We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What distinguishes a Great Hotel from an Outstanding one? A Personal view”
Review of Longueville Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Longueville Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Certificate of Excellence
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
875 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 892 helpful votes
“What distinguishes a Great Hotel from an Outstanding one? A Personal view”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is a great hotel, in its favour are

Location, it's close enough to St Helier to walk in (we did not). It is off the main road, with good car parking.

Surrounds - good gardens, pool and walled kitchen garden, as well plenty of woodlands to walk through.

Service - outstanding, great friendly staff, who are there when you want them and are discrete at other times. The Bar staff are brilliant.

Restaurant - we have separately reviewed this and it is great, in addition you can have "casual" dining, and bar food.

Rooms - ours was very good, with a sitting area, and a DVD player with CD/DVDs in the room. Good storage hanging space and a large bathroom, and separate shower.

We were upgraded on arrival, which is always welcome, but may have been the cause of our view of the differences between great and outstanding. We had flagged with the travel agent that I was extremely allergic to feathers, and this was on the booking between the agent and the tour company. The travel agent also undertook to advise the hotel directly prior to arrival ( we can only assume that they did), but the new room had feather pillows and cushions. The hotel were happy to change this as soon as we asked, exit 4 pillows and 10 cushions!

However this is where we think the difference is - just because we suffer from allergies it does not mean we do not like to sink into a large pillow,which folds around you and provides support. Instead we were given the hotel standard foam pillow, which is really a brick or apiece of 4 by 2 timber in a white cover.

Outstanding hotels have a supply of hypoallergenic pillows which provide the advantages of feathers without the allergic reaction.

As I said this is a strictly personal view and many people would rate the hotel as outstanding, and in many ways this would not be unreasonable.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room facing the gardens - not the road. They will be quieter (although the dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    75
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
92
566
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

No one minds spending a little more if the experience is worthwhile. Longueville does not disappoint in any way.Situated a little way out of St Helier I would agree that a car is essential.Our 'Superior' room came with car included [ which I upgraded with Avis for £9 / day] & 4 nights for 3 including Table D'hote menu.We found no need to venture on to A La Carte or Discovery menu [ £40 credit if you do] as the TD menu was very, very, good.At all times, from arrival until departure staff were attentive, polite,nothing was too much trouble.The room [No 7 Danse de feu]overlooked the pool & gardens and was immaculate with large bathroom with dimable lighting [ there's a first] . The owner, Malcoln Lewis, I observed on many occasions is a detail man who I suspect demands nothing but the best from his staff & he gets it.Would I go again ? without doubt.This hotel , when the name is mentioned around the island raises eyebrows, deservedly so.A credit to its owner and the island of Jersey.Well done & thank you.

Room Tip: Some folks have commented about noise from traffic in rooms overlooking front of hotel.This building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onestal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
210 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The introduction to the hotel is less than auspicious...our car barely fit through the stone-arched front entrance. Fortunately we discovered a rather wider point of access from the top carpark. The hotel itself lives up to its billing as the best in Jersey. We stayed in a ground floor room, with a view across the croquet lawn to the pool. Wonderful, spacious bathroom, and a liberally furnished room, including a large couch in front on the fireplace.
We ate several meals in the formal part of the restaurant, and found the quality of both food and service to be exemplary. Breakfast offers both buffet and a la carte options, and the full breakfast is probably best left for the cooler months, when fuel is required! Meals can also be taken poolside, and the service is no less efficient.
The estate at the back of the hotel is extensive, and a visit to the kitchen garden is not to be missed. No wonder the food is of such a high standard.
The hotel is about a 15 minute drive from the airport, though traffic through St. Helier can be heavy, especially in Summer. It is an ideal base from which to explore the diverse attractions of Jersey.

Room Tip: A ground floor room is probably preferable. Access upstairs with heavy cases could be problematic, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenstOat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Great small hotel with everything you would want from a 5 star hotel. Friendly staff, efficient and not over familiar. Very pleasant grounds with a lovely heated outdoor pool. Bedrooms are not the biggest but are more than adequate for a short stay, 3 nights in our case. 3 different options for evening meals all of which were of a high quality. Breakfast was excellent with a great selection. Would recommend a car as hotel is away from the centre of St Helier. Our first trip to Jersey and did not have time to see everything on offer. Will definitely go again and would not consider staying anywhere other than the Longueville Manor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I went with my partner and in laws to Jersey for the first time this year and stopped at Longueville manor for lunch on the way back to our hotel (the first time). We didn't have a reservation but the staff accommodated us without hesitation. We sat by the pool in the lovely warm weather. I had the most amazing cream tea, with scones that melted in your mouth, beautiful home made jam & rich jersey cream...my partner had the prawn cocktail (not in the traditional sense) which was very tasty. The service was exceptional...which we got to experience for a second time when we booked in for lunch the next day and got to sit in the restaurant- You must try out the cheese board if you go here the choice is excellent, the waiter was very well educated on his cheeses, such a lovely man. So glad to have had the chance to dine here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R21_reed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Booked for lunch last Thursday to avoid the Battle of Flowers and had a great afternoon. On arrival a member of staff offered to park our car, then we were greeted with a glass of pimms. Had a stroll round their kitchen gardens and met the hotel Gardener who gave us a quick tour of what he has been working on. Went in for lunch and had a superb meal Warm beef fillet salad to start with was lovely and then I had Cod for main course, My wife had the Chicken which was lovely. Desserts were perfect too and the Petit Fours perfect end to the meal. Staff all very polite and from someone who used to work at a couple of 4 star hotels on the Island I wish I would have had an opportunity to work here as the whole place was perfect. Great job Longueville Manor. Your Manager should be very proud.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leedsjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We went to longueville manor for dinner for our wedding anniversary after being given a voucher as a present. From the minute you arrive, you are greeted with exceptional politeness and respect, and the experience was of such high quality. We had a drink by the pool and chose from the menus. There are a few options, a £40 set menu, a £60 for 3 courses menu a la carte, or the £80 discovery menu. We chose the discovery menu, which consisted of 7 courses without a choice, but all interesting. For an extra £30 a head you are served wine chosen for each course, so we pushed the boat out and went for this option. You will not be disappointed, every course was a work of art, and was utterly delicious. The wine with each course was fabulous, and the wine waiter knew everything about it. My husband is not keen on lamb, but the main course lamb was incredible....he is now converted! The cheese trolley is out of this world, and the desserts just divine. The courses were crab cocktail, longestine ravioli, halibut, roast lamb, cheese, lemon desserts and strawberry desserts. Following this was a plate of hand made chocolates on a plate, with happy anniversary, written in chocolate! The service was exceptional, I laughed so much when the waiter ran from one end of the restaurant to beat my husband back to his seat, so that he could pull out the chair for him! It was wonderful, a truly memorable evening. Yes, it's quite pricey, but it is worth every penny, and is SO special. We loved it, everything about it, it really was such a treat!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoobyJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near StSaviour
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
969 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
740 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,625 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
755 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longueville Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longueville Manor

Property: Longueville Manor
Address: Longueville Road, StSaviour JE2 7WF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > StSaviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Longueville Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longueville Manor is the Channel Island's most highly acclaimed hotel and restaurant. It is the only AA Five Red Star hotel and the sole member of the exclusive Relais & Châteaux luxury hotel collection. This delightfully refurbished Jersey manor house has 30 beautifully appointed bedrooms and suites. Together with the recent addition of The Cottage Garden, a luxurious boutique spa, the property is now recognised as one of Europe's most celebrated getaway destinations. Guests are offered the warmest of welcomes, a home from home atmosphere from arrival to departure together with superior yet understated service. With an impressive attention to detail, the hotel is a haven of luxury and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Longueville Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longueville Manor St Saviour
Hotel Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor Jersey, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing