We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value!”
Review of Merton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This was our second visit to the Merton. I really don't know why it only has a three star rating. The facilities are great. We used the gym and attended a Pilates class at no extra charge. The staff are friendly and helpful. A great value short break.

Room Tip: Go for the main building. Those across the garden can hear the passing traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorettaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    492
    148
    37
    11
See reviews for
722
451
27
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Have stayed at the Merton on 4 occasions now and each time come away very satisfied. The evening entertainment is very good, if a little amateur at times (but it is free, so who can complain). The real plus, apart from the general satisfaction with the accommodation, is the dining. Excellent selection of different dishes, all well presented and cooked, and the evening carvery is just sumptious. Not a hotel to visit when on a diet !!! All in all a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday, which I would certainly book again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethellier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
481 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed at the Merton for 6 Days in September 2012. It really is very difficult to fault the hotel. It is very large, and is spotlessly clean. The rooms are good and the food quality and choice are excellent. There are also numerous staff and they are all well trained, professional and eager to please. The evening entertainment, in the Star room, is also of a good stanard, and the drinks are not over the top for a hotel. They have all the facilities, a creche, computer room, sports bar, conservatory, and three different restaurants in which to eat. My only critisism is that it is about 1/2 mile from the nearest beach, but other than that you cannot fault it. Will defineately recommend to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Rear rooms overlook the gardens and front rooms the road. All are well insulated and unless you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geronimo1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenay Bridge, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

top hotel really enjoyed our stay with friends here for 1 weeks rooms very clean food was OUTSTANDING couldt fault it at all 10 out of 10.. will be coming back here again robert badger boyles and family..great...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert-Badger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

Booked as part of a package with channel island direct premier holidays tour operator very efficient the hotel was very clean and tidy staff were friendly the receptionist could have explained better when asking for a credit card when booking in to add stuff to our room that they would actually try and charge that to the card which was declined a bit embarrassing as I was paying with a debit card. The bedroom was very smart however mattress was a bit soft compared to what I was used to the layout of the hotel is not of a rabbit warren with a maze of corridors but after the first day we had learned our route so not too bad. The breakfast was amazing best I gave experienced for this class of hotel. It encouraged us to eat in the Bonneti restaurant, again fabulous food and service would recommended to friends and readers of this site. There was evening entertainment similar to holiday camp style not our thing but free entertainment

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed for four nights and wished it could have been longer.The whole hotel both inside and out was spotless.Staff were friendly and helpful. Lots of very comfortable and spacious seating areas Couldn't fault the food, loads of choice and very tasty!! It was a ten / fifteen minute stroll to shops and Marina or the sea at Havres De Pas We were very lucky with the weather as the sun shone the whole time but there was plenty to even if it had rained. If seeking a good place for lunch would reccomend The Halkett or Piersons in St Helier or a short drive to the Dolphin in Gorey.We have stayed quite a few times in Jersey in different hotels but would not think staying anywhere else in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking garden area have lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NANAFLETCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham ,England
Level Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Merton in two years, and we were pleased to see it has maintained its high quality. Our room was spotless and well furnished; and the Belvedere buffet restaurant was still serving very good food in the evenings.
The staff were all very friendly and efficient despite being busy, and our check-in-and-out took only a few minutes - no queuing.
Other reviewers have mentioned its proximity to St Helier centre and the waterfront, which appears on maps to be further away than it actually is.
An added bonus for us during this stay was the free Air Show which is staged at St Helier annually at this time. Brilliant blue skies, the Red Arrows and the BBMF Lancaster and Spitfire - what a way to end a holiday already made so pleasant by our stay at the Merton!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near StSaviour
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#3 of 5 in StSaviour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton Hotel

Property: Merton Hotel
Address: Belvedere Hill, StSaviour JE4 9PG
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > StSaviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Merton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Merton Hotel, for over 90 years, guests have been delighted and entertained by our high level of hospitality and unbeatable range of facilities. Whether you are travelling as a couple, family or group, you'll find everything to suit your needs conveniently situated under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merton Hotel St Saviour
Merton Jersey
Merton Hotel Jersey, Channel Islands
Merton St Saviour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing