We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic we have stayed in many hotels and this tops them all for family comfort and outstanding staff.”
Review of Merton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in the Merton suites they were surprisingly spacious, loved the private parking the decor so very clean and cosy a real home from home. Perfect for us six. The pool, the restaurants, the staff were exceptional! Would come back again and again definitely. The suites enable you to enjoy the freedom and luxury of home whilst still being able to access the hotel. We all had a fantastic time thank you to everyone at the Merton hotel !!!! Five star surely !!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teamharris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

877 - 883 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, during the end of the May bank holiday, for 5 nights.
We had booked 2 interconnecting rooms which were clean, but were very hot & stuffy, no air con and windows only opened a few inches. They did provide us with a fan.
I would not like to be staying there during July or August.
It was a very popular hotel with all age groups there, the entertainment for the kids was great and we hardly saw them in the evenings as they were in the games room with lots of others kids.
Entertainment was every night and was ok but bit like a holiday camp acts.
The swimming pool was across the road and had slides and hot tubs which was fun for the kids.
Overall it was a great hotel for families and if we went back we would book one of the suites which looked really nice we were shown around one but they were all booked whilst we stayed there.
The staff were great.

Room Tip: Book one of the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeyseyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We just arrived back from the perfect family holiday there was actually nothing that we could fault about the hotel all the staff were amazing the hotel was lovely and the food was fantastic,the choice of breakfast was huge there was everything you could imagine once we'd had breakfast we were set you up for the whole day there was no need for lunch, we had one evening meal there on Thursday as we like to go out and eat but wished we had eaten there every night.
The merton hotel is a hotel for every age group we travelled with our sons 10 and 7 and parents, who said it was the best hotel they had stayed in.
The swimming pool was great but I must say the boys were a bit disappointed that the flow rider was broken which means we will have to go back next year.
Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymourgroup, General Manager at Merton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your very kind and positive review. We just wanted to update you on our Flowrider.
The Flowrider has had a serious fault for 2 weeks now and we are working around the clock to get it fixed. It is possible that it may be some time before it is mended but we will keep all customers updated on our website. We are pleased that we were and are able to offer fantastic alternatives thanks to our friends at the Splash Surf Centre - details are on our website. We look forward to welcoming you back to Jersey soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in the Merton Suites (Jambo suite) with our daughter and grandsons aged 3 and 5 years. The suite was beautiful - very comfortable and clean, with excellent kitchen facilities inc a dishwasher, very spacious and beds were large (one 5ft and one 6ft). Perfect size for our party, although I think it would have been cramped for 8! Laundry room within the complex was convenient but small (2 washers/2 dryers) but we only used once. Machines take £1 coins but because Jersey still has £1 notes, not many coins available on the island - hotel and change machines frequently ran out. One minor omission - no airer or line within the apartment to hang swimsuits etc, but we improvised with a spare bunk-bed ladder on the balcony!! Slight problem with ventilation - bedroom area was quite warm for us even with the large windows open, but daughter didn't find this a problem in her room. Room were well noise-insulated and we didn't hear anything much apart from seagulls outside!

We chose this hotel complex because of it's child-friendliness and were not disappointed - the swimming complex was excellent for our grandsons (although might not have been so great for older children) and the outdoor bit was great for a bit of adult swimming. Not that we would have used it, but the surfing machine was out of order whilst we were there. We didn't use the early evening kids club facility because it was for 4+ years and our youngest was a couple of weeks short, but we did go to the kids' disco several times and they loved it, especially the conga!! Pity it wasn't slightly earlier - 8:30pm start was a bit late for our boys. They also liked the games rooms with air hockey and driving simulators etc, but £1 coins were also required here, so we had to procure these in change from shops and restaurants to ensure adequate supply. There was also a pleasant lawned garden for the children to run around in, but it was a pity there were so few playthings (a couple of static ride-on suitable for toddlers) - nice climbing frame for say 4-9s would have worked well in the lower garden.

Complex was slightly too far out of St Helier to walk in with the children but we hired a car anyway, so this was not a problem for us. Local Co-op two minutes walk for basic provisions and larger Waitrose about 10 minutes walk. Didn't eat in main hotel restaurant, but did have a takeaway from the hotel's italian restaurant one evening when the boys fell asleep early - they only advertise pizza for takeaway but happily provided us with pasta choices from the menu - with only a 10 minute wait - excellent service.

All in all, excellent apartment which would definitely visit again, as a family or as a couple, and would recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: All rooms face south - but floors from 3 up I would guess have better view - lower than that and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nananpop_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hotel was clean and comfortable. Food was excellent with loads of variety and restaurant staff atttentive. A fair walk to town centre but lovely park nearby. Outdoor pool warm. Evening entertainment great for kids

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Walking distance of st helier clean and comfortable. Good breakfast. I don't think we made the most of the pool area and half term is not the best time for an anniversary break, but not the hotels fault. Would recommend. Close to bus stops and shops.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BigBirdonaBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have just returned home from a fabulous Bank Holiday weekend’s stay at the Merton Hotel, Jersey. A large group of current & ex-players had a tour of St. Helier's finest bars and restaurants, which there are a few to choose and great fun trying to visit all in one night........

The stay at the Merton Hotel was the highlight, amazing facilities, food, bars and most importantly the staff. As soon as you check in you are looked after and there is nothing that is too much trouble when you ask - that's if you need to that is...........?

We had a very early flight from Exeter on the Friday and every effort was made so that we could check-in early as we arrived - remember most Hotel check-in times are at 14:00 so when we arrived at 09:15 we were catered for and even had the opportunity to make the end of the breakfast - now there is a Hotel, which feeds you at breakfast - food enough for the day.

On the first night I had the misfortune of 'misplacing' my phone so ventured to reception early the next morning to chance that it had been handed in - to my amazement it had so I was so pleased that the receptionist, Lucia had it safe and sound - I was so pleased that she was there!!!!

Over the next couple of days when you got to know your way around the hotel bars, restaurants and to know the staff you soon understand or would understand if you visited why you would so want to return; if I could return tomorrow I would, so missing it and all of the lovely staff and people I met and was with.

At present I'm not planning to visit the island again until 2016 as the 'Tour' is only every two years but any chance, excuse, reason or maybe just some encouragement from the right person then I would definitely return sooner and most certainly book and stay at the Merton Hotel; for information the Pomme D'Or is the sister hotel and looks over Liberation Square and I have previously stayed there but it no way has the same attractions or appeal.

What else can I say? I await and invite a reply from any other person who has enjoyed the Mawnan Boys Tour of 2014 X

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near StSaviour
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St Helier
1,723 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
790 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 31 in St Helier
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton Hotel

Address: Belvedere Hill, StSaviour JE4 9PG
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > StSaviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Price Range: £73 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Merton Hotel, for over 90 years, guests have been delighted and entertained by our high level of hospitality and unbeatable range of facilities. Whether you are travelling as a couple, family or group, you'll find everything to suit your needs conveniently situated under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Merton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merton Hotel St Saviour
Merton Jersey
Merton Hotel Jersey, Channel Islands
Merton St Saviour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing