there were a lot of pensioners staying there on holiday and it probably isn't the place if you are looking for a wild time! Didn't have the full English (because I am not keen on them) but had toast and cereals. Also didn't have dinner in the restaurant. They appeared to be offering a limited menu. The hotel has a bar, which I think serves until 1 am and other facilities, which if I had been on holiday I would have used. The hotel is nicely located, near the centre of St Helier. My room (a large twin) was basically furnished but clean. I stayed in the Royal Hotel a couple of weeks later and preferred that hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charlton69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel is well located for shops and transport. It is spotlessly clean and the staff are lovely. The rooms are unspectacular but very good for a 2 star hotel. Breakfast is good. As a vegetarian I do expect shoddy food when I am probably an afterthought but the omelet and quiche were both good. However on the three nights I had pasta (spaghetti / ragu, lasagne and cannelloni) it was horrendous. My Mother, who eats meat, was also disappointed with her meat, spuds and mass cooked veg. I would not recommend half board. The lobby is quite elegant and the swimming pool is a really unexpected bonus.

Room Tip: Would recommend the ground floor (not looking on to cafe/smokers area). We heard no noise from next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The Norfolk Hotel is very well situated for the park and the town centre. There is a lovely pool area and coffee bar with 'al fresco' dining. The rooms are bright and spacious with loads of storage space and clean towels daily. There are tea and coffee making facilities which are also replenished daily. In the dining room the food is served to your table apart from fruit and cereals at breakfast and the delightful selection of desserts at dinner. Meals are plain fare but plentiful. Members of staff in all the areas of the hotel (i.e. reception, bar and dining room) are friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them and every request is met to make your stay an enjoyable one. Bar prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are said to be quieter. There is no traffic noise because of the situation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skara82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We arrived early at reception, but because of our early flight (arriving at 9.30) we were told our room would not be ready until 1.30. When we arrived at our room our cases were outside the door and the room was very clean, the shower was hot but awkward to operate as you had to stand in the bath and fiddle with the temperature, but most hotels are like that. The beds were very comfortable but because the room was above the kitchen we could hear glass bottles being thrown into the recycling bin until quite late. The hotel itself is in a very good location next to the park and a ten minute walk into town. The food was good but a little boring, catering mainly for British people.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lastCompositor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Very friendly & helpful from reception to restaurant staff - good service all the time. Bedrooms are bit dated but very clean. Single beds bit hard for my liking but plenty of pillows on the bed which is a big plus. Handy to shopping & lots of information available for sight seeing etc. plenty to eat for breakfast & early breakfast order not a problem - reception also offered to keep our luggage as we had late departure. Very enjoyable stay in Jersey - nice place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ycro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,855 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
727 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,879 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 32 in St Helier
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Hotel

Property: The Norfolk Hotel
Address: 60-61 La Colomberie, St Helier JE2 4QA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St Helier
#2 Best Value Hotel in St Helier
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Norfolk Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated minutes from the beautiful Howard Davis Park, the Norfolk Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore the island of Jersey. The hotel is located in the Island's capital St. Helier making it convenient for shopping yet is still only a few minutes walk from the sandy beach at Havre des Pas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Norfolk Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing