We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliving the 1960s”
Review of Hotel De Normandie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Normandie
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Went back to this hotel which I had stayed in 5 times in the 1960s. A lot had changed, a swimming pool and sauna have been added and the interior completely changed around. The rooms are well equipped with tea/coffee making on demand, tv and bathrooms good but could do with some safety measures for the more mature persons. The restaurant was full of traditional or continental breakfasts and the evening meals were in the lounge bar. The bar staff was very friendly and acquired whatever your tipple is. The weather is very mild in the Channel Islands and even your sat nav or tom tom works there. Lots of interesting places to visit and a wonderful bus service. Car Parking at the hotel is a little difficult but fail to see how they could make it any easier. The do have an overflow car park around the corner but that was always full. Hotel has free access to WiFi for residents.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, front rooms are large and sunny and overlook the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed here fourteen years ago on my first visit to the island. Happily/sadly, it hasn't changed too much.

We always favour the west of the island so a return to the east was desirable. This hotel is perfectly located - easy walking distance to St Helier and right on the beach. It is on the road to the east and has parking. Perfect really.

The hotel has been revamped since our last stay but this is a transition from old-fashioned to basic. But, as the saying goes 'it does exactly what it says on the tin'. It's clean, it has the facilities and an indoor pool. It has free WiFi throughout which is brilliant and the rate charged was very competitive.

The room was IKEA-esque. Functional. The bathroom was okay but no added extras other than a small bar of soap and a plastic cup which was not replaced after its first use. The shower was fine, plenty of hote water, but gushed too fast for the tray to drain it so I stood in water for the duration.

Breakfast was fine - limited but fine. Nothing to disguish it from other hotels in the same bracket. Would have like some other bread alternative to sliced pan. Would also have liked some fruit yoghurt instead of only natural. The sausages, however, were wonderful! The restaurant staff were welcoming and efficient.

I had one drink in the hotel's 'Cocktail Bar' but found the decor and atmosphere too sterile for my liking. I simply wanted to drink and go.

So gripes? The whole hotel could all be a lot more customer friendly. Breakfast ends - even at the weekend - at 9.30 which is earlier than anywhere we usually stay. I asked for a late checkout of two hours and I had to pay - I never have to do this in other hotels on the island for an extra hour or two. So I paid the money and tried to snooze but Housekeeping banged on the door twice to get me to leave. I explained I'd paid. No sooner had I said this than they had Reception ring me - twice. So infuriating and I've never experienced the like - anywhere. Was my word not good enough???

The bedroom walls are like paper so from where the bed was located, I got to hear next door's bathroom habits - in full. In addition, the bathroom fan was left on for two full nights making it almost impossible to sleep. On the second night, I asked Reception to ask the guest in the next room to switch off the fan. Reception, however, rang me twice. Then came to the room, said they couldn't hear any noise and left. And so the fan kept going and I got little to no sleep for TWO nights. I asked for the hotel's assistance and got disbelief instead.

Both with requesting assistance with the fan and booking/paying for the late check-out, I felt I was disbelieved. The mistake for the check-out was on the hotel's side - all this upset and badgering to get me to leave for under two hours is quite simply unacceptable. Whatever happened to 'the customer is always right???'

Would I return? Possibly as the price and location suits but only for a very short stay. More than three days in that room and I'd go gaga.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGMcShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The rooms are fine, but l got two single beds together instead of the double bed l booked. Location is ok is you don't mind a 20m walk to town. Breakfast was quite poor ( Continental, if we can call the addition of fruits to a an English breakfast continental! ! ). We came to Jersey in a quite chilly weekend and the room was freezing. It was ok but l would certainly not come back or recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 117LauG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The bathroom was in serious need of renovation but was clean. The room and hotel excellent for the price and close enough to walk into St Helier. Car park very tight but free. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 5 nights and it was lovely, friendly staff and rooms were spotless, cleaned every day, rooms were so big and beds very comfortable, great access to town and right on beach, would stay again and very reasonable price

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank kakamaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Went here with friends for the Easter Weekend, friday to monday. Asked for adjacent rooms, got rooms opposite, perfect. Large rooms & bathrooms, which were very clean, Very large beds and comfortable. Breakfast plentiful and very nice staff. Only letdowns, bar closes at 11pm but minatures available 24hrs from reception (which we used!!), pool area very dark but nice for a dip and jaccuzzi. All in all a great weekend, made perfect with good friends :-) A break is what you make it in my opinion......

Room Tip: Views better from front, but noisier from the road,depends what you are after,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazza8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Booked here for a one night business trip with 2 colleagues.Lucky only one night Hotel is in need of updating a bit smelly in the rooms and bedding. Shower took an age to get hot not happy showeringin with the black Mould.

You get what you pay for nearly.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank PatronSilver_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near StSaviour
1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.3 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
795 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#9 of 31 in St Helier
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 31 in St Helier
420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#20 of 31 in St Helier
885 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grouville
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Normandie

Address: Havre Des Pas, St Helier, Jersey, StSaviour JE2 7PD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > StSaviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Price Range: £36 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Normandie 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Value 3* Hotel in Jersey Channel Islands! We are a privately owned family run hotel right opposite the Sandy Beach of St Clements and the Havre des Pas sea pool. We are a short walk to the town centre of st Helier.The Hotel de Normandie offers an indoor heated Swimming Pool and Jacuzzi, a games room for the young at heart with table football and a ping-pong table and we have a sun terrace and an outdoor patio. We serve food nightly in the lounge bar and offer free WIFI. We have limited on-site FREE parking and a fantastic full English breakfast to get you ready for your day and all for a great price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Normandie Hotel
De Normandie St Saviour
Hotel De Normandie Jersey, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing