We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Breakfast Ever!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St Martin
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Breakfast Ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Lovely friendly hotel! I have never experienced a breakfast quite like it, fantastic quality, so many options. I have stayed in many hotels over the past 20 years and this has to be by far best breakfast. Oh by the way the bed was very comfortable too!

Room Tip: Harbour view reccomended, its not that much extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    27
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
58
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

What's not to like about this hotel? It's facing the sea and makes the most of it with rooms that have huge windows for watching the tide coming and going and the seagulls swirling. Right above it is one of the oldest and most interesting castles you can find in Great Britain. Plus the restaurant's food is very good, although a little formal by American standards.
Also, if you want nightlife and shopping, you might be better off at a hotel in St. Helier. Gorey is a small village and closes up early with the exception of one pub that's pretty loud on weekends.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the remodeled rooms on the second floor, Room 15 and 16 face the pier and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Just had four lovely days in Jersey, staying at the Moorings Hotel in Gorey.
It's position on Gorey Pier is great, you can sit outside and watch the world go by or watch the comings and goings in the harbour. The food at breakfast, and dinner in the Bistro was very good but what makes it special is the staff - all very friendly and helpful. We had two single rooms, both perfectly adequate but one significantly nicer than the other,only let down by the view from both which was pretty uninspiring. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loobyloo113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Stayed here last october to go visit my nephews and wasnt really expecting much. was shocked when we checked in, the place is full of character and so quirky. our room was amazing......seaview and little added touches like a rubber ducky in the bathroom and teddy (whos name is vanilla). its location in gorey harbour is so pretty and picturesque :). plus its only down the road from my family, i love it there. The staff are all so happy, friendly & helpful. as for the food......OH MY GOD, its excellent at its best! the scrambled egg is to die for and the evening meals were gorgeous. heading back this weekend, and cant wait to see my bother and nephews (and have some scrambled egg)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mon_Jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Pay a visit to the hotel which is situated on Gorey Pier and enjoy a reasonably priced set menu and experience generous portions of delicious food,
The staff are always very welcoming, pleasant and efficient.
Don't miss out on the coffee and petit-fours which are a lovely way to finish off your meal (£1.75 supp)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thejerseyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Channel Islands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Truly the best Sunday Lunch on the Island. Beautifully presented delicious food on Gorey Pier with an amazing view, a log fire & delightful hosts, what more could one ask for? The whole family had a lovely time, If you have not eaten at The Moorings do try it you will be pleasantly surprised.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

I'm just back from a wonderful visit to The Moorings Hotel in Gorey Harbour on the beautiful island of Jersey and What A Marvellous visit it was. This was my second time in this really fantastic hotel and i will return again. Everything you need in a hotel is here - Excellent Staff who really care, Beautifully decorated bedrooms with gorgeous Teddy Bears sitting on the bed among trendy cushions - mine was called Clove - this is really quirky and fun. The Bathrooms are modern and large with good toiletries. Breakfast is cooked to order and they have the best Poached eggs and Fried bread i have ever eaten - in fact The FOOD in the hotel is exceptionally good and the restaurant is always full because of its great value. When i was there 11th to 14th jan the hotel was full of local people staying over - this is a great indicator of how good the Moorings is. All the staff knew me when i arrived and i felt so welcome. If you are looking for , Fabulous Food, A Great Nights Sleep, Exceptional Caring Staff and a Hotel you can relax in then visit The Moorings - A TRULY MAGICAL EXPERIENCE

Room Tip: the seaview rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JeanDublin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martin
0.0 mi away
Chateau La Chaire
Chateau La Chaire
#1 of 5 in St Martin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grouville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Property: The Moorings Hotel
Address: Gorey Pier, St Martin JE3 6EW
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Martin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moorings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Jersey/St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing