We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay in Jersey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Merton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great stay in Jersey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just spent a week here and I just would like to say how much I enjoyed! We had a great time, the Belvedere Restaurant food is amazing and the staff so helpful. The room was cleaned to perfection and the reception was amazingly friendly. The evening entertainment was great. We were there every night to watch a show. Staff in star room was amazingly friendly, and they looking after us. As soon as I drank my drink the young bartender appeared and offering a next drink. Table service was so fast, this impressed me. That's great because I can watch the show and not losing time to go for a drink. Really good location, with only a 10 mins walk into the town centre. Absolutely fabulous hotel, I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    477
    145
    37
    10
See reviews for
706
433
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at the Merton Hotel on our first visit to Jersey from 7 June for one week. The bedroom had a seaview and the ensuite bathroom was well-equipped and kept really clean. As previous reviewers have noted, breakfast was excellent choice and service was very good. We stayed on a b & b basis and ate once at Bonetti's at the hotel, which was good and then we ate in the hotel restaurant (the one used for breakfast) - it was a hot buffet and I was a little disappointed considering the price we paid. Perhaps we left it too late but some of the hot items seemed very dry. The only complaint for us was with the reception staff: we booked a ferry trip to Guernsey for the Friday and on Thursday we nipped into the ferry agency to check whether or not we needed passports. They told us the trip was cancelled and they had phoned and emailed the hotel on Wednesday to tell them. The hotel staff had not told us so I spoke to the under-manager who agreed that they had received the email and said he would "see to it". That was the last we heard of it and, thankfully because we called at the ferry agency, we were able to cancel the taxi that had been ordered by the hotel to take us to the ferry. So, a bit disappointed with the service we received in that regard.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gosport
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent a lovely 6 nights and 7 days at the Merton Hotel and we couldn't have asked for better. We travelled with our mums and the food was truly excellent. I have never stayed in a hotel used by coaching companies that have such a wide choice of food, perfectly cooked and so much! The chef should go far and compliments to him.

The rooms were quiet and clean, and the beds comfortable - in fact I slept better while we were away than I do at home. I think that was something to do with the comfortable pillows.

The gardens attached to the hotel are lovely with a touching tribute to Jambo the gorilla.

The evening entertainment kept us going until bedtime, although the bar was still open for a nightcap if wanted.

All of the staff were helpful and efficient. The attention to detail was excellent - we were made to feel welcome at all times.

I will definately go back again. I don't think I would want to stay at another hotel on the island. Well done to all at the Merton and a pat on the back to you all!

Room Tip: Didn't try any spa or leisure centre so I cannot comment on this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richkimGosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraserburgh
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

WE stayed here from the 7th to 14th June courtesy of Holidays 4 Heroes. We are a bunch of military veterans who suffer from psychological, physical or both, effects of military service. As such many of us had mobility problems. We need not have worried as the staff went out of their way to help us. We were half board and the food was excellent. Plenty of hot and cold choices and even a childrens sections. Meals in the main dinning room a buffet style, but there are three further restaurants which you can use. The rooms were clean and tidy, although some did not have the best of views. The pool across the road is free for residents, both inside and outside pools with f looms and flo rider. Plenty of deck chairs and a restaurant onsite. A ten minute walk from the town centre. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend it. Especialy for families with children as there is plenty for youngsters to do.

Room Tip: The higher your room is the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grant79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

my husband and i stayed here from the 7 of june to the 14, this hotel is amazing we were half board, the breakfast was good wide range from full english ,continental, cereal, fresh fruit ect,they have a lovely little waitress called becca who always has a smile on her face {she will go far}, they have theme nights for there food there is always something you can eat. BUT what made this holiday even better was we were invited there buy help for hero,s jersey .this is a charity that the island has taken to heart to support the war veterans,the amount for time that is given the locals give us ex military families, at there own expense is so amazing,and the places that gave us free entree in to some of the places we would find interesting i can not say how much the week away has help us , and we have made great friends with meeting up with other veterans,the merton gives the charity reduced prices on the rooms, i cant say enough about the warm we felt in jersey. oh give the dog and sausage a wee visit nice pub the landlord stuart is ex servives, and the white horse just down on the sea front from the merton is lovely,

Room Tip: a large hotel, with a leisure pool across the road, nice walk in to center of st heliers.there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank audwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The food was fantastic the complete hotel and leisure complex was spotless. the staff are ultra
efficient in service and politeness.I booked the holiday through Channel Islands Direct and they
were good. Cant wait to book our return visit later this year

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors overlooking the gardens have a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterplumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Spent a week in a family room where you get separate bunk room for the kids. Room clean, tidy and bathroom newly done but no view at all. Agree with other reviewer that the Belvedere restaurant breakfast was not great and overall the room looked a little tired in appearance. Rest of hotel excellent communal areas with a number of bars. Bonettis really good for an evening meal. Aqua dome real bonus as the weather a little chilly. Sadly flow rider not working however they were offering free board hire at St Ouens and paddle boarding at St Brelades and 50% off instruction. Would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near StSaviour
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#3 of 5 in StSaviour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton Hotel

Property: Merton Hotel
Address: Belvedere Hill, StSaviour JE4 9PG
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > StSaviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Merton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Merton Hotel, for over 90 years, guests have been delighted and entertained by our high level of hospitality and unbeatable range of facilities. Whether you are travelling as a couple, family or group, you'll find everything to suit your needs conveniently situated under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your Merton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merton Hotel St Saviour
Merton Jersey
Merton Hotel Jersey, Channel Islands
Merton St Saviour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing