We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of West View Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Mary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Mary
Lot-et-Garonne
Level Contributor
400 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Thoroughly pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

My experience couldn't have been better. Phil, the boss, went out of his way to oblige me and is a highly efficient operator, with excellent well-trained staff. Nice rooms, spotlessly kept. Good food, and moderate prices. Splendid!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    30
    5
    8
    3
See reviews for
22
51
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cotswold
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very nice hotel got upgraded to a superior room the rm was very big and spotlessly clean.The food was great and plenty of it, we were on half board. Bar was very cosy and the staff were excellent, can not understand the bad reviews of this hotel on this site.We will go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank logfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and myself paid our first ever visit to the channel islands and we chose to stay at the Westview hotel,
wow what a choice. We had a disabled friendly bedroom which was ideal for my wife who has mobility problems, the room was spotless and well stocked with tea and coffee, thank you Bianca you were fantastic. All the public areas were immaculate, the dining room was nice and airy and the food was superb and very well cooked. The waiting staff were excellent.

The bar was a real bar and not a plastic hotel bar as is very common in many holiday hotels. Thomas was a great barman as well as a good waiter.

The outside garden and pool area you just don`t expect from a 2 star hotel . Overall it was a great 10 day holiday more 4 star than 2 star.

Finally there is Phil what a great guy and an excellent manager. Lets just hope that the owner doesn`t decide to close the Westview to build on the grounds at the end of the summer, it would be a crying shame if it did happen. Hope to meet you again Phil.




,

Room Tip: If you want a disabled friendly room, book early as there is just the one. Although there was no in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikePlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from a weeks holiday at this hotel, our second visit. Hotel spotless and food excellent value . The rooms are a bit dated but very comfortable. Phil and all the staff very helpful and the service was faultless. Would definitely recommend this hotel for quiet comfort

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I have been to this hotel year after year and I love coming back. The rooms are tidy,clean and comfortable - more than you would imagine for a 2 star. The food is fantastic and very good value. Nothing is too much trouble for Phil and his staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Jersey.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlemisshappy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have recently returned from a holiday with my mother at the West View Hotel. This is my second visit and I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough. The staff, headed by Phil, are very welcoming, pleasant, efficient and couldn't do more for you. The hotel is spotlessly clean and has everything we required and more.The food is excellent and copious and the 5 course evening meal is exceptionally reasonable. The hotel is in a rural location with plenty of parking. We found the location wonderful giving us easy access to most parts of the island without having to "do battle" with the traffic of St Helier every day. We cannot recommend the hotel, staff and location highly enough and hope to return again (once we have lost the weight gained on the last stay!!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosalind C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Short version:- ideal for our short break, centrally located (ish) away from the hustle and bustle of St Helier (that is a joke you know seeing as max speed limit is 40mph!), clean, with reasonable bordering on absolutely fine meals - what we expected really.
Longer version:- Travelled for an Easter break with my wife, the in-laws and brother and sister in-law so 6 of us in 3 rooms which we found to be entirely satisfactory if not a little dated but as this is a privately run hotel, updating everything every year to demanding a 5 star hotel in a 2/3 star environment is not a reasonable expectation and those that complain of such should bear this in mind. This hotel lacks for nothing other than a few extra plug sockets in the room but that is really nit-picking as it doesn't take much to unplug something you are not using. The meal deal for the evening meal is a bargain with 4 courses for £12 (less if you time it right as a guest). The bar could do with a wider selection of beers/lagers but that is me when I go away, I like to get away from the mass produced Carlings of the world and the local brew is more than a sufficient substitute. Finally the staff. All I can say is "what nice people". Nothing was too much trouble and they made everyone feel welcome. Would certainly recommend the Westview Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westhill Country Hotel
Westhill Country Hotel
#12 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Windmills Hotel
Windmills Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
0.0 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in StSaviour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greenhills Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West View Hotel

Property: West View Hotel
Address: La Grande Rue, St Mary JE3 3BD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Mary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Mary
Hotel Class:2 star — West View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
West View Hotel Jersey/St Mary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing