We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Merton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay, reminded more of a continental resort than a UK hotel, check in was fast with friendly staff, room was great although a bit hot but fan provided, shower wasn't working but as only staying 2 nights we didn't bother reporting it, leisure complex with outdoor pool was a real added bonus with the option of indoor pool if the weather wasn't nice, plenty of dining options and gardens were nice and peaceful, breakfast was great, short 15 min stroll into st helier or 10 mins to beachfront, would (and will be!) return, recommended, and that's for all ages, my 12 year old asked as soon as checked out if we could come back and he got a resounding yes!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank themightyreddevils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    510
    155
    39
    11
See reviews for
752
476
27
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just returned from a fabulous week in a Dodo suite at the Merton hotel in Jersey. Absolutely fantastic. Booked dinner in the Belvedere restaurant in hotel ... Food and service excellent. Relaxing afternoons in the resort opposite in quiet safe location close to town.

There is nothing better on the island...have stayed previously several times when on audit at Pomme D'Or hotel and St Brelades Bay hotel...easily on a par.

http://youtu.be/oUuvaHXxWQQ


http://www.seymourhotels.com/merton-hotel

Room Tip: Dodo suite more than enough for couple. Hire a fiesta Eco and visit all the coves and bays...not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We are going for the third time. My daughter is now sixteen but not bored at all. Food good and bonettis restaurant terrace lovely. Pool area really relaxing and pretty setting. Room nice but get garden view snd ask for a cool room . High up poss seaview but not had that yet. Booked yesterday for this august and cant wait . Love jersey only wish I could live there but staying at the merton the next best thing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judes1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Excellent hotel.Rooms very comfortable and food great.Staff very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.It has a great pool area and entertainment every night so no need to leave the hotel. Think this should be a 4* hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here recently and overall impression was very good. This hotel caters for all ages with a selection of dining options and two bars plus entertainment area.it also has a indoor / outdoor swimming pool with "waverider " which we did not avail of so cannot comment.The bedrooms are clean and comfortable and the food is good and plentiful without being outstanding so if you went hungry there would be only one person to blame. The staff were friendly and efficient.The only down side I felt were the prices in the Italian restaurant , I felt that £ 23 for a fillet steak accompanied only by a flat mushroom with a supplement for chips was a little over the top. This was exacerbated by the fact that we came from a non sterling area and the fact that we felt we were coming to a low tax area. in general we found that prices were not cheap but that did not stop us having a lovele time on a beautiful island in a very good hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vincent o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chudleigh Knighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We've just arrived back from a wonderful stay at the Merton hotel's suites. Our party consisted of my husband and two children (10 months and three years), my mum (60 years) and my brother (early 30's). We stayed in one Durrell and two dodo suites all joined together, which worked really well. The accommodation is wonderful, the cleaning staff were really thorough and the views we had from the top floor were fantastic. The only downside I would say was there was no air conditioning, but we had a fan and the windows allowed a cool breeze. Another plus was blackout curtains a great for the kids (we had bought our own but didn't need them).

All the staff we encounter were excellent, friendly and very helpful.

The pool was great and not cold as I had read in other reviews. We ate out in the Italian restaurant once and had takeaway pizza from there another time, the food was really nice and staff friendly and helpful. We also found the playroom and spent a lot of time there as we were the only ones there.

We did not really go in for the entertainment as it was not our sort of thing. If we were to go out we tended to head into town. We went in and out of town several times and didn't find the walk a problem with our two little ones. It was a fair way but very manageable. We got about the island using the buses and found them reliable and easy to navigate. We recommend the amazin mazes attraction for under 6 yrs. Our three year old loved it and it was so quiet (term time) that it meant he could really use all the equipment and toys without being pushed off by older children.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The top floor views are great and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GED1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Really could not fault the Merton. Room comfortable and despite being near the lift and above the entrance very quiet. The breakfast was excellent with great service. Not too far from St Helier centre an easy walk for anyone if you go through the park!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near StSaviour
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
738 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,940 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton Hotel

Property: Merton Hotel
Address: Belvedere Hill, StSaviour JE4 9PG
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > StSaviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Merton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Merton Hotel, for over 90 years, guests have been delighted and entertained by our high level of hospitality and unbeatable range of facilities. Whether you are travelling as a couple, family or group, you'll find everything to suit your needs conveniently situated under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Merton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merton Hotel St Saviour
Merton Jersey
Merton Hotel Jersey, Channel Islands
Merton St Saviour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing