We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent reputation - Restaurant visited and not hotel (but it is)”
Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St Martin
Certificate of Excellence
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent reputation - Restaurant visited and not hotel (but it is)”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I have reported on the Tennerfest series of menus and meals in the Channel Islands in other reviews and we ate at this hotel recently. The 3 course meal was excellent with good and friendly service from the owners and her staff. We met friends there who eat there weekly. As it is Tennerfest the cost was just £20.

Room Tip: Although this is listed as an hotel, which it is, the dining facilities are open to all and should n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wonkypin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    31
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
29
60
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

six of us stayed at the Moorings last Friday for a overnight break and dinner in conjunction the Jersey Tennerfest , fantastic value , brillant food and a great atmosphere with a very warm welcome from the Walkers who run the Moorings , could not fault any of it . Keep up the good work

Room Tip: dont just go for meal stay overnight its great value and you wont have to give any money to the lice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reggio1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I read the reviews of this hotel prior to going to Jersey for the Leicester Tigers fixture, and I would like to add my views to the others on Tripadvisor.
We stayed for three days in a room overlooking the Harbour, it was a little bit warm one evening, but the bed was comfortable and we slept well.
As previously said on these reviews Gorey is not a busy place and if you want shiny hotels and nightlife you probably need to stay in St Hellier, however I found it quite charming and very relaxing during my stay, and the wife enjoyed it too!
I found the staff to be very helpful and always polite, they went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable experience (Take a bow Szabi and all the staff)
We had breakfast here and it was hot and well cooked , there was also quite a lot of it, they are also using locally sourced produce which is a bonus.
We had one evening meal this was fajitas and it was excellent!! we ate outside with a very nice bottle of wine to accompany it was reasonably priced and once again the staff went out of their way to accommodate our requirements.
The Hotel is an old renovated building and so expect it to be a little noisy at times, the cleaners are prompt and appear to be clog dancing around 0930 just outside in the corridor, which, if you are a light sleeper may cause problems, but difficult to see how it could be any different.
Overall we both enjoyed our stay at the Moorings and will hopefully go again next year.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are very pleasant during summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeicesterTigerTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

What a real shame to experience such a disappointing stay in the beautiful location right on the edge of Gorey Harbour. The bedroom, whilst clean, was reminiscent of an outdated 1970/1980's B&B: peach tiled bathroom suite; tiniest of room space outside of the bedstead; a Corby trouser-press and with the exception of the hotel receptionist, the staff appeared discontent and lacking in any sparkle or enthusiasm whatsoever.

For a hotel known to serve lovely breakfasts, our breakfast room experience was not reflective of such a reputation and although our room rate was inclusive of breakfast, we elected to eat elsewhere after the first morning.

I am certain The Moorings has great potential, it is just such a shame to see it go to waste.

Room Tip: Ensure you book an updated room with a sea view and consider a room only basis: there are some fanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank From-Where-I-Stand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Not stayed here, but had lunch outside overlooking the harbour
We all had mussels in various sauces. I went for the curry sauce and a pint of ale.
Sounds funny, but really lush and madras strength curry sauce. Different, but tasty
great food, great position.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottmaxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at The Moorings Hotel. Very friendly reception, lovely sea view room overlooking the harbour, all clean and very well presented. Never experienced a breakfast like it. Would certainly stay again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Lovely friendly hotel! I have never experienced a breakfast quite like it, fantastic quality, so many options. I have stayed in many hotels over the past 20 years and this has to be by far best breakfast. Oh by the way the bed was very comfortable too!

Room Tip: Harbour view reccomended, its not that much extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martin
0.0 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grouville
452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,902 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau La Chaire
Chateau La Chaire
#1 of 5 in St Martin
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seascale Hotel
Seascale Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Martin
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
737 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#11 of 32 in St Helier
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Property: The Moorings Hotel
Address: Gorey Pier, St Martin JE3 6EW
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Martin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moorings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Jersey/St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing