We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”

La Mare Wine Estate
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in St Mary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: La Mare Wine Estate and Distillery is a unique venue situated in the beautiful Jersey countryside. Set in the peaceful grounds of a traditional 18th-century granite farmhouse, this 25-acre working estate is committed to creating the very best wines, ciders and spirits, along with hand-made preserves, fudge, chocolates and Jersey Black Butter. Unique to the island, La Mare is the perfect location to spend the day. Opening hours are 10.00am to 17.00 Monday to Sunday (March to October) or 10.30am to 15.30 Monday to Saturday (November to December).
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Staff were great, shop very reasonable and 10% off if you do the tour. Interesting, nice tasting session. Only problem was the restaurant stopped hot food at 4pm so we missed it. The ponies are the cutest! They don't just do wine but cider, apple brandy, chocolate and fudge! Nom nom

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    173
    76
    34
    24
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Even though it was raining outside, the tour was very interesting. The guide was very informative and explained the methods of our wine, liqueurs and apple brandy production and then offered us a tasting including Jersey Black Butter, luxury chocolates, red, white and rose wines, so we could experience the fruits of their labours!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dave v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“An experience to be repeated!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We visited La Mare Wine Estate on Easter day. We went on a tour of the vineyards, the distillery and the chocolate factory, which was interesting and informative and ended with the tasting of some chocolate, three types of wine and the famous and delicious Jersey cream. The guide was helpful and very nice.

Then we visited the shop, which was much better supplied than the same shops in St Helier and at the airport. Lots of gift ideas and naughty food treats for all tastes!

We also had lunch at the restaurant. Nothing special was on for Easter, but what we did have was excellent. We tried the Island Platter, some pasta dishes, chicken schnitzel, and the most appealing desserts! N.B. the menu is more extensive than the one available online. The atmosphere was also pleasant and very relaxed, and the view over the vineyards superb.

Recommended!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank crispypina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing wine estate with good tour”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Made a point to visit the La Mare wine estate after seeing it list in the 'What to do' section of a Jersey guide.

Definitely glad we took the time to visit and join the short tour around this small estate. Don't confuse this with a wine tasting, whilst you do get to taste some of the estate wines towards the end of the tour it is a tour with tasting and not tasting with a tour.

Very interesting tour, very relaxed and informative.

Stayed for cream tea afterwards which was nice, sitting out on the patio.

Worth a visit and included in the Jersey Pass if you decide to buy one.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SMW977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A fun detour from the historical sites of Jersey”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

La Mare is the only vineyard in Jersey. It is easy to get to on either the # 27 or 28 bus (about 25 minutes and £1.80 each way). La Mare is more than just a vineyard. It has an orchard, makes its own cider, vodka, chocolates, chutney's, jams and various other products; as well as its wines. The main event is the tour. This costs £9.75 for adults (and £4.25 for children). The tour lasts for about an hour. A delightful South African (I think) showed us around. You get a history of the estate, a walk around the vineyards, an explanation of the wine/cider etc. making process, and then the tasting. This part was very generous. The liquor in mini chocolate cups was my highlight. There is a good shop (good for Jersey specific presents) and a well regarded (by the people that I spoke to in our hotel) restaurant. For anyone with an interest in produce and on the island for more than 2 days, this is worth adding to your list.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank StephenIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mare Wine Estate also viewed

 
St Mary, Jersey
 

Been to La Mare Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing