We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Longueville Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Longueville Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2008

We have just returned from a midweek break at this wonderful hotel. Chose it after reading reviews on tripadvisor. First trip to Jersey and wanted to make it special. Longueville Manor certainly made it that. We were upgraded to a suite on arrival and so spent our few days in spacious luxury-heaven! Although we also looked at one of the rooms that we would have been in and it was wonderful too! All the members of staff we met were freindly, courteous and helpful. The atmosphere was just right and made for the most relaxing holiday we have had in along time. Jersey itself is beautiful and relatively quiet at this time of year which was an added bonus-no problems getting around etc.
If you are looking for that special hotel we would heartily reccommend Longueville Manor. We will certainly use it if when we return to Jersey hopefully next year!

  • Liked — Comfort,relaxed atmosphere,freindly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gr8escapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    73
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
88
533
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2008

My wife and I stayed for a short break from the moment we entered the hotel the staff were friendly and very attentive. Pedro the manager is very welcoming and makes the hotel feel like a comfortable home.

Our room was lovely and one could not fault it. The dining experince is of the highest quality and they even smoke their own salmon which is excellent.

We will return again without doubt

  • Liked — Great food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bassing-jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2008

We had chosen to spend 2 days here to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and had gone to some trouble to bring nice clothes to suit the hotel.

However Air South West had other plans and delayed our flight by six hours (from Bristol!) and also forgot to put all the passengers' luggage on the flight. Longueville provided us with a spare kit without us even having to ask. The room was absolutely delicious. All the little extras you have received in other hotels, were all put together in this one room. Lovely homemade shortbread biscuits and all beautifully presented.

Our evening meal taken in the panelled room of the restaurant was full and this was a Monday night. Our only slight niggle was that the menu seemed to be the same on both nights and as some of the other guests were staying a week, this might gall a little by the end. The breakfast was absolutely superb and we were presented with champage and in the evening a special anniversary sweet. The staff were very friendly ( it was the same staff on duty all the time) and we felt that they were interested in the guests and the hotel.

Our luggage finally turned up the following afternoon, but that was only thanks to British Airways staff. Not a disaster, but we had spent 2 days in the same clothes and it was good to wear items which were befitting to the hotel - finally. The hotel was something special.

  • Liked — The luxurious room with its own patio and chairs outside. All the little extras, candles, fruit, water, biscuits - just all there.
  • Disliked — The back of the hotel didn't feel as up together as the front.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank quizzer43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2007

This is definitely the place to go if you want a luxurious break – I went with my family there from 6th – 13th April 2007. When we first arrived we had our bags carried for us from the car park to our rooms by a porter.

The rooms are lovely, with massive comfy beds, and a tv with dvd player and cd player in room. Our bathroom was massive aswell, and our twin room overlooked the pool in the grounds. The pool is open during the summer months and I think they have a bbq on the edge of the pool.

We found the food to be very nice at the hotel but also very expensive, the breakfast was amazing for the price, with a great choice of cooked English breakfast, yoghurts, cheese, cold ham, croissants, pain au chocolat, fresh fruit, fruit juice, all hot drinks, and even iced coffee.

There was plenty for us to do on Jersey all close by to the hotel, including going to Mont Orgueil Castle which was spectacular with all the tiny lizards running round, the Jersey War Tunnels, which were fascinating to visit and the Durrell Wildlife Park.

We even managed to go to St Malo in France for the day on the ferry, this was an interesting day out and we got to have some real crepes mm.

If anyone wants to ask a question I’ll try to answer them if you send me a message. All in all I would say that the place is ideal for a luxury break to Jersey, highly recommended! Oooh Pedro is very helpful, I’m sure you’ll see him at Breakfast! Have a great time!

  • Liked — Comfort and breakfast!
  • Disliked — Costs
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MexicoPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2007

I always enjoy returning to this hotel and have stayed here on a number of occasions.
This is a Relais & Chateaux propoerty, occupying a house of historical interest. It's smallish - thirty rooms or so, and is situated east of St Helier on the road to Gorey. It's family owned - and the owners are often present on the property.
The house is set back slightly from the main road, entered by a narrow entrance - beware if you have a hire car! To the rear of the house are lovely gardens, the swimming pool and a lake - complete with ducks and black swans. Beyond the lake is the woodland walk and also the old kitchen garden which is of historical interest and worth a walk around. The gardens are beautifully kept and there are plenty of tables, chairs and sunbeds outside in the summer months.

The rooms are beautiful - all exquisitely furnished and all different. Difficult to choose - but I'd opt for the garden facing rooms especially in the summer months. I have some walking probelms, but haven't found access to be a problem and there is a lift. The rooms are of a good size.

Rooms have everything you could want - and they are kept immaculately clean and serviced twice a day. You are welcomed with champagne in the room on arrival, fresh fruit, which is topped up daily, home made shortbread and mineral water. The bathrooms are also of a good size, many with separate shower and bath and complete with scented candles and L'Occitaine toiletries! Decent sized towels as well!

Public areas of the hotel are well appointed - there's a nice bar, and also a drawing room and other sitting areas. It's easy to find somewhere to sit and read quietly if that's what you are after. The log fire in the bar is great in the winter!

The restaurant is lovely and service is something special. Breakfast is plentiful. In the summer there are barbecues outside by the pool. The only comment I would have about the restaurant is that if you are staying for more than three or four days you may want to eat elsewhere as well in the evenings, as the menu can be a bit limited for longer stays. Having said that, they are usually more than willing to vary things for you if you ask.

Reception is very helpful and can arrange all sorts of things! They are polite and couteous and guests are addressed by name.

What makes this hotel special for me is the service - led by the General Manager Pedro Bento. If he isn't already legendary, he ought to be! Whilst the service is exemplary it is discreet, and I am always impressed by how much detail they remember about their regular guests. They have a lot of weddings and events at the hotel in the summer, particularly at weekends - but this shouldn't put people off, as I have never felt that service to the regular guests has suffered as a result.

In summary, I would highly recommend Longueville Manor. Yes - it's expensive, but if you want to treat yourself to a bit of luxury my personal view is that it's hard if not impossible to fault.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Zebedee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2007

The hotel was elegant and had great atmosphere. I was on a business trip and wished that I had more time to enjoy the property. The restaurant was superb and the bar very welcoming. The rooms were elegant and had a plasma TV and a dvd/cd player. I will definitely be going back - but this time for leisure.

  • Liked — Elegant Property
  • Disliked — n.a.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MDM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2007

This hotel is excellent. The level and quality of service matches that found in the largest 5 star hotels but the ambience reflects the smaller, intimate nature of Longuevillle and Jersey. We stayed in the Tower Suite which was lovely - tastefully decorated and very comfortable with direct access to the beautiful garden, pool and beyond that the woodland walk. We ate at the hotel - once room service having arrived late, twice for dinner and breakfast on all 4 days - on all occasions the food was good, some excellent (John Dory was stunningly good). One night we tried the "sister " restaurant - Suma's which was relatively disappointing. I am surprised the hotel emphasises the sister-link since it is quite ordinary in comparison and very cramped; similarly the service ethos falls far below that of the hotel.
At the hotel the staff cannot be faulted - the place is spotless, the gardens beautifully kept, reception efficient and friendly, dining room and kitchen the same and the service provided by Brian from portering, car park, bar tendering etc. was fabulous. The staff seem to enjoy their work and so elevate the hotel to a special level - they bring a lovely canvas to life.
One of the very best places I have stayed. Needless to say, the rooms are expensive but there are no hidden charges and food/drink is reasonably priced for the high standard.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripper099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near StSaviour
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
4.7 mi away
Greenhills Country Hotel
1.3 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longueville Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longueville Manor

Property: Longueville Manor
Address: Longueville Road, StSaviour JE2 7WF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > StSaviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Longueville Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longueville Manor is the Channel Island's most highly acclaimed hotel and restaurant. It is the only AA Five Red Star hotel and the sole member of the exclusive Relais & Châteaux luxury hotel collection. This delightfully refurbished Jersey manor house has 30 beautifully appointed bedrooms and suites. Together with the recent addition of The Cottage Garden, a luxurious boutique spa, the property is now recognised as one of Europe's most celebrated getaway destinations. Guests are offered the warmest of welcomes, a home from home atmosphere from arrival to departure together with superior yet understated service. With an impressive attention to detail, the hotel is a haven of luxury and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Longueville Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longueville Manor St Saviour
Hotel Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor Jersey, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing