We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Hotel And A Pleasant Stay !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel And A Pleasant Stay !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at this beautiful and wonderful hotel for 6 nights.This was an organised break by a holiday company and it turn out to be one of the best holidays that we had experienced.The hotel is stunning and well located and very nice and clean and the staff very happy to help.The check in was quick and easy and room was huge and clean and very warm.
The break was on half board basis and evening meals were great as there was plenty to choose from.Being vegetarians, it was not a problem as there was plenty to choose from,both hot and cold.One evening,restaurant manager even organised a special vegetarian dish for us.
How wonderful!! I call that Servise with a smile!! The buffett breakfast was lovely as you can have hot or cold and plenty to choose from.Because we love masala tea,the restaurant manager organised this for us every morning.This kind of servise is rare and greatly apprecited
by us.It is the little thing that makes the BIG difference, We were thoroughly spoiled by everyone from restaurant staff to reception staff.They are the real assets for this lovely hotel as they were friendly, polite and very helpful.Keep up the good work !!

Room Tip: We stayed on second floor that was nice and quiet and the room was well heated. There was tea/coffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    482
    146
    37
    10
See reviews for
715
436
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Part of a cricket touring party having a two night stay on the island. The rooms were clean, the beds comfy, the free Internet was relatively easy to log on to, the breakfasts hit the spot, the bar staff were friendly and the desk staff were welcoming. All in all an excellent choice. Would definitely use the Merton again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daring-do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Just enjoyed a 3 night stay, excellent value, and the best of service, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
The food was always hot and well cooked, the breakfast buffet had plenty of choice, rooms immaculate

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

What a great stay we had.
We stayed in one of the suites, located in a separate, purpose built block just over from the main hotel building. As we checked in the lady on reception seemed very proud of these suites and rightly so, they are lovely. Ours was on the 4th floor, giving us lovely views out over St Helier to the sea beyond. The balcony was a lovely place to sit in the sunshine. We found that the cleanliness of the suite and quality of the fixtures and fittings were top notch. The bed itself was particularly comfortable and the bedding was lovely. The kids pull down bunk beds (which I thought looked a bit iffy on the website) were of equal quality. I should also mention the bathroom, spotless and extremely well designed and laid out. Another thing that really impressed us was the filled salt and pepper mill, a little touch but very welcome (along with a tea towel/scourer/washing up liquid/dishwasher tablet/oven glove which is often overlooked).
The pool was one of the main factors in our choice to stay here and we were not let down. The design of the pool has been well thought out with something for everyone, our kids loved it (aged 5 & 9) as did we. We were particularly impressed that the door to the extensive outdoor section of pool was open at all times (even though we felt sorry for the soggy lifeguards on duty on one rainy day).
The Flowrider was also a big hit with us. It's great value compared to similar facilities on the mainland, and our instructor on the day, Mark was a really great bloke. He got both me (40) and my lad (9) up and running in no time and even got us doing a few tricks, not bad for first timers! Thanks Mark we had a blast!
Our kids loved the evening entertainment too, even if they couldn't work out why it was pretty low attendance with many seemingly preferring to sit in the lobby for a quiet drink.
Our only slight grumble was with the vegetable peeler, it was truly woeful, with a pathetic plastic blade that would struggle to peel candy floss before pinging out across the kitchen.
Oh, and an egg cup would have been nice as well, but thats a very minor niggle.
We had a great week and would not hesitate to recommend the Merton to any friends or family.
Compared to the prices we have paid for other accommodation during school holidays we feel that this was a true bargain, well done and thanks.

Room Tip: Go for a suite, and if you're lucky on the 4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyandmalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Just returned from a short 3 night stay in the Merton Hotel, St Helier, Jersey. We found that the hotel had competent and friendly staff, the rooms were very comfortable and the food was also very good with plenty of choice both for breakfast and dinner. There was disabled parking just across the road and a large car park about 50yards further down, also just across the road was a great swimming pool with slides and a sauna and a lawned area ideal for sunbathing. Entertainment was also provided for both adults and children on certain nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

First time we have stayed in a hotel and I have to say it goes down as one of my best holidays. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and warm. The breakfast was delicious with so much choice. The staff were polite, attentive and efficient. The entertainment was varied so there was something for everyone, my favourite was the Jersey Big Band, my family liked the Michael Jackson tribute. We used the Gym and had a swim in the lovely pool with sauna and steam room. Had a tasty pizza in Bonnetti's restaurant and sat in the lobby bar listening to relaxing piano music. My son used the tennis courts for which there was a small charge. I cannot fault this hotel and would recommend for any age, couple or family. Thank you to all the staff for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

helpful friendly staff, plenty of choice for food (spoilt for choice really), clean rooms, disabled parking right outside - thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay there again - only drawback is room on top floor meant low pressure for the shower

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1-leg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near StSaviour
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#3 of 5 in StSaviour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton Hotel

Property: Merton Hotel
Address: Belvedere Hill, StSaviour JE4 9PG
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > StSaviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Merton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Merton Hotel, for over 90 years, guests have been delighted and entertained by our high level of hospitality and unbeatable range of facilities. Whether you are travelling as a couple, family or group, you'll find everything to suit your needs conveniently situated under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Merton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merton Hotel St Saviour
Merton Jersey
Merton Hotel Jersey, Channel Islands
Merton St Saviour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing