We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jersey Accommodation and Activity Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Seascale Hotel(St Martin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beausite Hotel(Grouville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Longueville Manor(StSaviour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talana Hotel(StSaviour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de France(St Helier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
28
15
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
15
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgorey harbourlarge buildingroom was cleantwin rooman evening mealst helierhostelcoasteeringbunkcerealsaunaislandjerseylounge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Attending a wedding in St. Helier, two others and I shared a room at the JAAC and couldn't be happier. Our room contained a double and a single bed, and, although we did not have an en-suite bathroom, it was just down the corridor and we never saw anyone else use it. The venue was very accommodating to us and other members of the wedding party, and we had a good breakfast on the three mornings we were resident.

Room Tip: Ask for an en-suite room for extra privacy.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

As part of a stag weekend, we decided to stay at the JAAC near Gorey, and had an absolute blast. We found the accommodation to be exactly what we expected and exactly what we needed, and the service we received from the staff, John and Tula was first class, making us feel very welcome. The activities we took part in – Coasteering and Abseiling – were well organised and expertly delivered. Every member of our party would happily recommend this, and a number of us are already planning a longer return trip in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in hostel-style bunk rooms, but these were excellent and exactly what we needed on our stag weekend.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abitgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2007

Eleven of us stayed here for four nights B&B in August 2007. The blokes stayed in room 99 which overlooked the bay -beautiful views! Bunk beds as you'd expect - but a lovely room with en suite separate shower, toilet and sink.

The hostel overall is above average. Very clean. Spacious. Recently renovated to good standard. The buffet style breakfast was good quality and eat as much as you like (cereal, fresh orange, apple, fruit, cheese, toast, beans, hash brown, bacon, croissant, chocolate croissant, tea coffee hot chocolate). We had evening meal on three nights again good wholesome food -good portions and good value. We had our final evening meal at the restaurant part way up the hill on the way up from Gorey - Castle Green Gastropub - highly recommended for home prepared good quality food. They do some unusual dishes as well as some excellent value basics such as burger and fish and chips.

One thing that made our stay so pleasurable was the hostel staff - every one went 'the extra mile' to be pleasant, polite and helpful - it makes such a difference :o). The hostel has a TV lounge (a bit small given the size of the hostel), a games room with table tennis and pool, a kitchen for self catering, a dining room, and a conference style room. The only thing missing was a common room or TV free lounge for chatting, reading relaxing. There are extensive grounds surrounding the hostel - some used by those who prefer to camp.

The hostel is situated up the steep hill from Gorey Pier - about a 10-15min walk. You can get the No. 1 bus from St Helier or the Green Explorer bus. The bus service across the Island is excellent and very reliable. They do an unlimited 5 day pass for £22.

The hostel is on the east side of the island. Gorey Pier and castle are worth a visit so are the bays around the island. We especially like Plemont Bay and the coastal paths to other bays east and west -highly recommended -but on the north west of the island.

You can hire bikes at the hostel.

Remember though - this is a youth hostel you are staying in - not a hotel or B&B

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank themilkybarkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights in March with my 7 year old daughter. Weather was pretty grim but the youth hostel was lovely and warm. There is a TV lounge with videos and books, a games room with pool, table tennis and some board games. There was a self-catering kitchen and a restaurant where they have lovely coffees, hot chocolates and tea for 50p a cup, free at mealtimes.

The breakfasts are exceptional with warm croissants, chocolate croissants, warm rolls, cereals, jams, cheeses, meats, fruit etc.
The evening meals had not started fully, there was one the first evening as they had a group of people staying but not the second night. They had emailed before I got there to say that evening meals didn't start until the 1st April really. Breakfast is included in the price.

The room where we stayed was an ensuite and was BIG. Bunk bed with a double bed underneath the upper single and then another single bed, the bathroom was large as well.

The hostel is situated on the top of Gorey with lovely views. Bit of a hike down to Gorey, but lovely scenery on the way.
Will probably visit again at a warmer time of year.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sylvia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews