We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Norfolk Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Le Mesnil Aubert, Normandy
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Slightly jaded appearance compared with more modern offerings these days but offers a homely feel with good value for money with excellent friendly staff. The Portuguese Maitre'd is a hoot! He is backed up by very attentive staff.

Room Tip: Wifi only close to reception as another reviewer has said
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zutijar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    144
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
63
242
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is clean and comfortable, has friendly, helpful staff, is ideally situated close to the centre of St. Helier with a free car park, has a swimming pool, serves a hearty breakfast and is very reasonably priced. I stayed here with my teenage son who also loved the place. The only possible negative is the patchy Wi-Fi coverage away from reception and the coffee bar, but that is a small thing compared to all the positives. We would stay there again without hesitation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank davatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here from the 23rd to the 30th of june,excellent value for money, fantastic staff made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble for anyone, food very good, plenty of choice, beds very comfy and rooms very clean. stayed in room 208, this room was very nice, will definitely be going to stay here again, and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a holiday in Jersey.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton-on-tees
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is definately only 2 stars....no more ...no less!!
Caters for the more mature guests!
Good position with many good restaurants nearby, especially the thai restaurant next door.
Bed & pillows very comfy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corky1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel seems to be more aimed at the package tourist and generally seems to be the more mature visitor, however the atmosphere was great. Felt like the set of Benidorm sometimes with some of the entertainment and the staff but all good fun. Nice bar and lounge area, I had a refurbished room which was very clean and functional. St Helier is by no means the pretty part of Jersey, however it is where it is at, all the bars, pubs, restaurants within a few moments stroll. Everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves, only complaint breakfast was a bit average. Good value for Jersey also.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy_and_Daniel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

It is with regret that I am writing this review but the truth must be said, both because I feel that the hotel failed to address our complaints and in the spirit of helping members of the TA community make informed choices.

Our checking in was conducted swiftly by a very pleasant lady receptionist. We were given room 17 on the ground floor and, although it did not resemble the photographs shown on the hotel website, we reasoned that this is a 2 star hotel after all, even though the Stafford, Mountainview, Talana and Runnymede Court are also 2 star hotels and offer many more facilities.

Our room and bathroom en-suite were large but tired: dated furniture, anaglypta-covered bedroom walls, uncoordinated carpet/curtains/bedding/chair upholstery and uncomfortable pillows. There is no safe or telephone in the room but there is a small flat screen television ..... and a musty odour.

There was a lot of loud noise: a quick look revealed that directly outside our bedroom window was a door leading from the hotel to the cafe and pool. Whether open or closed, the cafe attracts all the smokers from early morning to midnight and the cacophony of loud chatting is never ending. We closed the windows to cut out the noise but the room soon overheated and the odour worsened.

To close the bathroom window, we had to climb into the bathtub because it is too far away to reach otherwise. There was a little sign in the bathroom informing guests that if they require shower caps, toothpaste, etc they can purchase those at Reception. It is a pity that there was no clear sign warning guests that the bathtub is very slippery and, despite being sturdy on our feet, both my husband and I had slipping accidents which left us badly bruised. More about this later .....

Two more points about the bathroom: firstly, there is only a net curtain on the window so in the evenings we had to use the loo in the dark to avoid being seen by the people in the cafe. Secondly, the toilet tissue is of 2 star quality.

On the first morning we were woken up early by loud talking and shouting among the chambermaids. When we found one bath towel to be heavily soiled I asked a chambermaid whether she could change it. She proceeded to have a conversation about it with her colleagues in Portuguese until the housekeeper arrived. With narrowed eyes and flared nostrils the latter demanded to know where the dirt was and then inferred that we had actually soiled the towel ourselves! I was affronted and we referred the matter to the owner. He told us that they are all very proud to be offering so much as a 2 star hotel and wanted to reassure us that no client had ever complained about the housekeeper before, or about any noise made by the chambermaids or about soiled towels. He was, of course, ignoring the fact that we were his clients and we were complaining. There was no point in pursuing a conversation with someone who was not really listening but was busy giving himself a pat on the back, so we went to breakfast.

Well, I'll keep this very brief: the food is most certainly 2 star quality but the dining room staff were very pleasant and helpful.

I should now like to return to the slippery bathtub. After the first couple of accidents I did look for the owner but was told that he was not at the hotel. The next time we asked to speak to him was at checking-out time and were told by the male receptionist on duty that he didn't know where the owner was, asking if he could be of help. I informed him of the slipping accidents we had had in the bathtub and he said that we could have asked him for a bath mat. He added that they keep them locked in a cupboard and would only issue them upon request for health and safety reasons! I suggested that they should perhaps display a notice in the bathroom to inform clients but this was not accepted as constructive feedback. Instead we were told that they are all "very proud to be offering so much as a 2 star hotel with a 24-hour reception" and reassured us that no client had ever complained about slipping in the bathtub! I asked him if he cared to make notes of the incidents to report them to the owner and offered to show him some of the lower leg bruising. He declined.

The arrogance of this outfit is staggering. They have a collective inability to discuss genuine issues with their clients but I believe that they will be well placed to read the Health and Safety at Work Act 1974, particularly the section about endangering public safety, failure to report accidents and not taking action to prevent these accidents occurring again. I was clearly dismissed as a troublemaker, however the Norfolk hotel management do have a duty of care to their clients and a duty to report all accidents for investigation. If they carried out their own routine safety checks required by law, they would swiftly identify the risk of slipping in the bath, instead of failing to take adequate action to eliminate or minimise slipping dangers, at minimal cost.

We were disappointed with our choice of accommodation and would certainly neither return to the Norfolk on our next visit to Jersey nor would we dream of recommending this hotel to anyone else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jetsetter511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have just returned from a trip to Jersey where I stayed at The Norfolk hotel.
I can't praise it enough. I was totally blown away when I arrived to see that it was not at all what I was expecting for a 2 star hotel.
The room was spotless, the food was first class and the staff were brilliant.
I have stayed at many hotels over the years, in Britain and abroad, and I can honestly say that
The Norfolk beats them all. Well done to the owner and staff, you should all be very proud of what
you have achieved, should I return to Jersey in the future I will make a beeline for you.
Thank you, once again . Mrs Marilyn Hunter ( room 218 ).

Room Tip: Rooms are large and spacious with excellent beds which are very comfortable. Good bathrooms too, wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank marilyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
1.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#8 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Hotel

Property: The Norfolk Hotel
Address: 60-61 La Colomberie, St Helier JE2 4QA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Helier
#2 Family Hotel in St Helier
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Norfolk Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated minutes from the beautiful Howard Davis Park, the Norfolk Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore the island of Jersey. The hotel is located in the Island's capital St. Helier making it convenient for shopping yet is still only a few minutes walk from the sandy beach at Havre des Pas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Norfolk Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing