We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not travelled yet BUT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in St Helier
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We are to visit this hotel end of the month with Secret Escapes and I had a few queries. If the service during the stay is as good as the 3 people who have looked after me it's 4stars are 100% waranted too many people use this site to simply moan and here we have a hotel who is not only brave enough to put answers to comments both good and bad they even leave a name.Well done
Looking forward to our visit
Mike Hall

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JERZR, Sales and Marketing Coordintor at Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Hi Mike,
Thank you very much for your comments on the staff here at the hotel! Really great to see that you have already experience such good customer service and I am sure you will love your stay here with us!
Look forward to seeing you soon!
Ashleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,961 - 1,967 of 2,525 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

I went to the Radisson Blu in Jersey on a corporate event and I couldn't fault it. We hired the magnificent room at the top of the hotel that overlooks the harbour and the views were stunning. The food was plentiful and delicious, I couldn't have asked for better. Staff were extremely dutiful and helpful and I couldn't fault them. Rooms were spacious and very tidy and mine had a harbour view which was a lovely added touch. Overall it was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicki411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JERZR, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Hi Vicki,
Excellent to see that your corporate event went so well, it’s great to hear back from guests who have visited us on business as well as leisure and I will make sure to send your comments on to our Meetings and Events team. Hopefully on your next visit to the island it will be for a holiday so you can experience what Jersey has to offer and we’ll love to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

pre authorised credit card ..however, the hotel was clean and functional.

one side of the hotel faces the sea and harbour the otherside the car park..Beware when you are offered an room with no sea views ....if you are put in a standard room on the first floor with an internal view chances are you will be overlooking the car park...felt more like an up-market travel lodge in that respect.
breakfast was hideously expensive for what you could actually eat...£14.95 a head ouch.....couldnt possibly eat enough to justify that cost. We did try the hotel restaurant, tiny portions, slow service and definately not service with a smile.....and very pricey and not really worth it... much better places to eat in the little bays...fresh fish..yum
the rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable, a good base for our long weekend....but would chose a hotel elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: avoid a first floor standard room with internal views of the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JERZR, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Hi Lucy, thank you for your review. I’m sorry to see that you were almost charged twice for your room, I can understand how annoying this can be for you, All funds should indeed be released from the pre-authorisation automatically however please contact us if you have any concerns. We appreciate that our restaurant may not be to everyone’s taste and do agree that Jersey does have some excellent restaurants especially when it comes to seafood! However, I’m sad to see that you found the service lacking and this certainly does not represent the Yes I Can! spirit that we pride ourselves on and will be looked in to. Thank you again for your review and we hope that you enjoyed your visit to Jersey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Excellent location, very clean, service very good, reception girl Stephanie was helpful. On arrival we read an A4 sheet sellotaped to reception stating that pool was closed. We hadn't been informed of this prior to arrival or during checkin. When we asked about this we were told that we could use another local facility. After checkin this out we decided that it was not the same as a hotel pool which are normally peaceful and exclusive. After a short discussion with reception we were offered a substantial discount on our breakfasts and a seaview room which we accepted. Everything else about this Hotel was excellent, especially the breakfast, bar prices were reasonable for a Hotel and we would definately stay again if the pool was open.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manninca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JERZR, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Hi Manninca, thank you very much for your review and I’m really sorry that the pool was out of order but happy to see that we were able to offer you a complimentary upgrade while you were here. We hope you liked your visit to Jersey and that you stay with us again soon. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My dad paid over £4400 for a week 3 adults one child half board and for what he paid it wasnt worth it, dont get me wrong the hotel rooms etc were nice but theres not enough hanging and storage space for a a family of 3! Dinner time on the first night was a laugh no one really knows what there doing, we told them we were on half board but still kept bringing the paid for menu night after night. Dinner took average 1 hour 45 mins to be done with which then left us hardly no time to do anything after as it was too late to da anything with a 7 year old! Another dissapointment was the pool was closed and had been for a while and we chosse this hotel again so the girl could use the pool with us all, no sauna no nothing, we could use the public pool which we did once but it was dirty and not convieniant. Jersey is nice but wouldnt go back to this hotel as it was un organised at meal times and no one really knew what was going off! Oh and on check out they tried to charge me £21.95 x 3 for meals LOL. Crazy

Room Tip: we paid extra for sea view as the other view is the car park/ waste ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JERZR, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Hi Rachel, thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, this always helps us see where we need to focus our attentions to improve service. I’m sorry that you didn’t feel your stay was value for money and we will address those areas especially with the Brasserie remembering which package you have as these are all simple but important things. Apologies also for the pool being closed due to a recent leak, we hope that the slide section at Aquasplash across the road will provide a good alternative for families in the short term and sorry that you didn’t find it that way. However, I’m pleased you still enjoyed Jersey and hope you had chance to enjoy what the island had to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed here on business and was upgraded to a business room, nice room, good views (ask for a sea view).

Word of warning if you are arriving late, the local places to eat limited, a pub and a KFC which stop serving food at 10, the town center may have others but its a good 15min walk.

Had breakfast very early which was excellent. Only quibble was that the boiled eggs didnt come out untill i had nearly finished.

Overall a good place to stay, and booze is reasonably pricednon the island.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JERZR, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Hi pdm66, Thanks for your review. Glad to see that you had a comfortable stay with us while here on business. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

What a great holiday. The Hotel and its location are first class. Breakfast was good, enhanced by the view of the marina. Our room was a good size and included everything you could imagine, Fridge etc. The bed was very comfortable and very very big. I thought the bar prices were reasonable for a hotel. We had dinner one night in the restaurant and it was very nice, Although the menu choices were limited (we both thought we would run out of things to try if we were half board). For the other evenings we tried different restaurants in St Hellier. There is ample free parking which is a bonus on Jersey. The pool was closed because of a leak, but we were offered free entry to the Aquasplash a stones throw away. The only thing the rooms lack are balconies. Would we return - Yes, definitely

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheffieldRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JERZR, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Hi Robert, thanks for your great review. Nice to hear that you enjoyed the food in the restaurant here and also got to try some of the local places to eat too! It will be great to welcome you back soon and on your next visit you will be able to enjoy the pool and gym facilities too! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 30 in St Helier
2,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 30 in St Helier
1,760 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 30 in St Helier
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 30 in St Helier
2,094 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 30 in St Helier
1,283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 30 in St Helier
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey

Address: Rue de l'Etau, St Helier JE2 3WF (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Helier
#2 Business Hotel in St Helier
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#4 Spa Hotel in St Helier
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Helier
#7 Family Hotel in St Helier
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £94 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish captivating views at this waterfront hotel in Jersey. Explore unspoilt beaches, magnificent cliffs and picturesque landscapes from this attractive Channel Islands locale. Located directly on the bustling waterfront promenade, this hotel offers Jersey visitors premium accommodation. Enjoy amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet as well as the convenience of an in-house health club. Savour a meal alfresco at the Waterfront Restaurant and Terrace, and take advantage of easy access to nearby attractions like Elizabeth Castle. To top it off, this venue's five fully equipped meeting rooms make it the perfect place for mixing business with pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey Hotel St. Helier
St Helier Radisson
Radisson St. Helier
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing