We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude owner!”
Review of Jersey Pistol Club - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jersey Pistol Club
Attraction details
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very rude owner!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner visited jersey for a week and on the Thursday we emailed asking when they where open so we could come and have a try, they replied saying to come down on Saturday or Sunday, we went on Saturday to be told that it was closed due to a competition and after telling him that he said to come on Saturday he said "well yes but it does day that we are closed on our website" and then said that we could go tomorrow as long as we got there before half past ten! So the next day we go up and got there for about 10.15 to be told we should have got there earlier and he has too many people and we can't do it in a very rude manner and just walked off disregarding us. This has put me off even trying to go back as the atmosphere was not good at all! Waste of time and petrol trying to get there!!!

8 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerseyPistolClub, Manager at Jersey Pistol Club, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Laura

It is unfortunate that you were unable to shoot at the club and we apologise that you feel so strongly.

Unfortunately we get very busy during the summer with visitors to Jersey coming to the club to try pistol shooting which cannot be done on the mainland. We always advise visitors to view our website calendar before coming up to the range so that they do not have a wasted journey and to ensure that they arrive well before 10:30 on a Sunday so that we can ensure we have enough spaces for them to shoot - our website says this in many places.

The Jersey Pistol Club is a club managed and run by it's members and is not a business. All range staff, instructors and safety officers are volunteers and the club does not operate for a profit - the man you refer to as the owner was probably our club secretary who, free of charge, drives from his home on the other side of the Island several times a week to run the safety briefings we require all visitors to undertake before being able to shoot.

Often we will have upwards of 10 or 15 visitors at the range ready to undertake that safety briefing before 10:00 in the morning and any subsequent arrivals, as you have found out, are normally turned away as we simply cannot safely handle numbers in excess of that. We do not know how many visitors we will get on any given day and therefore the advice is always to arrive as early as possible. Our range has capacity for 15 simultaneous shooters and that includes regular members as well as first time visitors - we would never expect our paid up members to give up their time to allow a one time visitor to shoot as it is they who fund and manage the club.

In order to accommodate additional shooters would require an additional safety briefing which would mean it is unlikely that those shooters would be on range ready to shoot before midday allowing for the previous group to finish. This would require the 3 or 4 volunteer range officers and instructors to keep the range open beyond the standard opening hours such that those additional shooters can be safely supervised, often that involves 'off duty' range staff being dragged in to help - this is not something we are prepared to ask our range staff to do as they commit a substantial amount of time to the club and shooting in Jersey in general as is.

Our club is open to the public, local and visitors, because we want to encourage the shooting sports and allow the public to experience something they cannot readily do elsewhere in the British Isles. We do not operate to make money and will never sacrifice safety or the goodwill of our qualified safety officers and instructors to allow visitors to shoot, particularly if they are never likely to become club members.

It is a shame that you and your partner have felt the need to leave two individual reviews for a what in effect is a single visit, that we seem a little unfair. We have had many thousands of happy visitors to our club over the 60 years it has been running, we are sorry your visit has not matched up to expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rubbish, rude ”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Went on Saturday for an introduction to the club when got there a tournament was on and the guy we spoke to was really rude and abrupt. He said it was on the internet and you should have looked! And come back tomorrow (Sunday) Before half 10 for an introduction safety briefing. We returned just after 10 and a briefing had already started we waited for it to finish and the guy said you were too late and he hasn't got time to do anything for us and basically fobbed us off even though we said you said get there before half 10 and we were in plenty of time. But got nothing from him. The guy was rude and obnoxious avoid like the plague not helpful or friendly.

6 Thank TBlake1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic - definately worth the vist”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Just visited the pistol club this morning and we had the most fantastic time, my only gripe being we missed this the last time we were here two years ago.

The safety briefing at the start was both informative and interesting and was delivered superbly by John and club cat Magnum. Make sure though that you are in time for the briefing as it is essential.

During the shooting the staff were very pleasant and helpful, and had plenty of time and patience helping with any difficulties which the group may have had.

Definately recommend this as a must do on your list and this will be first stop next time we are over.

Many thanks to John and the staff,

Andy + Mel

Visited July 2014
Thank AndyPNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Club Great Welcome”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I took my Grandson to the club and following the clear and concise safety briefing we were both warmly welcomed. We were loaned pistols and purchased ammunition. The instruction and assitance provided was not just professional but undertken in a friendly and clear manner.

We have both been agian and indeed we intend visitng more.

Visited May 2014
1 Thank StephenR744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The pistol shooting experience was fantastic. We enjoyed ourselves a lot and excellent value for money. The staff were welcoming and were more than happy to provide advice and to share their knowledge with us. If I was a local I'd join this club!

Visited May 2014
2 Thank Aimee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jersey Pistol Club also viewed


Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing