We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of West View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Mary
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We booked into the West View Hotel having never been there before as it was advertising special break deals for that time of the year, we went for a long weekend (thur - sun) in November. We knew where the hotel was as we travel to Jersey every year. On arrival we were up-graded to a superior room at no extra cost as the hotel was closing for the winter after that weekend. The hotel is open all year round, but in 2006 the owners were taking a winter holiday for the first time in years. The room was wonderful, plenty of room and loads of storage space. The bathroom was as big as the one we have at home. It was very warm that november with even the locals and holiday makers in shorts and swimming in the sea. The nights were clear and frosty but we were "snug as a bug" in our room, the temperature was perfect, but could also be altered to suit. Breakfast was good but very quiet, no background music and the staff were not very chatty although very polite and that is the only nit-picking reason why I didnt give 10 for this hotel. There was something going on each night in the bar over the weekend, so there was plenty to see, do and hear. Very enjoyable. The hotel is in the quiet village of St Mary and if you come out of the rear of the hotel, there are some wonderful walks along the green lanes and we never passed anyone. If all the rooms at the hotel were as good as the one we stayed in, then we would reccommed this hotel to anyone, it was wonderful and we would be more than happy to stay there again, especially at that time of the year as the winter deals are really good value.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artictruckgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2007

The hotel was a pure 2 star but was suprisingly better than we had expected and was kept very clean. It was like stepping back into the 70's as the decor is really dated in a way that can be only described as Fawlty Towers.

The food was pretty poor and the dinners were the same variation all week so much so that we couldn't face the food on the last day - but again we don't think the menu had changed since the 70's and by the end of the week we were sick of having the same limited choice of cheap catering food.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere so not recommended if you don't have a car, but staff were very accommadating whenever we required anything.

Our double room was a bit disapointing and was just 2 single beds pushed together that tended to drift apart during the night!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank zebra22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

Having read some of the previous reviews, we were slightly worried. However, our experience of West View was that it is an excellent hotel, with very good value for money. All the staff were most friendly and helpful, particularly those in the dining room. The food was varied and plentiful and if anything was not suitable ie vegetarian, arrangements were made without any fuss. Our rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortable and spacious. We really enjoyed the peace and tranquility of that part of the island and found it very easy to get to other places. There is a good bus route just near the hotel for those without a car but we would recommend that you do have a hire car if possible. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shandy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2006

I read several reviews on this site prior to booking a "superior" room at the West View hotel. Despite what many reviewers had said this hotel is definately only a 2 star.( the repeat visitors, of which there were many during the week we stayed, all appeared to us to be personal friends of the manager) Whilst I agree the hotel was spotlessly clean and all the staff were very helpful and friendly the room we had was quite cramped, it was noisy as we appeared to be above the hotel boiler/pump room and over looking a busy road, consequently we were awoken every morning at 7:15 by the noise from both. The decor in the restaurant and bar was dated (artexing, false oak beams and frilly little lampshades on the wall lights), the "full english" breakfast was below average, so much so that we did not eat any other meals at the hotel. Our bathroom was suprisingly large with a very nice large, deep bath and the water was piping hot at all times, however the shower was poor and bigger towels with fabric conditioner added to the wash would not go a miss. Finally there were far to many "information notices" (basically a list of house rules) for our liking. If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable and laid back retreat with that something extra, the West View is not it.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cabramatta66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2006

Though in the less popular north of the island, this was not a problem as the island is so easy to get around by car.

This was certainly a good value option as the room was comparatively cheap, but excellent accommodation with good facilities.

The only downside to our holiday was being scammed by Avis car rental, who make their money back up by charging you for dents that were already on the car. They pretend to be honest by pointing out the existing dents in the car in our case there were 8, but they deliberately miss one, which is picked up when you return and they charge you for it. It's a clear con trick, they make you think that your responsible for £250 worth of damage and then when you get charged £25 you pay because you are relieved.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2006

Excellent hotel, spotlessly clean and well-run. Our room was large and well-furnished. We had half-board and were extremely well-fed. I cannot understand how this hotel is only rated at 2*. It is better than some 3* hotels I have stayed in!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChrissyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Privilégier les chambres donnant côté cour intérieure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank didier440_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to West View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West View Hotel

Address: La Grande Rue, St Mary JE3 3BD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Mary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Mary
Hotel Class:2 star — West View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
West View Hotel Jersey/St Mary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing