We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Merton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions because its very near to St Helier shopping, near good restaurants, has plenty of parking and wonderful pool facilities. The staff are friendly and the hotel is immaculately clean considering the numbers staying there. There is entertainment every evening and is very family orientated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

984 - 990 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have just returned from a 7 night holiday and have had a wonderful time. We travelled with our 2 young children 6 and 2, our 6 year old had his 7th birthday whilst there. There truly is something for everyone at this hotel. A piano bar for those that wish to chillax, a sports bar for the sportmaniacs, the Star Bar with all the family fun entertainment you could expect. Add into that a swimming pool, flowrider, kidszone, crèche, terrific food and pleasant staff provided a memorable stay.

The only flaw that we had was our hotel room was quite noisy with the windows open due to overlooking very large extractor fans. After the third night I complained and was offered a different room which overlooked the gardens but it wasn't as nice and I guess it could have been noisy there too. The compromise was windows closed and the hotel provided a desk fan should the night be too warm.

All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone, particularly those with children, including teens.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gigsy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Although there is no a/c in the room, when asked, the hotel provided a fan free of charge as was the safe deposit box. The fridge was a pultry £5;for the week. The staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful and sre always smiling. Their honesty was proven when i left my camera under the sunbed by the pool and was returned to me when i asked if it had been found. The entertainmend and choice of restaurants are excellent. Today i watched the lifeguards being tested to keep their licences. For wet days there is a superior gym and indoor pool complete with flumes and they never run out of sun loungers surrounding the heated outdoor pool and gardens. I honestly cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We booked the hotel based on the positive reviews on trip advisor and it didn't fail to deliver from start to finish.

We stayed in a family suite, a double bed for me and my wife and bunk beds in a second room for our 2 kids. The room was spotless,

The breakfasts were very good in the main restaurant and the food in the Jersey Joe's and Bonnetti's was equally good - to the point that as a family that prefers B&B so as we can sample local restaurants we ending up eating in the hotel for 6 of the 7 nights.

On to the staff - they were all very polite and very helpful, from the chamber maids, the barstaff, the waiters to the lifeguards at the pool

The facilities were great, we used the flow-rider twice, and the swimming pool almost every day.

Our kids also loved the .kids zone in the evening from 8.30-9.30 - the guy "in charge" of the kids activities was particularly good.

I'm not one to return to places for a second time but I'd definitely consider a second visit/

Well done to the owners and all of the staff

Room Tip: We were on the top floor which was good with 2 young kids as there was very little noise in the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valetillidye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

just returned after a three day break with our grandchildren. We had a wonderful time in the Aquadome and the children loved the evening entertainment for them and adults. They can,t wait to return next year!

Room Tip: Ventilation noise in our room(325) from 5-30am and with no air conditioning we needed the window ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is a fantastic family hotel! The food is lovely with many places to eat to choose from. The rooms and public places were all spotlessly clean. My son thought the pool complex across the road was fantastic and we struggled to get him out! Basically, couldn't fault the place and will be back if we get the chance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

A great family hotel, ideal position and facilities for children and adults a like. Spotless, upto date great activities and happy attentive staff. Return visit so they are clearly getting it right. Great breakfast and so many bars and places to catch lunch. Off street (tight when busy) parking a big plus. And free WiFi to keep those teenagers happy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near StSaviour
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St Helier
1,721 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
789 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 31 in St Helier
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton Hotel

Address: Belvedere Hill, StSaviour JE4 9PG
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > StSaviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Price Range: £73 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Merton Hotel, for over 90 years, guests have been delighted and entertained by our high level of hospitality and unbeatable range of facilities. Whether you are travelling as a couple, family or group, you'll find everything to suit your needs conveniently situated under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Merton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merton Hotel St Saviour
Merton Jersey
Merton Hotel Jersey, Channel Islands
Merton St Saviour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing