We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect retreat”
Review of Chateau La Chaire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau La Chaire
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St Martin
Certificate of Excellence
Avon
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“perfect retreat”
Reviewed 20 March 2009

This hotel is situated on a quieter side of the island and is set in beautiful surroundings. It's close to the sea and there are several restaurants that are close by that are fantastic. We loved the outside seating area and the complimentary afternoon tea was very welcome! Loved the bar lounge area and the barman at the time made some amazing cocktails. The room was lovely and we had a jacuzzi bath. Would recommend having a car in Jersey because there are some really lovely beaches etc you'd miss without it.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaAvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    81
    27
    14
    8
See reviews for
31
297
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kelly_annec
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

I stayed at this fabulous hotel last week as a birthday surprise for my boyfriend. Everything was perfect.

We had complementary drinks on arrival to the hotel as we checked in. Staff were very efficient and helpful from the start, they worked hard and always with a smile.

The room was very clean and comfortable with excellect touches such as fresh fruit, mineral water, refreshments, jacuzzi bath and a night time turn down service.

The food was top class, the menu varied each day. the wines on offer were lovely and reasonably priced.

Canapes were served in the bar or lounge area as you picked your choice form the menu at you leisure. After your meal you are served coffee in the lounge area with 'petit fours'.

The surroundings are so relaxing and you cant help but wind down.

We loved Chateau La Chaire, and we will be back as soon as possible......Thankyou.

  • Liked — The special touches and the food
  • Disliked — The fact that we had to leave again......
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kelly_annec28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoeburyness
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We have been to Chateau La Chaire on about 8 occasions over the last 20 years. When we started our visits the Hotel was perfect in every way.
Our most recent visit left quite a lot to be desired, and standards have, in our opinion, definitely deteriorated. The Staff is still friendly and efficient, the food quite good but not as good as before. The decor in many places has been allowed to deteriorate
However, the Hotel appears to suffer from management problems.
One thing which we have always noticed on our return is that the Receptionist who greets us is usually different from any we have seen before. Nevertheless, we would surely expect her to know that we are return visitors. On every occasion we have to point out that we have been to the Hotel on many occasions. These days it must be so easy on Hotel Computers systems, to note that guests are returning for another visit.
When I pointed this out to the Manager in recent correspondence, he said that a system was in place, but that he could not guarantee the efficency of his staff members!

We had another major criticism of the Manager. We had an unfortunate experience at the car Hire Office when we picked up the Hire car which had been booked by the Hotel for us, and was included in the Hotel package which we had purchased. An extra
day's car hire and insurance had to be paid by us before the car would be released to us, because our return flight to the mainland was a couple of hours over the four days which was the duration of our package. The flights had all been booked by the Hotel for us, and they had not told us that there would be an extra day's charge.

I mentioned these facts to the Receptionist on our arrival, who said that she speak to the Manager on our behalf, to see if the Hotel could help with the extra charge, which was £22.50, or at least give us a bottle of House Wine (which probably would have cost the Hotel about £5, given the obviously very large mark up on all of their wines.)
During the whole of our stay we heard nothing from the Manager - in fact we rarely saw him.
On the day we were due to leave we again mentioned this to the receptionist, a different one this time, who had heard nothing about the matter. She offered to refund the car hire charge, but said that she would speak to the Manager to see if he would sanction the return of the whole charge for the extra day's car hire.
Later we returned to pay the bill, and she told us that the Manager had said he could do nothing at all, and had vetoed her prelimary suugestion for a part refund. He had not come to see us to explain this decision, although he was in the Hotel, inside his Office with the door shut, but left it to her to tell us his decision.
I wrote to the Manager complaining about this, and he sent back letters which were very condescending, and again blamed his staff for any shortcomings for which the Hotel was criticised. He still did not address our simple request about the car hire.
I told him that we have always enjoyed Chateau La Chaire, but would return only when he is no longer Manager.
I beleive that the perceived deterioration in many aspects of the once excellent Hotel are due to unfortunately weak management.
Ironically, and even more cynically, although I had made it clear that we would not return to the Hotel while he was still Manager. he said that if we did return he would give us an advantageous up-grade! We won't be changing our mind!

  • Disliked — Very small room
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chorus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaChaire, General Manager at Chateau La Chaire, responded to this review, 8 January 2009
Over 60% of visitors to the hotel have stayed at Chateau La Chaire at least once before and many clients are recognised as repeat customers. Whilst we always endeavour to recognise as many as possible, sometimes we may miss clients who last stayed a few years previously. It was highlighted that the receptionst on the day of arrival was not employed at the last visit.

In this case it is unfortunate that the client had selected a discounted four night travel inclusive package and the flights they had selected overran the times allowed for the four day inclusive car hire. Since the times of travel were selected by the client, any additional costs incurred should be the responsibility of the client.

We had spoken on several occasions during the stay however the subject of car hire never arose at any time except on departure. At this time a telephone interview was being conducted leaving me unable to speak directly, however the client also did not request to see me to discuss.

Customer service is of paramount importance at Chateau La Chaire and is the basis of our red star rating. All staff are constantly striving to offer the best possible service and it is therefore unfortunate we were unable to agree in this case.

Correspondance was entered into with the client and preferential rates were offered on a future visit as opposed to an upgrade as stated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2008

The resturant is located within the Chateau la Chaire Hotel, in Rozel Bay, Jersey.

The drawing room is a lovely period style, with ornate decorative work on the ceiling and walls. Drinks are served here prior to, or after a meal.

Restaurant food is of good quality and the service was very good.

The only negative point I found was what appeared to be residue of sick on the carpet in the gents toilet, which was a shame as attention to detail appears to be applied in all other areas. Perhaps this is recent and they have a new carpet on order?

I would certainly visit again.

Helpful?
1 Thank HotelGuestVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
674 reviews
257 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 674 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

We have just returned after an overnight stay and I must say that it was an absolute delight. We live only a few miles from the hotel but fancied an indulged break and it was just that. The hotel has created that wonderful country house feel (it is 160 years old) and the food, service and ambiance were spot on. We started with a light lunch on the terrace in the peaceful gardens next to the fountain and then strolled around charming Rozel Harbour. We booked a superior room and it was very spacious, with a very large and modern bathroom. It was tastefully furnished and was complete with a four poster bed. The gurgling stream just outside the hotel was serenity and the peace and charm of the surrounding area is typical Jersey. Dinner in the oak panelled restaurant, included in our rate was first class with fresh sea food, a good bottle of wine and attentive service. Breakfast in the morning was equally good and there is a wide range of choices which are cooked specially for you rather than the pre prepared buffet breakfasts that many hotels have as standard. Chateau La Chaire is more suited to couples than young families but it is hard to beat if you want a quality experience in a beautiful setting. To ensure you have access to the whole island a car is essential else you are locked in to the infrequent bus times. All in all, highly recommended and we await our next visit in hopefully the not too distant future. Well done to the whole staff for ensuring we had a great experience once again.

  • Liked — Country House peace and tranquility
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2008

I wanted to get away with my girlfriend for a night somewhere different but still within easy reach of London. We are both in our late 20's. The flight to Jersey was only half an hour from Gatwick so it was perfect.

I booked Chateux le Chaire online and must say I wasn't dissapointed. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the staff were really friendly. The rooms were clean with tea and coffee making facilities. We only booked a small double but it was more than ample in size. When you book B&B you get afternoon tea with scones, clotted cream and jam included. Breakfast too was nice and oddly for a hotel, most of the guests ended up chatting. The hotel has a real feeling of traditional England and friendliness.

I would advise anyone to book a small car for the duration of their stay. The roads are quite narrow and you won't need anything too big. We stayed for 2 nights and our total bill for fuel and car hire was less than £50. A taxi from the airport both ways would have been more!!!! It also helped to explore the island which was absolutely lovely.

If you're looking for a relaxing, romantic and quiet break I can recommend this hotel to you without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2008

My fiance and I stayed at Chateau la Chaire in May 2005 and it was absolutely fantastic - amazing room, food and service, a particular favourite for my fiance were the crab claws with lemon maionnaise although I am not sure they are still on the menu!

We went back in November 2007 and have to say that it was not as good as last time and am now not sure we'd go back again. This time I was taking my fiance as a surprise and so had booked their most expensive suite which was a bit of a let down. Also, the service was not as attentive this time around.

Still a beautiful location and they could really get back to the previous standards if they trained their staff a little better and spent some money on re-decorating as think the hotel is now looking a little tired.

Food was as good as ever though and would definitely recommend this for dinner

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martin
3.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,903 reviews
3.8 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
819 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
750 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#2 of 16 in St Brelade
985 reviews
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau La Chaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau La Chaire

Property: Chateau La Chaire
Address: La Vallee de Rozel, St Martin JE3 6AJ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau La Chaire 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in the 1800’s as a gracious private home, nestled against the cliffs of the wonderful wooded valley of Rozel, the Chateau La Chaire Hotel is now recognised by the major guides as one of the finest small luxury hotels in the British Isles.The hotel offers a range of stylish accommodation, including a spectacular split level suite and many rooms with feature beds such as four posters, private balconies and ensuite spa bathrooms. Luxury Elemis toiletries and soft towelling robes are provided in all rooms together with a host of other extras you would only find in a first class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau La Chaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau La Chaire Hotel St. Martin
Chateau La Chaire St Helier
Chateau La Chaire Jersey/St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing