We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware”
Review of Longueville Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Longueville Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Be aware”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Have just spent a lovely long weekend at Longueville and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were fantastic and the grounds were lovely to walk round.
We had an evening meal on one of the nights which was first class.
The cheese board was amazing with a selection of at least 40 cheeses!!!
The staff were friendly but for us a bit too fussy at meal times.
One thing to look out for is if you order a bucket of ice for your room you will be charged £5.50 on your bill.Very unfair as we had no idea and its not mentioned in the welcome pack. We had ordered 3 over the course of our stay so very expensive ice-cubes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    75
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
92
566
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

This place is perfect, good food wine and service the staff are attentive without being a hinderance, room service is good and everything is clean and nothing is to much trouble! I would recommend this place to anyone but three nights is enough for me! Try it you will not be disappointed

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked a 6 night stay to celebrate our Ruby Anniversary. The hotel is 5star and the welcome and porter service was excellent, a very good first impression. We had a large quiet room at the back of the hotel, the grounds are lovely and we were entertained by the ducks from the lake and the red squirrels. The first evening we ate in the restaurant, food was excellent and service 1st class, though not cheap at £40 each. We were hoping we could have ate from the tennerfest menu but it was only available at lunchtime, pity that hotel guests couldn't take advantage of this in the evening, we would have ate there every evening if that had been the case. The following morning we were looking forward to the breakfast, what a disappointment, as previous guests have mentioned if you have booked through a package offer you are offered a different breakfast menu to other guests, why? This really does spoil the whole experience of the staying at the Longueville Manor, and since returning home and friends and family asking if we would recommend the hotel, have had to mention this to them and this could possibly have put them off staying there.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lindsay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Booked a package through secret escapes for 4 nights which was quite expensive but the hotel a 5* treat. Hotel lovely, set in gorgeous grounds but nothing around the hotel except housing and car sales pitches so nowhere to walk to. Interior of the hotel very nice and a cosy feel to it with log fire in the bar area. Bedroom very comfortable. However our package included breakfast which was not good. We were made to feel like second class citizens being offered either one sausage or one rasher of bacon, an egg and half a tomato with one slice of very bland toast. The offering looked very lost on the plate ! To upgrade the breakfast would cost an additional £7 to include fruit and croissants and to add any extras to our offering was £3 per item for a tablespoon of beans. It was so tasteless that we decided to eat out the following morning. Also the breakfast staff were definitely not 5* as when the waiter bought our tea he decided to collect all the rubbish on our tray from the cereal area so amongst our tea cups were empty cornflake packets etc. Decided that we wouldn't eat in the restaurant at night after sampling the breakfast so very surprised to read the other very positive reviews and can only conclude it must be a different chef in the evening. Enjoyed the hotel itself but not the food so didn't leave raving about the experience at all which is very short-sighted of the hotel as the extra food would not have cost them much and I am sure they have an excess. Loved Jersey and can recommend visiting Durrell Zoo and the many seaside resorts which are unspoilt. Lots of lovely restaurants in St Helier to sample but you need to take a taxi from the hotel which adds to the cost.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizziederbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Had to think long and hard about what to write here as I agree with most of the reviews - it really is a beautiful hotel with pretty much excellent service. All credit to the staff who are wonderful, they really are very professional.

But when one small thing niggles at you, isn't it funny how it's what jumps out at you first? In our case it was breakfast. We had paid for an inclusive package with Secret Escapes and when we arrived were told we had the "Premier" Breakfast, What this really meant was that we had the Second Class Citizen Breakfast. Although you wouldn't have left the dining room hungry, the cooked breakfast offered was ridiculously small (1 egg, half a tomato, a slice of bacon or a sausage and a few slices of mushroom with horrible sliced bread toast which was always cold) with an added choice of cereals and juice. No fruit, no buffet and every extra charged at £3. Come on - £3 for a fried egg? It's not the actual price that bothered me, it's the fact that this is a superb hotel that just let itself and its guests down by doing this.

What difference would it make to the hotel to offer a full and decent breakfast to all guests who want it? I feel almost petty for writing about this but it was such a disappointment (especially for my husband who is not British and admires the concept of a "Full English") He even commented that we've eaten better breakfasts for just a couple of pounds at central London restaurants or included when staying at even the simplest B&Bs.

Ok rant over, beautiful hotel, beautiful linen, fabulous and attentive staff and well kept grounds.

Room Tip: We were in Room 29 I think which seemed to be close to a generator - not hugely noisy but we were al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here a couple of years ago and was very happy to give it 5 stars then. Revisited this November (2013) and can report 5 stars again. If anything even better! Public areas have been revamped in a very subtle style that we loved! The standards here are very high with the accent on service. Not stuffy but slightly formal but very friendly perfect! Nothing here is too much trouble for the staff right the way through form arrival with car being parked, luggage taken in to my check out. Ate here on half board basis and found the food to be superb with a chef who knows flavours!. Every course including breakfast (eggs benedict to die for!) was top class. The rooms contain every conceivable extra you could want and lovely comfortable beds with white crisp linen! All in all a fabulous 3 night break in a hotel I will return time and again to. Thankyou Longueville Manor!!! You have got it right!

Room Tip: none all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurotraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poynton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We booked a 3 night package for four adults including hire car, Dinner Bed and Breakfast, afternoon tea, champagne, chocolates and upgraded rooms at The Longueville Manor for September 2013. This was to be a very special joint celebration as my husband was retiring after 40 years and my parents were married 55 years ago. We were so excited by the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and couldn't wait to enjoy our time together.
Unfortunately 4 days before we were due to arrive my Mum was taken seriously ill and rushed by ambulance to the local hospital where she spent the next 10 days. We informed The Longueville Manor that we would not be able to stay with them in September and asked them if we could come and enjoy their hospitality at another time when my Mum had recovered from her illness. As we had paid the £1,600 in advance we were informed that due to the Terms and Conditions it would not be possible to change the booking dates and that we were not entitled to a refund
In other words not only did The Longueville Manor keep all of the money but In my opinion they profited from our very upsetting family situation as they did not have to provide the hire car, food and extras that we had already paid for. When I suggested that we send them a letter from the hospital to confirm that my Mum had been admitted I was informed that this would make no difference. They did however provide us with a letter of booking confirmation in order that we could try to claim the money back through our travel insurance,,,,, which is a lengthy process and has a hefty excess. So.... if you are planning a trip to this hotel think twice about paying in advance !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank FlyPoynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near StSaviour
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
969 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
740 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,628 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
755 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longueville Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longueville Manor

Property: Longueville Manor
Address: Longueville Road, StSaviour JE2 7WF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > StSaviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Longueville Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longueville Manor is the Channel Island's most highly acclaimed hotel and restaurant. It is the only AA Five Red Star hotel and the sole member of the exclusive Relais & Châteaux luxury hotel collection. This delightfully refurbished Jersey manor house has 30 beautifully appointed bedrooms and suites. Together with the recent addition of The Cottage Garden, a luxurious boutique spa, the property is now recognised as one of Europe's most celebrated getaway destinations. Guests are offered the warmest of welcomes, a home from home atmosphere from arrival to departure together with superior yet understated service. With an impressive attention to detail, the hotel is a haven of luxury and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Longueville Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longueville Manor St Saviour
Hotel Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor Jersey, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing