We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Longueville Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Longueville Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned home after spending a week at the Longueville manor. This is our fourth visit in 2 years. We cannot praise the management and staff enough. They cannot do enough to help you. The food is excellent, the room spacious overlooking the rear gardens. We will certainly be coming back again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank peter o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

weekend in longueville manor delightful. suite was modern and very comfortable. staff could not have been more friendly and welcoming.restaurant was a bit stuffy but food excellent.perfect hotel for self and "elderly" parents as atmosphere was quiet and refined probably not for young families. but that was a good thing for us for a change.great place to unwind,relax and everyone in Jersey is so friendly!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevorwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and had a great time. The service from the staff was never less than excellent and the small size of the hotel made for a very friendly and personal experience. We stayed in room 14, which was a junior suite on the top floor overlooking the pool and garden at the rear of the hotel. I would highly recommend the room as it was approached via it's own staircase so was very private and quiet. We had half board and found the food and wines compared very well with other Relais and Chateau hotels we have stayed at in the UK. The hotel location was a little disappointing as there is not much within walking distance, but otherwise I would highly recommend Longueville.

Room Tip: Recommend room 14 or a room at the rear of the hotel as they have a lovely view and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanAirUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is located in the suburbs of St Helier so don't expect it to feel totally away from everything but for those with no car that adds to the convenience. With a car it is 30 mins max from airport and very easy to find. The journey from the town is none too impressive but that all changes when you turn in (via a sharp entrance/exit) to the short sweep in front of Longueville Manor. Parking available immediately outside entrance but little obvious overflow parking and it does get full very easily.
The old building has been extended and sadly some of this is too obviously modern and out of keeping with the original building so it affects the otherwise picturesque impression but overall it is a tranquil and well kept property. The modern take on traditional décor looks fresh and appealing downstairs... though the seating in public areas is all low / sofas - nobody seems to have taken account of the fact that older guests sink into these and have difficulty getting out! The off white and light coloured furnishings are already showing signs of wear but hopefully standards will be maintained. The bar area is pleasant and quite cosy in the evenings though there is little obvious to do and a better selection of books or magazines would be appreciated. Lit candles everywhere creates an elegant touch.
The staff are polite and have been taught to be welcoming - this works to a degree though it sometimes feels a bit superficial and forced especially when they are called on to exercise their initiative say to resolve a small point or query. But all in all service is very good.
We were in a deluxe room and the view over the roof to the rear gardens was very pleasant. Furnishings upstairs were older and some aspects are in need of upgrade to warrant fully the 5 star status. But this is a small point in comparison to the ample space, comfortable bed, spotless room and good bathroom - though shower temp not always reliable. Good fluffy towels and excellent large bathrobes. Hairdryer in drawer which is always better than in bathroom. TV / DVD all good. No tea making equipment in the room though apparently this and mini fridge could be supplied. There is an iron and board. Good hanging space and drawers for at least a week's clothes for 2.
There are a lot of stairs to reach rooms - the alternative is a very small lift of some vintage/ quirkiness - hopefully on the list for replacement!
When weather is good the open air pool must be lovely -and is a good size and well supplied with lounges and tables and chairs. The gardens are extensive and well tended and the nooks and crannies make this a delightful oasis for outdoor drinks and relaxation.
The Restaurant is actually two distinct but interconnecting rooms. The oldest one has more charm with carved dark wood panels and a much more intimate atmosphere. The Garden room (breakfast here) is light and airy though not much charm. same menus in both. Table d'hôte was £40 pp for 3 courses. Cheese course and tea/coffee extra. A la carte was £52 pp for 2 courses and think £70 for 3. Table d'hote was more than sufficient and very well prepared and better quality than many mainland 5 star+ hotels offer as their in house fine dining. Exceptional flavours and presentation - this made the stay and we ate here 3 nights with ample menu choices. Bar snacks and afternoon tea are served in the Bar area - the cream tea with Jersey 'black butter' (apple and cider jam) is absolutely wonderful though sadly room service menu and fare was less impressive.
All in all it was the best looking / most comfortable hotel available on Jersey and is very convenient for visiting the island or relaxing. The restaurant has a well deserved local reputation for excellent food.

Room Tip: Try to get dinner in the older dining room rather than the garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed in a superior room which was still rather small with dated decor. Staff extremely attentive, which can sometimes be a little too much! Breakfast was enjoyable with a good range of food on offer. We only had dinner in the restaurant on one evening and although the food was good, it is over priced. The gardens are lovely but due to poor weather we could not use the outdoor pool.
The front of the hotel leads directly onto a busy main road which is definitely not picturesque!
Enjoyed our stay but would not choose to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a great place, we were upgraded to the most fabulous suite and because the weather was quite bad were quite happy to spend most of the time in it as it was so luxurious, more like a little flat than a hotel room. We really loved this place and would definitely recommend it. The food in the restaurant was superb even for someone as pernickety as myself. We were escorted from reception by someone with an umbrella whenever we ventured back to our room. Everything was excellent, will look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Try and get upgraded to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Too expensive long walks or taxi to entertainment, overhead noise during night/early morning from rooms above, staff? Meals were substantial but poor value for what was charged serving staff seemed to be trying to compete with each other instead of serving one table.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Infrequent2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near StSaviour
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
1,077 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St Helier
1,753 reviews
4 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 31 in St Helier
2,085 reviews
5.2 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longueville Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longueville Manor

Address: Longueville Road, StSaviour JE2 7WF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > StSaviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Price Range: £170 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Longueville Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longueville Manor is the Channel Island's most highly acclaimed hotel and restaurant. It is the only AA Five Red Star hotel and the sole member of the exclusive Relais & Châteaux luxury hotel collection. This delightfully refurbished Jersey manor house has 30 beautifully appointed bedrooms and suites. Together with the recent addition of The Cottage Garden, a luxurious boutique spa, the property is now recognised as one of Europe's most celebrated getaway destinations. Guests are offered the warmest of welcomes, a home from home atmosphere from arrival to departure together with superior yet understated service. With an impressive attention to detail, the hotel is a haven of luxury and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Longueville Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longueville Manor St Saviour
Hotel Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor Jersey, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing