We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short holiday in jersey”
Review of Hotel De Normandie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel De Normandie
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Short holiday in jersey”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is not far from the center of st hellier .there is a bus stop right outside.the hotel is clean double bed a bit small but the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.would stay here again.buses run regulary and the hotel is a good base to see all the atractions.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    300
    164
    53
    32
See reviews for
183
266
50
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Hotel de Normandie for 3 nights in July at the end of a 6-night stay in Jersey (the first 3 nights we stayed in luxury accommodation).
I was aware of the mixed reviews this Hotel had received but location is super and even the negative feedback stated rooms were clean, so as a base from which to explore, I thought we'd take a punt.
On arrival, we found the staff to be very welcoming, pleasant and good fun and during our stay, several members of staff helped us and advised us with various queries we had throughout.
The swimming pool and jacuzzi is very basic, so don't expect a relaxing couple of hours in spa-like facilities but it's perfectly functional and delivers what is promised (though lack of handrails could prove difficult for anyone with mobility difficulties).
Our room was perfectly functional and was indeed clean. The 'double' bed however, was 2 single beds pushed together (not zip-locked) but as I'd read a review to that effect previously, I wasn't too surprised.
Some of the rooms are not very accessible-although there is a lift, it only goes as far as the 2nd floor. We found ourselves on the 3rd floor and our room was along a corridor, up 2 steps, along another corridor and up a few more steps, round the corner and down a couple of steps then along the corridor and up.....I am sure you get the picture.
We would stay here again but would request a more accessible room and we would definitely skip breakfast which was an experience we were only prepared to endure once-it was reminiscent of a 1970's holiday camp of chaos and queues and a long wait ensued for a clean cup to arrive in which to have your morning brew.
There is however, a wonderful gastro-pub across the road, The White Horse, which I would recommend for breakfast. Sea view included.
The walk in to St.Helier is easy and accessible from the hotel and as the beach and the fabulous Dicq Shak is across the road, I think there are worse places to lay your head.
All in all, this hotel is perfectly functional-it doesn't claim to be The Ritz, so no point in being surprised that it's not when you get there!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a good example of a 3star hotel. The room was a good size if maybe a little old fashioned (basin was in the room not in the bathroom) but it was very clean and well presented. All staff were friendly and helpful at all times. A minor problem was fixed very quickly. Breakfast was really good, a large choice of food - hot food was served quickly after order had been taken and on hot plates. You can have bar meals but we didn't so wouldn't be able to comment. There is a small indoor pool which was a real bonus and there is even a sauna. The hotel is situated about 10 minutes walk from town and buses are frequent and there is a nearby bus stop. It is opposite a lovely beach with a refreshment establishment and this was beautiful. Although not a seafront view we could see the sea but as we were on the road it did get a little noisy with cars but fine if windows were closed but nothing that would bother us really. I would happily return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Everywhere newly renovated, well cleaned, good facilities and a great location.

However, the bar has no atmosphere, which is why it is mostly empty.
The bar staff have no charm or knowledge of good hospitality.
Most tables are set for bar meals, with a good bar menu BUT no where does it say food is only available for two and a half hours - between 6pm and 8.30pm. The same times as the restaurant.
At reception, sandwiches and cans are sold, 24/7, BUT without plates or glasses readily offered or available.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fikilela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very helpful staff,lovely room,ideally situated for ten minute walk into st helier, a town which I managed to spend seven hours looking round on my first visit to jersey
Also seconds from the lovely sandy beach.
Room comfortable and clean,breakfast was fine,fruit juice,grapefruit toast full English ,cheese
Etc breakfast tables a little too close to others for my liking
Did not eat in hotel in evening but menu looked reasonable
Parking a little tight,but staff willing to assist with moving vehicles.have to say,I felt for them a bit
On that score,but we managed to park ok on four occasions during the 36 hours we were here
Would return most definitely
We enjoyed our stay very much

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldspot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ek
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Have stayed a few times and found it very nice good location. I visited the Thai resturant on the beach and it was a great meal. Jersey hotels are very expensive but this one usually has a very good rate even at last minute.

Room Tip: Lower floors are fine no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hughesl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Despite booking several months in advance, we were given a room overlooking the kitchens. A rather intense heat was coming out and enough to prevent us from sleeping properly. If you ever go there, you specify that you do not accept room 238. the day after and following several requests we were transferred to a much more decent room.
The place is well located, near the beach.

Room Tip: Anything but the 238
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaston C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these StSaviour hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near StSaviour
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.3 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
752 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#19 of 32 in St Helier
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in StSaviour
1,669 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,945 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Normandie

Property: Hotel De Normandie
Address: Havre Des Pas, St Helier, Jersey, StSaviour JE2 7PD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > StSaviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Normandie 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Value 3* Hotel in Jersey Channel Islands! We are a privately owned family run hotel right opposite the Sandy Beach of St Clements and the Havre des Pas sea pool. We are a short walk to the town centre of st Helier.The Hotel de Normandie offers an indoor heated Swimming Pool and Jacuzzi, a games room for the young at heart with table football and a ping-pong table and we have a sun terrace and an outdoor patio. We serve food nightly in the lounge bar and offer free WIFI. We have limited on-site FREE parking and a fantastic full English breakfast to get you ready for your day and all for a great price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Normandie Hotel
De Normandie St Saviour
Hotel De Normandie Jersey, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing