We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best holiday yet!”
Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St Martin
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best holiday yet!”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at The Moorings Hotel for a week in late July and were so impressed by all facets of the hotel. The rooms were clean and tidy- get a balcony with a view of the harbour if you can!
The staff both on reception and in the restuarant were always friendly,professional and attentive at all times.The cleaning staff too were friendly and efficient, even rescuing my wife's sweeteners from the downstairs powder room (don't ask!) on one occasion.
The food was top quality and always freshly prepared. Which meant it was an experience( a pleasant one) to dine there every night. If you're the sort of person who wants to be in and out in 20 minutes the restaurant isn't for you but for us it was a wonderful opportunity to enjoy excellent food in pleasant surroundings and to rediscover the art of conversation.
A big thank you to all the staff for helping to make our holiday so enjoyable.

Room Tip: A view of the harbour with balcony access is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    28
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
28
58
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Haven't stayed in the hotel, but used their Pier Bistro for lunch. At first sight it's clean and comfy, if a little characterless, but it quickly proved to be an understated gem. The welcome is warm, the menu should cater for just about everyone, and the food is to die for, and such generous portions. The speed at which the room filled is testament to it's popularity, and deservedly so. Last but by no means least, great service.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We have just enjoyed a week’s stay at the Moorings Hotel as part of a birthday celebration. It was wonderful. The staff are helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is absolutely spotless, a big plus in my mind. We ate in the main restaurant and in the bistro and cannot recommend the food highly enough. A most enjoyable week.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2sarkees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed three nights at the Moorings hotel in June. We found the staff very accommodating and polite. The location (double, sea view room) was amazing and a complimentary upgrade was very welcome. It was just a shame the weather wasn't a little warmer for us to enjoy the opportunity to have a drink or two and watch the world go by on the balcony. In conclusion, the food, hotel, location and staff were excellent. The only sad comment I have about our stay was the Dolphin hotel/pub up the road which was very noisy. Whilst the music stopped around 11.00 pm, its just a shame the party goers were not considerate of the noise level and the impact it has on local residents/holiday-makers. Breakfast was fantastic, as was the food in the bistro. I would recommend this hotel and stay again.

Room Tip: Room - double sea view is worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam007Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I haven't stayed at the Moorings - but recently ate in their restaurant. The set menu (of 5 courses) is only £21. An absolute bargain. The choice is very good and the quality very high. This isn't pub food nor is it fine dining - possibly somewhere inbetween. I had a delicious pate starter followed by a ver suculent steak and perfectly cooked pear tart. I would challenge anyone to come to Jersey & find better value than this. the staff are very friendly and the pace of the serving of the courses is excellent. Areas to improve - the carpet has certainly seen better days and was a bit annoyed that the bottle of wine I had ordered was controlled by the wine waiter. So had to wait until he noticed that my glass was empty until it could be filled again - very strange and unnecessary practice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Reading posts before booking a hotel leaves me little opportunity to post critical reviews myself. There's no dilemma with The Moorings though as praise is the keyword of this particular missive. The first impression is the location on the leisurely quayside of the lovely village of Gorey. It's really beautiful, and sea view rooms had us appreciating it to the full from morning to night. We had a single and a large double, each very well appointed and comfortable with thoughtful touches thrown in. A lounge, intimate bar and the choice of a tastefully furnished dining room, a bistro or outside terrace all epitomise the orientation towards all enjoying the experience. The food is just superb. I'm going to try to review the restaurant separately as it really does merit it. Suffice to say here that breakfasts feature both a comprehensive choice and quality ingredients, so well prepared and presented. And the people? Warm, friendly, efficient and really looking after guests without exception. Joanne and her international team provide the best of hospitality across the board and the individual approach to guests of various age groups is quietly in evidence. In summay, a fabulous place, in a fabulous location in a village with enough going on and on the beautiful island of Jersey with its manifold attractions. What's not to like? Highly recommended. May see you there.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have a fabulous outlook. Room 14 on the top floor is very spacious. There is no lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBashBashKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights at The Moorings, eating there on the Saturday evening. We would have had something to eat on the Sunday as well but had been out for the day and no food was being served by the time we got back. As this was around 21:00 I think the inability to rustle up so much as a sandwich is fairly poor in a hotel as expensive as this. Other quibbles include no offer to help with our bags despite having to climb several flights of stairs and, inexplicably, one pair of slippers in the bedroom. The welcome at reception was also fairly lukewarm. On the plus side the food was good although I didn't think the breakfast lived up to its reputation. Our room had a great view although our enjoyment of it was marred by the very loud and very awful karaoke from a nearby bar. Quiet and peaceful it wasn't. All in all a reasonable experience but not one I will look to repeat or recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martin
0.0 mi away
Chateau La Chaire
Chateau La Chaire
#1 of 5 in St Martin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#2 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grouville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Property: The Moorings Hotel
Address: Gorey Pier, St Martin JE3 6EW
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Martin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moorings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Jersey/St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing