We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location but the hotel needs a rethink in facilities and attitude” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel De Normandie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel De Normandie
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Perfect location but the hotel needs a rethink in facilities and attitude”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed here fourteen years ago on my first visit to the island. Happily/sadly, it hasn't changed too much.

We always favour the west of the island so a return to the east was desirable. This hotel is perfectly located - easy walking distance to St Helier and right on the beach. It is on the road to the east and has parking. Perfect really.

The hotel has been revamped since our last stay but this is a transition from old-fashioned to basic. But, as the saying goes 'it does exactly what it says on the tin'. It's clean, it has the facilities and an indoor pool. It has free WiFi throughout which is brilliant and the rate charged was very competitive.

The room was IKEA-esque. Functional. The bathroom was okay but no added extras other than a small bar of soap and a plastic cup which was not replaced after its first use. The shower was fine, plenty of hote water, but gushed too fast for the tray to drain it so I stood in water for the duration.

Breakfast was fine - limited but fine. Nothing to disguish it from other hotels in the same bracket. Would have like some other bread alternative to sliced pan. Would also have liked some fruit yoghurt instead of only natural. The sausages, however, were wonderful! The restaurant staff were welcoming and efficient.

I had one drink in the hotel's 'Cocktail Bar' but found the decor and atmosphere too sterile for my liking. I simply wanted to drink and go.

So gripes? The whole hotel could all be a lot more customer friendly. Breakfast ends - even at the weekend - at 9.30 which is earlier than anywhere we usually stay. I asked for a late checkout of two hours and I had to pay - I never have to do this in other hotels on the island for an extra hour or two. So I paid the money and tried to snooze but Housekeeping banged on the door twice to get me to leave. I explained I'd paid. No sooner had I said this than they had Reception ring me - twice. So infuriating and I've never experienced the like - anywhere. Was my word not good enough???

The bedroom walls are like paper so from where the bed was located, I got to hear next door's bathroom habits - in full. In addition, the bathroom fan was left on for two full nights making it almost impossible to sleep. On the second night, I asked Reception to ask the guest in the next room to switch off the fan. Reception, however, rang me twice. Then came to the room, said they couldn't hear any noise and left. And so the fan kept going and I got little to no sleep for TWO nights. I asked for the hotel's assistance and got disbelief instead.

Both with requesting assistance with the fan and booking/paying for the late check-out, I felt I was disbelieved. The mistake for the check-out was on the hotel's side - all this upset and badgering to get me to leave for under two hours is quite simply unacceptable. Whatever happened to 'the customer is always right???'

Would I return? Possibly as the price and location suits but only for a very short stay. More than three days in that room and I'd go gaga.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGMcShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    264
    141
    43
    29
See reviews for
158
241
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The rooms are fine, but l got two single beds together instead of the double bed l booked. Location is ok is you don't mind a 20m walk to town. Breakfast was quite poor ( Continental, if we can call the addition of fruits to a an English breakfast continental! ! ). We came to Jersey in a quite chilly weekend and the room was freezing. It was ok but l would certainly not come back or recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 117LauG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

The bathroom was in serious need of renovation but was clean. The room and hotel excellent for the price and close enough to walk into St Helier. Car park very tight but free. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nenagh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 5 nights and it was lovely, friendly staff and rooms were spotless, cleaned every day, rooms were so big and beds very comfortable, great access to town and right on beach, would stay again and very reasonable price

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kakamaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Went here with friends for the Easter Weekend, friday to monday. Asked for adjacent rooms, got rooms opposite, perfect. Large rooms & bathrooms, which were very clean, Very large beds and comfortable. Breakfast plentiful and very nice staff. Only letdowns, bar closes at 11pm but minatures available 24hrs from reception (which we used!!), pool area very dark but nice for a dip and jaccuzzi. All in all a great weekend, made perfect with good friends :-) A break is what you make it in my opinion......

Room Tip: Views better from front, but noisier from the road,depends what you are after,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazza8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Booked here for a one night business trip with 2 colleagues.Lucky only one night Hotel is in need of updating a bit smelly in the rooms and bedding. Shower took an age to get hot not happy showeringin with the black Mould.

You get what you pay for nearly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PatronSilver_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these StSaviour hotels

Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was a prebooked trip for a gymnastic competition, we stayed there for the same last year. The front desk were amazing- we arrived in the morning far too early to check-in but Adriana found us 2 rooms which we could check straight into. It had been refurbished since last year. Still quite basic but clean, and tidy. Wifi was hit and miss in the rooms, but enough for our needs. Breakfast on each day was excellent. Jose, who I mentioned last year for being a bit grumpy, was lovely this year, as were all the restaurant staff - thank you!! 2 very minor problems, bar service as ever was very slow, 15 minutes when the bar was almost empty, and the housemaid didn't return with towels as promised. But very small points. Ate in the bar one evening- pricy but very nice and big portions. overall it was a lovely stay, and I would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: we were a long way to the stairs, so if you have walking difficulties, explain when booking, and on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near StSaviour
1.3 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#8 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in StSaviour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Normandie

Property: Hotel De Normandie
Address: Havre Des Pas, St Helier, Jersey, StSaviour JE2 7PD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > StSaviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Normandie 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Value 3* Hotel in Jersey Channel Islands! We are a privately owned family run hotel right opposite the Sandy Beach of St Clements and the Havre des Pas sea pool. We are a short walk to the town centre of st Helier.The Hotel de Normandie offers an indoor heated Swimming Pool and Jacuzzi, a games room for the young at heart with table football and a ping-pong table and we have a sun terrace and an outdoor patio. We serve food nightly in the lounge bar and offer free WIFI. We have limited on-site FREE parking and a fantastic full English breakfast to get you ready for your day and all for a great price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hotel De Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Normandie Hotel
De Normandie St Saviour
Hotel De Normandie Jersey, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing