We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SACO Jersey - Merlin House
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Don't even hesitate to book this place. It is in a great location, reasonably priced, first class accommodation, ideal for families on vacation.
Management fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. The apartment had everything you could wish for, from a lovely welcome pack to even a washing machine. Home from home.
The location is perfect. 5 minutes from the shops and restaurants, and the bus station is about the same. Don't bother hiring a car, the buses are frequent and cheap at £1.80 one way for an adult, and you can get to anywhere on the island.
Will definitely book this again when we return to jersey.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    26
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
37
26
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here as we have used this accommodation chain multiple times in London and elsewhere so we knew what to expect which was. Somewhere central, with easy parking, clean, comfortable and quiet. SACO Jersey delivered all of the above therefore I have no hesitation in recommending a serviced flat in Merlin House.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

As a party of 4 we hired 2 apartments and found them to be extremely well equipped, conveniently located, and surprisingly spacious. We had 2 rooms at the back so they were quiet although a little dark in one of the rooms. The staff were very helpful and made an excellent first impression. If you want sizable accommodation within a couple of minutes walk of St Helier and with the ability to cater for yourself then I would recommend Merlin House.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y0rkshire_R0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I could not fault the Apartment itself. It was very well equipped, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Both the Manager and her assistant were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

The downside of the location being so close to bars, restaurants and other facilities, was the noise. The excellent weather meant the nights were warm, but sleeping with the windows open was not an option because the noise of both cars and passing people. Even with the windows closed, it was still noisy.

I'd stay here again, but I think I'd request an apartment facing away from the road.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williams_tj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just returned from a great holiday in Jersey, the icing on the cake, our stay at Merlin House in St Helier. A lovely well appointed apartment in a fantastic location, quality furnishing throughout, with attention to detail. Everything we could possibly need to compliment our stay. Best of all - the exceptional service from SACO from time of booking, prior to our arrival, during our stay and before we sadly departed, we felt really looked after. A great holiday experience! Special thanks to Fanny for her kind assistance prior to our stay and particular thanks to Amanda, a very special host who impressed our varied travel group of mature couple, late 20s sibling, and 82yrs young Mum! We will most certainly return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerryFifers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have stayed at SACO Jersey - Merlin House for about 10 weeks and really liked my stay over there. The apartment was nice and I had more than enough space. Proper shower, large and perfectly equiped kitchen and a good bed.

SACO Jersey is not the most luxourious apartment but the staff does make the difference. I had some last minute requests and they managed to arrange everything!

All in all I really liked my stay and if you consider staying in St. Helier for a longer period of time I can certainly recommend SACO Jersey.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keerbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were three and had an apartment on the first floor. The rooms were spacious, the welcome pack complete. There is a Spar and a Checkers right on the corner of the street. Shopping streets are at a 5 min. walk, as is the harbour. You can park your car in a garage 200m up the street. So far the good news.
Now the less good. Merlin House is just one street away from the outgoing neighbourhood with restaurants and bars. If you're planning to go out, that's great. When you have an apartment on the first floor, right above the entrance, and want to have a good sleep, it's a problem. Shouting, arguing, singing, people throwing up, a concert of empty bottles thrown in containers at 7am... except for the bottles concert, we had it all, right under our window. So be sure to ask for a room as high as possible, and you'll have a perfect stay.

Room Tip: avoid the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelman-Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanda c, Manager at SACO Jersey - Merlin House, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Many thanks for you feedback, both good and less good; we very much appreciate you taking the time to tell us of your experiences at SACO Jersey.
One of the key benefits of Merlin House is the central St Helier location and excellent access to local amenities as you have appreciated in your comments. We regret the unfortunate experience you have reported with respect to the downside of being in a central location, namely that there can be excessive noise late at night over the weekends. We have therefore contacted the St Helier authorities and requested that additional police presence be provided in our local area at appropriate times to try to reduce this disruption: they have immediately promised to add our location onto their regular beat and have informed us that this problem has also been reported by other hospitality outlets in the town centre and they are actively planning longer term more holistic solutions.

I hope that this will not prevent you from returning to Merlin House and look forward to welcoming you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
1.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.2 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#2 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SACO Jersey - Merlin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SACO Jersey - Merlin House

Property: SACO Jersey - Merlin House
Address: Merlin House Pier Road, St Helier JE2 3WR
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SACO Jersey - Merlin House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated close to the Marinas waterfront and town centre, this is an exclusive collection of studios, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments. The apartments each have spacious living room and dining area, a fully equipped kitchen, bathroom and a large double bedroom. The penthouse apartment has two shower rooms. Reception is by arrangement. Saco operates a no smoking policy within this building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your SACO Jersey - Merlin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SACO Jersey - Merlin House St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing