We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Greenhills Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St Peter
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

As a family on a self catering holiday on Jersey we decided to have Sunday lunch out today and chose the Greenhills Hotel as it looked nice and was near to our accommodation. We had not realised that we had booked into such a quality establishment. We were greeted so warmly and given great service throughout our meal which was one of the best lunches we had ever had! The Sunday lunch consists of 4 delicious courses followed by a pot of tea or coffee with chocolates served in a delightful lounge area. All this despite the fact we were not staying guests and at such a reasonable price. Thank you so much to all the friendly staff. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing for a special treat!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sueondartmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    75
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
89
352
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were really looking forward to our short break in Jersey for our Wedding Anniversary (the bottle of bubbly supplied was a nice gesture) and had chosen this hotel based on it's reviews - not it's price. Previously had stayed at the Pomme D'Or in St Helier. First the good, we don't think you could fault the service, the food served at breakfast (we didn't stay for dinner) or the overall helpfulness of all of the staff. Everyone we came across was very friendly and accommodating. We'd expected that having booked a garden view room we would have been on the ground floor with direct access to the garden and pool area. However the rooms all appear to be garden rooms as the hotel is set around a courtyard. Now for the 'bad' during our stay. I think we must have been allocated the room referred to by the previous reviewer as it sounds exactly like our room. The room was stifling hot despite the windows being open. A fan was supplied immediately upon asking and this was set at full speed for the whole duration of our stay, day and night. We even had to resort to 'sleep aid' tablets in the hope that when we were able to get to sleep we stayed asleep through the awful knocking of the pipes starting up which seemed to go on for much longer than the previously suggested 15 minutes. The first morning hearing this we did wake with a start and a "what the ..............." ! Couldn't believe how loud. We didn't feel the outside temperature was anything exceptional, not even as hot as we'd left at home but it was certainly unbearable in the room. The room had blackout curtains but as these are on a curtain pole the morning light just frames the window - until we made our own adjustments with our own pool towels. I will add that you don't need your own towels as pool towels are provided. We also had a 'short' shower screen which of course meant water on the floor. We didn't want to have to put towels out to wash every day but when you've used them to mop up you don't have much option. We also had a very annoying issue with an alarm call that no-one seemed able to cancel. After the first morning alarm of course we attempted to cancel it ourselves, and then the next day a porter was to try but still, it rang every morning of our stay despite telling the staff on duty that it was still set when we came down for breakfast. The management knew that we felt the room temperature was unbearable but said there was nothing they could do - the granite walls hold the heat - and as our first floor room was partly in the roof space .............? The room was a decent size, the bed was comfortable and at a cooler time of the year we may have felt able to write a different review. Overall, a lovely hotel, nice location, plenty of parking - regrettably just not a great stay for us this time.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 10. Maybe a ground floor room would be cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TicketPassportMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymourgroup, General Manager at Greenhills Country Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Whilst we are pleased that you generally enjoyed your stay at the Greenhills Country Hotel there are clearly some areas that need our attention. We have instructed our maintenance department to investigate the noisy pipes with immediate effect to see if the problem can be resolved. The weather has been unseasonably hot over the past few weeks and we have invested in some quality fans to help cool some of the rooms down. We are also reviewing the shower screens/curtains to ensure any leaks are abated. The alarm call should as you quite rightly point out have been cancelled by our team immediately. This is quite a straight forward procedure and we will be carrying out additional staff training to make sure this is never repeated. We do hope that you will return to the Greenhills Country Hotel and to Jersey some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I want this to be balanced so bad bits first. We arrived as a family and had booked two garden rooms, both standard. One was a good size and suitable and one was much smaller and not suitable. The hotel was full and the only other room was an upstairs room, this was unbearably hot even with the added use of a fan and the windows open fully. We have stayed in many hot countries but have never experienced such a hot room. At around 4am the pipes start to clang and that goes on for about 15 mins - not our best week. The pool could only be a plunge pool as only two strokes could be done - so if a pool is important to you, perhaps this isn't for you. The pool also needs some TLC ( the concrete around the top is beginning to break away and it looks dirty - but is NOT). At 7ish most mornings the metal chairs were dragged around the tables - please lift them as it is a courtyard.
Now I want to balance this. The hotel is a beautiful looking place. The staff are courteous, efficient and make this a hotel that is regularly re-booked. We spoke to many folk who just wouldn't stay anywhere else. The dining room is immaculate and pleasant and although we booked B&B we ate three times and the meal could not be bettered. My folks stayed in room no 5 and had none of the problems we encountered so I would advise to be savvy re the room choice.
Would I stay again? Yes I would but would ensure early that I had a good-sized ground floor room.

Room Tip: check the rooms prior to booking and ideally a ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days and we were delighted, the hotel is in a wonderful, tranquil setting and surrounded by a large amount of beautifully kept flowers, in pots, urns, baskets and along pathways. it is not a very large hotel which makes it feel as though you are staying in a big country house. The staff are all great, nothing is too much trouble and the food is lovely. I can highly recommend Green hills Country Hotel. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Thank you so much to all the staff for making our wedding and our stay at the Greenhills truly unforgettable. Our wedding reception and ceremony couldn't have been held in a more idyllic location... The gardens were full of flower and well kept and the location truly gives you that rural retreat feel. The staff couldn't have done more to help us and all our guests had huge compliments for the food served. Thank you for making our special day so special!!! We would highly recommend Greenhills Country Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther1185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

All of the staff here work so hard and are very attentive - my husband has a lactose intolerance and the waitress always made sure he had his 'special milk and butter'. The food either breakfast, lunch or dinner was fantastic! The car park was often very busy with people visiting the restaurant especially for afternoon tea! We enjoyed our stay here so much we will definitely visit again. Highly recommended :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was our second short break at this lovely hotel and everything was as good as the previous stay 2 years ago. Rooms are very well furnished, spacious and well-maintained. The gardens are beautiful and peaceful. Food is superb and the staff are exceptional. Service is fautless, All guests are made to feel extremely welcome, nothing is too much trouble. From the moment I phoned to book our stay to the moment we left, advice and help were always readily available and our needs fully catered for. I would not hestitate to recommend Greenhills and the hotel will certainly be my first choice again for any future visit to Jersey.

Room Tip: Garden-facing rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#2 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
4.7 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
3.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenhills Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhills Country Hotel

Property: Greenhills Country Hotel
Address: St. Peter's Valley Le Mont de L'Ecole, St Peter JE3 7EL
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Peter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St Peter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenhills Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Greenhills Country Hotel and Restaurant stands in the heart of Jersey's 'Green Lane' Parish of St Peter. Come and experience the unique atmosphere of a small country house hotel.Each of our bedrooms are traditionally styled, whilst having all the facilities expected of a 4 Star hotel, with a fine reputation for meeting, and surpassing, every guest's needs and expectations. Our aim is to offer a tranquil and relaxed atmosphere in which you can enjoy your stay with us. All bedrooms are en-suite with bath and shower, hair dryer, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee tray, satellite LED TV's with foreign language channels, bathrobes, white duck down duvets, and The White Company toiletries. Full English breakfast is included in the room rates.The award winning AA Rosette Restaurant offers imaginative table d'hôte menus. The Chef selects only the finest quality ingredients including fresh Jersey produce.The resturant is known for attentive and personal service, whether for dinner, lunch, a 'lighter bite' or afternoon tea, served in beautiful tranquil surroundings: on the terrace, surrounded by the beautiful gardens, or in one of the lounges.You can be sure of a great welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenhills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Greenhills Country
Greenhills Country Hotel Jersey/St Peter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing