We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab family hotel”
Review of Merton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We booked a one night stay at the Merton Hotel while visiting Jersey for a rugby game. The hotel was quiet but we were made to feel very welcome, the room was an ok size and had a little bed for our 8yr old.we then made our way over to the aqua dome and we're lucky enough to have the pool to ourselves, my son really enjoyed the pool with its lazy river and slide.the hotel needs a bit of modernising in its decor but for a family orientated hotel it was great. We dined in the onsite Italian restaurant and had a really really great meal, my partner claims it was one of the best steaks he had every had!! We got a good nights sleep even though our room was overlooking the road. Breakfast was the only small let down as all the cooked food was only just warm. Apart from this problem we had a great stay and my son has been pestering us ever since about when can we go back to that hotel with its own water park!!

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samwadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

916 - 922 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at the Merton, initially for a weekend but had to extend our trip by 2 days as bad weather meant that we couldn't get a ferry back to Guernsey. We stayed in a family suite, which was a little on the small side, but adequate. The kids loved the pool area and loved the kids club in the evenings. The restaurants were good, especially the Italian and breakfast was excellent. The staff were friendly. The car park was a little squashed but we managed. Good location for exploring the rest of the island and good value too. We would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: If you want connecting rooms, room 444 and 445 are very good. the family suites are a little crampe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed in Merton during the half term this autumn.
This place offers everything you can wish for while on are on holidays with kids.
We had rather spacious appartment with two bedrooms with bonker bed to kids. We also asked for a cot for our little one and it was delivered in no time. Appartment has been properly cleaned everyday.
Kids entertainment is endless. Kids' clud from 6pm to 8pm every night for free with lots of arts and crafts and then kids' disco from 8pm onwards. Our 5 y.o. son loved every minute of it and kids club was a highlight of his holidays. Creche for babies/toddler is brillliant, in a very spacious room with a big soft play area. Stuff in both rooms is professionally trained from the local nurseries so we felt comfortable to leave kids there. One thing to be aware of (the rule) is that if your child is in creche you should not leave the hotel just in case they ring you in case of emergency or your child is upset. They wont make him settle there if he is unhappy (unfortunately it was our case for last 2 nights) and afterall it is his holidays as well:)
And of course recreation complex across the road with indoor and outdoot pools is amazing. Honestly if it rains all day you can spend a day there with the happiest kids in the world! And very good gym facilities for adults.
Breakfast choice is generous and there is a nice Italian place for dinner should you wish to stay for dinner in the hotel. Or you can enjoy a drink from the bar while listening to a piano concert in the lobby.There is one place I would get rid off is the fast food cafe Jersey Jo or something. Food is unhealthy does not quite go well with the concept of family place.
Overall, the hotel stuff is very attentive and welcoming.
we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would highly recommend it for a family vacation. You can not go wrong with this place under any weather conditions. In addition, bring your own or rent a car to explore the island- it is totally worth it!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikAndNataliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

we have just come back from a 4 day short trip to Jersey, our hotel was selected by our tour company Channel Island escapes and what a fantastic choice. There is not 1 negative thing I can say about our whole stay. Our group was myself, my husband, my daughter and my 4 year old granddaughter. The rooms were a good size and very clean, there were 2 or 3 on site restaurants of good standard public areas on split levels and each with entertainment of various sorts including a piano bar, with a safe fully staffed crèche which my granddaughter loved, sadly in winter time it was only open Friday and Saturday evenings and we found it shortly before it closed but the short time she was there she loved it. She was also given a pirate hat, eye patch, tattoo, water bottle and several pieces of art work that she had done all in half an hour. During our stay our granddaughter was not well she had been sick a few times, I think it was the long travel time to get there that made her ill. Staff could not have been more helpful from the chambermaids to front of house staff they offered to bring up breakfast for her and asked if there was anything they could do.
Food in the restaurant was excellent as was the top class breakfast on offer every morning, waiting staff were excellent and as I said earlier there was no way we could fault our stay in any way shape or form.
The icing on the cake was the hotel even had their own water park and every Sunday they gave the local children as well as guests children a bouncy castle face painting and disco from 2 until 4 which gave the adults chance to enjoy a peaceful an very tasty Sunday lunch.
Well done Merton Hotel you really should be very proud of your staff and what you give to your guests and well done too to Channel Island Escapes for selecting this super hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenD1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

first time in this hotel,but hopefull not the last.great way to spend the half term hoilday.the staff are so friendly and helpful.the place is so clean and the food is fantastic.just cannot find anything bad to say about it

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I really enjoyed our trip to the Merton Hotel in Jersey for a half term break. All the staff where really kind and looked after thier guests really well. As an 11 year old I really aprieciated all the entertainment put on in the evenings. The Kids Zone staff where really kind and had some awsome activitys lined up for children of all ages. Staight after Kids Zone it was down to the star room for the amaizing Kids Zone live. From competitions 2 congas 2 custard pies in faces The Merton Hotel really raised the bar on familly entertainment. Some of the mind-blowing shows include: Stomp the floor, Abloo and Ignite a wonderfull fire eating show in the garden. There was lots of great places to grab some well presented food and THE SWIMMING POOL WAS EPIC!!! THE FLOW RIDER IS A MUST DO ATTRACTION!

Room Tip: Our room was right on the top floor first room on the right and my bed was right next to the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had a very relaxing time, in the knowledge that everything was extremely clean. The staff, were very welcoming, & helpful. Would definitely come back again, & recommend the hotel, without any hesitation whatsoever.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howardothegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near StSaviour
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St Helier
1,723 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
790 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 31 in St Helier
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton Hotel

Address: Belvedere Hill, StSaviour JE4 9PG
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > StSaviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Price Range: £73 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Merton Hotel, for over 90 years, guests have been delighted and entertained by our high level of hospitality and unbeatable range of facilities. Whether you are travelling as a couple, family or group, you'll find everything to suit your needs conveniently situated under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merton Hotel St Saviour
Merton Jersey
Merton Hotel Jersey, Channel Islands
Merton St Saviour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing